301 episódios

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA’s editorial director Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

Bon Appétit Food People Bon Appétit

    • Artes
    • 5,0 • 4 avaliações

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA’s editorial director Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

    What’s Stanley Tucci Doing for Thanksgiving?

    What’s Stanley Tucci Doing for Thanksgiving?

    Who but Stanley Tucci could charm us on social media with his Negroni-making skills, eat his way through Italy for a documentary series, and publish a food-heavy memoir all during a global pandemic? He’s had so much going on that we almost forgot that he’s also a Hollywood star. The man/myth/legend gave us his best tips for entertaining in our November issue, and this week on the podcast, he sits down with editor in chief Dawn Davis to chat about his favorite Thanksgiving dishes, the gifts he insists on giving, and the pasta faux-pas that you NEED to avoid. Of course, when it comes to putting on a proper feast, we can’t all be Stanley Tucci—but that doesn’t mean we can’t try. And for the hosts who need the most help, associate food editor Rachel Gurjar is back with a procrastinator’s guide to cooking a Thanksgiving meal.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 

    Menu from Rachel Gurjar’s Thanksgiving “Procrastinator” Newsletter


    Sahara Bohoskey’s Marinated Peppers with Basil and Garlic recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/peperoni


    Justin Lee’s Crunchy Greens With Fat Choy Ranch recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/crunchy-greens-with-fat-choy-ranch


    Gerardo Gonzalez’s Beer-and-Orange-Marinated Roast Chicken recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/beer-and-orange-marinated-roast-chicken


    Cheryl Day’s Pineapple Upside-Down Cake recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pineapple-upside-down-cake-2


    Claire Saffitz’s Fridge-Dive Pesto Pasta recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/fridge-dive-pesto-pasta


    Taste: My Life Through Food by Stanley Tucci: https://www.amazon.com/Taste-My-Life-Through-Food/dp/1982168013?asc_campaign=&asc_source=&asc_refurl=https://www.bonappetit.com/story/stanley-tucci-thanksgiving&ascsubtag=61770ed22aa62461f131c295&linkCode=sl1&tag=bapodcasts-20&linkId=46bc32f8e570b522cba622f8b07d6251&language=en_US&ref_=as_li_ss_tl


    Bon Appétit on what Stanley Tucci is doing for Thanksgiving: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/stanley-tucci-thanksgiving


    Science In the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well by Pellgrino Artusi: https://www.amazon.com/Science-Kitchen-Lorenzo-Italian-Library/dp/0802086578?hvadid=312031138203&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=18077107301282618684&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1023191&hvtargid=pla-454049301060&psc=1&linkCode=sl1&tag=bapodcasts-20&linkId=47070fea873e0bf560251f361519cc31&language=en_US&ref_=as_li_ss_tl


    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 30 min
    Can Thanksgiving ever just be simple?

    Can Thanksgiving ever just be simple?

    Maybe you’re like us: Year after year, we tell ourselves that THIS Thanksgiving is going to be the simple one. Then, year after year, we find ourselves back in the kitchen, feeling way too stressed out while juggling 15 recipes for sides, salads, desserts, and of course, a massive turkey that refuses to finish cooking. Why do we do this to ourselves? And is there another way? Associate food editor Kendra Vaculin thinks there is, and she’s here this week, along with test kitchen director Chris Morocco, to talk through her super-simplified menu for this year’s feast, which you can find in the November issue of the magazine. Tune in for tips on maximizing oven space and hot takes on why no one needs a roasting pan. Plus, Chris makes the case for yet another “compelling and dynamic” salad.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Bon Appétit’s Thanksgiving, Simplified Menu: https://www.bonappetit.com/gallery/thanksgiving-dinner-simplified


    More on Cheryl Day’s Desserts : https://www.bonappetit.com/story/cheryl-day-southern-baking


    Diana Yen’s Pumpkin-Tahini Mousse Pie recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pumpkin-tahini-mousse-pie


    Kendra Vaculin’s Kale Salad With Pecan Vinaigrette recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/kale-salad-with-pecan-vinaigrette


    Kendra Vaculin’s Green Beans and Mushrooms With Crispy Shallots recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/green-beans-and-mushrooms-with-crispy-shallots


    Kendra Vaculin’s Stuffing Biscuits recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/stuffing-biscuits


    Kendra Vaculin’s Twice-Roasted Squash With Vanilla, Maple, and Chile recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/twice-roasted-squash-with-vanilla-maple-and-chile


    Kendra Vaculin’s Sheet-Pan Turkey and Gravy recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sheet-pan-turkey-and-gravy


    Nordic Ware Half Sheet Pan: https://market.bonappetit.com/products/half-sheet-1


    Nordic Ware Baking and Cooling Grid : https://market.bonappetit.com/products/large-baking-cooling-grid-1


    Chris Morocco’s Burnished Potato Nuggets recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/burnished-potato-nuggets


    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 31 min
    Why are pop-ups popping off?

