300 episodes

As a boy, Nathan Penlington had loved Choose Your Own Adventures, the literary phenomenon of the 1980s which thrust the reader into the role of main character and compelled them to make decisions and direct the flow of the story. So, when he discovered a job lot of the first 106 adventures for sale on eBay, there was never any question that he would place a bid. When the books arrived, he lost himself in the old adventures.
Yet, as he flicked through the pages, there was another story being written - for, in the margins of each book, were the scribblings of the little boy who had once owned them, a little boy by the name of Terence John Prendergast. In the margins of the books, Terence wrote jokes, hints for adventurers following the same stories as him - and, more troubling still, intimations of a tormented childhood: of the boys and teachers who had bullied him; of the things he hated about himself and had to improve; of his thoughts of suicide and his desperate need to find friends, be liked, and find somebody - anybody - to confide in.
THE BOY IN THE BOOK is Nathan's poignant recreation of the discovery of the fragments of Terence Prendergast's diary, his quest to find the lost boy, and the friendship that resulted from their first meeting. In doing so, Nathan is forced to examine his own childhood - and, as his relationship with Terence deepens, he begins to believe that the two men are not so different, and to reflect on the darkness that can exist in childhood.

Headline Books Headline Publishing

    • Books

As a boy, Nathan Penlington had loved Choose Your Own Adventures, the literary phenomenon of the 1980s which thrust the reader into the role of main character and compelled them to make decisions and direct the flow of the story. So, when he discovered a job lot of the first 106 adventures for sale on eBay, there was never any question that he would place a bid. When the books arrived, he lost himself in the old adventures.
Yet, as he flicked through the pages, there was another story being written - for, in the margins of each book, were the scribblings of the little boy who had once owned them, a little boy by the name of Terence John Prendergast. In the margins of the books, Terence wrote jokes, hints for adventurers following the same stories as him - and, more troubling still, intimations of a tormented childhood: of the boys and teachers who had bullied him; of the things he hated about himself and had to improve; of his thoughts of suicide and his desperate need to find friends, be liked, and find somebody - anybody - to confide in.
THE BOY IN THE BOOK is Nathan's poignant recreation of the discovery of the fragments of Terence Prendergast's diary, his quest to find the lost boy, and the friendship that resulted from their first meeting. In doing so, Nathan is forced to examine his own childhood - and, as his relationship with Terence deepens, he begins to believe that the two men are not so different, and to reflect on the darkness that can exist in childhood.

    THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR by Peter Tremayne, read by Caroline Lennon - Audiobook Sample

    THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR by Peter Tremayne, read by Caroline Lennon - Audiobook Sample

    Sister Fidelma returns in THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR, the thirty-first Celtic mystery by Peter Tremayne, acclaimed author of BLOOD IN EDEN, BLOODMOON and PENANCE OF THE DAMNED. If you love Ellis Peters, you'll be gripped by THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR and the Sister Fidelma series.

    Ireland. AD 672.

    The body of a dead man has been found on a lonely mountain road and taken to the isolated abbey of Gleann Da Loch for a proper burial. The abbot quickly identifies him as Brehon Brocc, who had been travelling to the abbey on a secret mission with Princess Gelgeis and her steward. When news reaches Colgu, King of Muman, that his betrothed, Princess Gelgeis, has disappeared, Fidelma with her trusted companions, Eadulf and Enda, enter the hostile Kingdom of Laigin in search of the truth.

    But one death is quickly followed by another and warnings of demonic shapeshifters and evil lurking in the mountains must be taken seriously. Are there really brigands stealing gold and silver from the ancient mines? And are rumours of a war between the Kingdoms of Laigin and Muman to be believed? As Fidelma searches for answers, she must do everything in her power to avoid danger and death in a land where no one is to be trusted...

    What readers are saying about the Sister Fidelma series:

    'Tremayne is one of those very few historical mystery writers who can perplex and bewilder. He weaves the twisty plots into a complex historical narrative'

    'A must-read for anyone looking for a good mystery'

    'The characters are original, the settings are imaginative and true-to-life and the intricate plots form enough threads to keep you guessing at every turn'

    • 3 min
    BLOOD TIES by Samantha Hayes, read by Hilary Neville - Audiobook Extract

    BLOOD TIES by Samantha Hayes, read by Hilary Neville - Audiobook Extract

    A heart-stopping emotional thriller with a breathtaking twist from the bestselling author of THE HAPPY COUPLE Samantha Hayes

    January 1992. A baby girl is left alone for a moment. Long enough for a mother to dash into a shop. Long enough for a child to be taken.

    Thirteen years later, solicitor Robert Knight's stepdaughter wins a place at a prestigious London school for the gifted. The only puzzle is his wife Erin's reaction. Why is she so reluctant to let Ruby go? Doesn't she want what's best for her? As Erin grows more evasive, Robert can't help but feel she has something to hide, and when he stumbles on mysterious letters, he discovers she has been lying to him. Somewhere in his wife's past lies a secret; a shocking secret that threatens to destroy everything...

