79 episodes

Welcome to Vibrant Lives Podcast (formerly Amanda's Wellbeing Podcast), a podcast dedicated to interviewing experts in the fields of nutrition, fitness, and the science of the mind.

Vibrant Lives Podcas‪t‬ Amanda Hayes

    • Health & Fitness
    • 5.0 • 26 Ratings

Welcome to Vibrant Lives Podcast (formerly Amanda's Wellbeing Podcast), a podcast dedicated to interviewing experts in the fields of nutrition, fitness, and the science of the mind.

    Sarah Gauci discusses dietary patterns and cognitive decline in older adults

    Sarah Gauci discusses dietary patterns and cognitive decline in older adults

    In this episode Scientific Researcher and PhD candidate, Sarah Gauci, shares what she has been learning about the relationship between different dietary patterns and cognitive performance in older adults.

    This is important information to understand because Australia's population (like many Western countries) is ageing and the more we understand about how certain lifestyle factors can attenuate the risk of cognitive decline the better for individuals and for society as a whole.

    We discuss risk factors for cognitive decline; some, like age, are non-modifiable but the positive news is that many risk factors, like smoking, exercise and diet are modifiable. We focus specifically on dietary patterns as lifestyle interventions (like improving fruit and vegetable intake) are potentially available to all and more economical than pharmacological interventions to implement on a large scale. Lifestyle interventions have numerous other upsides too. For example, a diet that is good for your brain is also good for your cardiovascular and metabolic health. Sarah has found traditional dietary patterns such as the Mediterranean, Nordic and Okinawan are associated with better cognitive health as we age.

    Tune in to find our more about the best foods for our brains.

    SARAH'S CONTACTS

    Website: https://www.sarah-gauci.com
    Twitter handle: @sarahgauci

    MENTIONED IN THE PODCAST

    20 PhDs in 20 minutes:https://www.rrr.org.au/explore/podcasts/einstein-a-go-go/episodes/4284-round-2-of-20-phds-in-20-mins
    Pint of Science: https://pintofscience.com.au

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT THE PODCAST

    Please tell your friends about the podcast and share it with them.
    Follow me on Instagram @vibrant_lives_podcast
    Follow my Facebook page: @vibrantlivespodcast
    If you could rate and review the podcast on iTunes, that would be super helpful.
    Purchasing a book from my website is an easy way to support the podcast too. Here is a link to the books page: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/books/
    Link to the Donate page on my website: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/contribute/

    • 44 min
    Healing from pet loss and grief with Lara Casanova

    Healing from pet loss and grief with Lara Casanova

    In this episode I welcome back Lara Casanova to discuss her most recent book, "Loss, Love and Lessons: Healing pet loss and grief". Lara is well placed to discuss this topic as a professional counsellor specialising in grief and loss, a yoga teacher, life coach and, of course, an animal lover. Pet loss is a form of disenfranchised grief which means it is often underplayed or dismissed by society yet it is very real, as all pet lovers know. Lara talks about how to navigate this sad time in our lives; her book provides very practical tips to help us walk through the grief and ultimately come out the other side appreciative of the lessons our pets have taught us.

    Lara also shares with us some beautiful tips for self-care and self love, another important part of anyone's journey through grief.

    LARA'S CONTACTS

    Website: https://www.lifeinthepink.com.au
    Instagram: @lifeinthepinkxx

    MENTIONED IN THE PODCAST

    My previous episode with Lara: https://media.whooshkaa.com/show/5757/episode/390150.mp3
    Dr Katrina Warren: @drkatrina
    Talking Stones: https://talkingstones.com.au
    Animal Welfare League pet cremations: https://awl.org.au/pet-cremations/

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT THE PODCAST

    •Please tell your friends about the podcast and share it with them.
    •Follow me on Instagram @vibrant_lives_podcast
    •Follow my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/amandaswellbeingpodcast
    •If you could rate and review the podcast on iTunes, that would be super helpful.
    •Purchasing a book from my website is an easy way to support the podcast too. Here is a link to the books page: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/books/
    •Link to the Donate page on my website: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/contribute/

    • 51 min
    How to grow your confidence with Mind Coach, David Rahman

    How to grow your confidence with Mind Coach, David Rahman

    Hello 2021!