    Thrilling and unputdownable, Blood Ties will make you ask what dark secrets lie behind your neighbours' closed doors. Perfect reading for anyone who loved The Wife Between Us, The Girl on The Train or Gone Girl.

    • 4 min
    THE LIES YOU TOLD by Harriet Tyce, read by Sarah Durham - Audiobook Sample

    THE LIES YOU TOLD by Harriet Tyce, read by Sarah Durham - Audiobook Sample

    Shocking, dark, addictive - LIES YOU TOLD is the compulsive new psychological thriller from Harriet Tyce, author of BLOOD ORANGE. Perfect for fans of APPLE TREE YARD, BIG LITTLE LIES, and ANATOMY OF A SCANDAL

    Has she left her child in the care of a killer?

    Sadie has moved back to London so her daughter can attend the exclusive school her domineering father has secured her a place at. It's highly sought-after and highly competitive - just like the other mothers, Sadie soon discovers.

    While she's trying to get her daughter settled and navigate the fraught politics of the school gate, Sadie is also trying to reclaim a position in her old legal chambers - she used to practice as a criminal barrister. She's given the junior brief on a scandalous case involving a male teacher and his student. It's an opportunity to prove herself, but will she let a dangerous flirtation cloud her professional judgement? And will her sudden close friendship with another mother prevent her from seeing the truth - and the threat that she's inviting into her home?

    • 3 min
    WARRIORS FOR THE WORKING DAY by Peter Elstob, read by Tom Lawrence - Audiobook Sample

    WARRIORS FOR THE WORKING DAY by Peter Elstob, read by Tom Lawrence - Audiobook Sample

    May 1944, the Royal Armoured Corps prepares for the invasion of north-west Europe. Young and conscientious, Michael Brook is quickly promoted to tank commander. He must overcome not only his own fear, but the dissent and doubts of his ever-changing crew, as the war takes them over the Rhine and into Germany. The men encounter both jubilant civilians and stiff enemy resistance as the conflict exacts a heavy toll.

    Based on Peter Elstob's own wartime experience, Warriors for the Working Day brilliantly evokes the particular ferocity, heat and terror of tank warfare. This new edition of a 1960 classic features a contextual introduction from IWM which sheds new light on the true events that so inspired its author.

    'If poetry was the supreme literary form of the First World War then, as if in riposte, in the Second World War, the English novel came of age. This wonderful series is an exemplary reminder of that fact.' WILLIAM BOYD

    'Few other novels of the war describe the grinding claustrophobia, violence and lethal danger of being in a tank crew with the stark vividness of Peter Elstob... a forgotten classic that deserves to be read and read.' JAMES HOLLAND

    • 3 min
    IN THEIR OWN WORDS: UNTOLD STORIES OF THE FIRST WORLD WAR by Anthony Richards

    IN THEIR OWN WORDS: UNTOLD STORIES OF THE FIRST WORLD WAR by Anthony Richards

    The First World War was the defining event of the last century. It claimed the lives of over 16 million people across the globe and had an enormous impact on all who experienced it. No nation in Europe was left untouched, and even neutral states felt its devastating impact.

    Yet it was the ordinary men and women who were affected the most.

    This gripping, revealing and poignant collection of stories tells the First World War from the perspective of those who were there, using letters, diaries and memoirs from Imperial War Museum's unparalleled archives.

    • 3 min
    INNOCENT by Erin Kinsley, read by Lucy Paterson - AUDIOBOOK EXTRACT 2

    INNOCENT by Erin Kinsley, read by Lucy Paterson - AUDIOBOOK EXTRACT 2

    A MURDER TEARS A SMALL TOWN APART. BUT WHO DID IT?

    The pretty market town of Sterndale is a close-knit community where everyone thinks they know everyone else. But at a lavish summer wedding a local celebrity is discovered slumped in the gardens, the victim of a violent assault that leads to a murder investigation.

    As the police search for answers, suspicion and paranoia build - and the lives of the locals are turned upside down. Secrets that lurk beneath the pristine façade of Sterndale come to light as detectives close in on the truth...

    A gripping and moving thriller with the emotional drama of series like BROADCHURCH and LIAR this is the perfect read for fans of Cara Hunter, Heidi Perks and Claire Douglas.

    Praise for Erin Kinsley's first novel FOUND, a BBC RADIO 2 BOOK CLUB CHOICE and SUNDAY TIMES CRIME CLUB PICK:

    'Brilliant, utterly compelling, heart-wrenching...I was gripped and loved it.' PETER JAMES

    'An unputdownable thriller.' ELLY GRIFFITHS

    • 2 min

Top Podcasts In Books

Listeners Also Subscribed To