    Hello new look podcast, Vibrant Lives Podcast!

    This week, I have an enlightening discussion about self confidence with Mind Coach, David Rahman. David shares his story about his move from optometry to becoming a Life Coach, specialising in helping people feel comfortable in their own skin. David explains how our past impacts our future; the way we think is moulded by our past, by how our brain remembers and interprets things, our patterns of thinking affect our future and therefore, to change these patterns we need to examine the way we think. David talks us though how we can do this and gives some interesting practical tips aimed at growing our self confidence.

    David has recently published his first book, "Let it Go: how to stop your past ruining your future". The hard copy is not yet available in Australia but it can be purchased through the links below.

    DAVID'S CONTACTS

    Instagram: @david_rahman
    Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/david.rahman.399
    Linked In: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rahmandavid/
    Website: https://www.mind.coach

    WHERE TO PURCHASE DAVID'S BOOK

    Book Depository: https://www.bookdepository.com/Let-It-Go-David-Rahman/9781784618308
    Amazon: https://www.amazon.com.au/Let-Go-David-Rahman/dp/1784618306/ref=sr_1_1?dchild=1&keywords=let+it+go+david+rahman&qid=1612742032&s=digital-text&sr=1-1-catcorr
    Bookshop.org: https://bookshop.org/books/let-it-go-how-to-stop-your-past-ruining-your-future/9781784618308

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT THE PODCAST

    •Please tell your friends about the podcast and share it with them.
    •Follow me on Instagram @vibrant_lives_podcast
    •Follow my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/amandaswellbeingpodcast
    •If you could rate and review the podcast on iTunes, that would be super helpful.
    •Purchasing a book from my website is an easy way to support the podcast too. Here is a link to the books page: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/books/
    •Link to the Donate page on my website: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/contribute/

    • 43 min
    2020 wrap up and 2021 sneak preview

    2020 wrap up and 2021 sneak preview

    Thank you to all of you who have taken the time to listen to my podcast this year. I hope you found something of value or interest.

    This episode is a brief wrap up of some of the interesting things I have learned this year and a sneak preview of what's in store for 2021.

    EPISODES MENTIONED

    Dr Tim Crowe: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/tim-crowe/
    Dr Emma Beckett: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/emma-beckett/
    Olivia Swann: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/olivia-swann/
    Anna Howard: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/anna-howard/
    Kaki Okumura: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/kaki-okumura/
    Lyndall Vandenberg: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/lyndall-vandenberg/
    Jess Trengove OLY: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/jessica-trengove/
    Dr Amber Halliday OLY: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/amber-halliday/
    Jaime Fernandez OLY: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/jaime-fernandez/
    Sarah Lee: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/sarah-lee/
    Mel Stefano: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/melissa-stefano/
    Tony Karoussis: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/tony-karoussis/
    Beck Butler: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/beck-butler/
    Katie Sarah: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/katie-sarah/
    Brad Beer: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/brad-beer/
    Steph Gaskell: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/stephanie-gaskell/
    Alan McCubbin: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/alan-mccubbin/
    Nick Muxlow: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/nick-muxlow-2/
    Kym Burls: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/kym-burls/
    John Stamoulos: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/john-stamoulos/
    Farrah Furtado: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/farrah-furtado/
    Pamela Chimenti: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/pamela-chimenti/
    Anne Wiberg: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/anne-wiberg/
    Meg Paech: a...

    • 13 min
    Promoting positive body image in adolescence with Dr Zali Yager

    Promoting positive body image in adolescence with Dr Zali Yager

    This week, body image expert, Dr Zali Yager, shares her considerable knowledge and insights into the often thorny and always complex issue of body image in adolescence. Zali is an Associate Professor in health and physical education at the Victoria University, Melbourne. Her research interests and expertise lie in the promotion of positive body image and prevention of eating disorders, especially in adolescence.

    Zali and I discuss the factors that influence body image in adolescence, including social media. We talk about what the different pressures are for boys and girls and how they often manifest e.g. for boys, a growing prevalence of muscle-building supplement taking has been observed. Zali also explains the association between body image and mental health. Helpfully, Zali gives some practical tips for patents to help create positive body image in our children, including outlining several programs aimed at body acceptance she is involved with.

    Following are links to programs and useful websites that Zali mentions in the episode:

    Kristen Neff's Self Compassion Resources: https://self-compassion.org/category/exercises/
    Butterfly Foundation Helpline: https://butterfly.org.au/get-support/helpline/
    The Body Project in Australia Targeted intervention: https://www.eatingdisorders.org.au/early-intervention-identification-for-professionals/body-project-australia/
    The Body Confident Collective: https://www.bodyconfidentcollective.org/

    ZALI'S CONTACTS

    Website: www.zaliyager.com
    zali.yager@gmail.com
    Instagram: @drzaliyager, @bodyconfidentmums, @bodyconfidentcollective
    Twitter: @ZaliYager

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT THE PODCAST

    •Please tell your friends about the podcast and share it with them.
    •Follow me on Instagram @amanda_wellbeing_podcast
    •Follow my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/amandaswellbeingpodcast/?modal=admin_todo_tour
    •If you could rate and review the podcast on iTunes, that would be super helpful.
    •Purchasing a book from my website is an easy way to support the podcast too. Here is a link to the books page: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/books/
    •Link to the Donate page on my website: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/contribute/

    • 53 min
    Our genes, our gut microbiome and our food with molecular nutritionist, Dr Emma Beckett

    Our genes, our gut microbiome and our food with molecular nutritionist, Dr Emma Beckett

    We hear a lot about our gut microbiome and the links between our gut health, mental health and general health - what does this mean in practical terms and how does it apply to you? To help explain the complex interplay between our microbiome, our genes, the food we eat and how this can impact our health and our predisposition towards certain diseases is nutrition dynamo, molecule nutritionist Dr Emma Beckett.

    Emma's enthusiasm for her subject matter is contagious and our conversation wanders over some fascinating terrain - we talk about environment versus genetics in shaping our microbiome and, in this context, the value of twin studies. Emma explains how food can influence gene expression and how genes can influence the way we metabolise, taste and experience food? Does coriander tase like soap to you? If so, find out why.

    Another of Emma's passions is scientific communication and I found her take on this really refreshing. Emma gives us some tips on how to be a critical consumer of all the information about food and diets we are bombarded with plus some advice on what foods are the best to feed our microbiome and keep it as healthy as possible.

    Emma's social media handles:
    Twitter @synapse101
    Instagram @Emmie_101
    Facebook @Dr Emma Beckett - Food & Nutrition Scientist

    LINKS MENTIONED IN THE PODCAST
    Australian Dietary Guidelines: https://www.health.gov.au/resources/publications/the-australian-dietary-guidelines
    Australian Guide to Halthy Eating: https://www.eatforhealth.gov.au/guidelines/australian-guide-healthy-eating

    HOW YOU CAN SUPPORT THE PODCAST

    •Please tell your friends about the podcast and share it with them.
    •Follow me on Instagram @amanda_wellbeing_podcast
    •Follow my Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/amandaswellbeingpodcast/?modal=admin_todo_tour
    •If you could rate and review the podcast on iTunes, that would be super helpful.
    •Purchasing a book from my website is an easy way to support the podcast too. Here is a link to the books page: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/books/
    •Link to the Donate page on my website: https://amandaswellbeingpodcast.com/contribute/

    • 1 hr 11 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
26 Ratings

26 Ratings

JulianneMary ,

Farah Furtado

Wonderful, kind, gentle and informative discussion on all things yoga, meditation and general health. Loved it.

MarkM2018 ,

Great Resource!

This is an excellent podcast on all things well-being, health, fitness and sport.

HelenHydeFitness ,

Always informative and relatable

Loving the podcasts Amanda, great topics and varied. You can hear your passion for the nutrition and interviewing.

Top Podcasts In Health & Fitness

Listeners Also Subscribed To