    Why are pop-ups popping off?

    It used to be that opening your own restaurant was the only path to gaining recognition as a chef. But these days, more and more chefs are opening pop-ups as a first step, or even an alternative, to a brick-and-mortar spot. Pop-ups can offer flexibility, freedom, and exposure without the high overhead and financial risk. But that doesn’t mean pop-up life is a walk in the park. This week on the show, Amanda talks to two LA chefs who run their own pop-ups—Rashida Holmes of Bridgetown Roti and Brandon Gray of Brandoni Pepperoni—about the pros and cons of the business model, their mixed feelings about press attention, and what chefs need to know before popping up. 
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    The Promises and Perils of Pop-Ups: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/promises-and-perils-of-popups


    Bridgetown Roti website: https://www.bridgetownroti.com/


    Brandoni Pepperoni website: https://www.brandoni-pepperoni.com/


    About Chef Craig Wong: https://chefcraigwong.com/about


    Santa Monica Farmers Market: https://www.smgov.net/Departments/pcd/farmercontent.aspx?id=10039


    Crafted Kitchen LA website: https://www.craftedkitchenla.com/the-kitchens

    Rashida Holmes and Bridgetown Roti – @bridgetownroti

    Brandon Gray and Brandoni Pepperoni – @la_brandoni_pepperoni


    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 27 min
    Is the martini the best cocktail of all time?

    Is the martini the best cocktail of all time?

    Name a more iconic cocktail. We’ll wait. Yep, that’s what we thought. Today on the podcast, Amanda is joined by contributor Amiel Stanek, senior staff writer Alex Beggs, and senior food editor Christina Chaey to talk all about martinis: Why we love them, what makes them perfect vs. “perfect,” and how to order them properly (or make them at home). Along the way, Andrea Hernández aka the Snack Oracle comes by to try to explain why the espresso martini is making a comeback—and whether it’s here to stay. Stick around for trivia, jokes, and plenty of cocktail-shaker ASMR.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    SECO Cocktails: https://www.secococktails.com/


    Bon Appétit’s Make-Ahead Martini: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/make-ahead-martini


    Bon Appetit’s Classic Martini recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/classic-martini-2


    Bon Appétit’s How To Speak Fluent Martini: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/how-to-make-a-martini


    Andrea Hernandez’s Snaxshot: https://www.snaxshot.com/


    Timothée Chalamet and Larry David: https://www.gq.com/story/timothee-chalamet-larry-david-new-york


    Alex Beggs’ Latest Articles : https://www.bonappetit.com/contributor/alex-beggs


    Amiel Stanek’s Latest Articles: https://www.bonappetit.com/contributor/amiel-stanek


    Christina Chaey’s Latest Articles: https://www.bonappetit.com/contributor/christina-chaey


    https://www.basuperfans.com/c/a/6JuEOe5I41UHpuymjeMSTI
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 26 min
    What Happens When You Use TikTok to Cook?

    What Happens When You Use TikTok to Cook?

    Even if you’re not on FoodTok, you probably know it exists . Every day, our algorithms fill our feeds with cooking hacks, recipe walkthroughs, and ambient ASMR moments. We can’t look away, but we also can’t help but wonder: Does any of it actually work? To find out, senior food editor Christina Chaey and BA’s head of video June Kim spent a day cooking meals from TikTok—yes, breakfast, lunch, and dinner. This week on the podcast, they’re reporting on how it went and giving their definitive (read: totally subjective) rankings of some of the platform’s most iconic foods. Along the way, associate editor (and FoodTok creator) Bettina Makalintal joins Amanda to talk about a few of her favorite follows on the app.

    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Emily Mariko’s (@emilymariko) TikTok video for Leftover Salmon Bowls: https://www.tiktok.com/@emilymariko/video/7000469368232512773?is_copy_url=0&is_from_webapp=v1&sender_device=pc&sender_web_id=7005173277049390597


    Amy Wilochowski’s (@amywilochowski) TikTok video for Pesto Eggs : https://www.tiktok.com/@amywilichowski/video/6955536851595758853?referer_url=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.today.com%2F&referer_video_id=6955536851595758853&refer=embed


    Alexandra Johnsson’s (@simplefood4u) Wrap Hack Demonstration TikTok: https://www.tiktok.com/foryou?lang=en&is_copy_url=1&is_from_webapp=v1&item_id=6913548768847727877#/@simplefood4you/video/6913548768847727877


    @liemessa’s original Baked Feta Pasta (uunifeta pasta) recipe and blog post: https://liemessa.fi/2020/09/baked-feta-pasta-original-recipe/


    J. Kenji Lopez-Alt’s video on Baked Feta Pasta: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=U3gvRjIQ6Lo


    Deb Perelman’s Baked Feta with Tomatoes and Chickpeas recipe : https://smittenkitchen.com/2021/02/baked-feta-with-tomatoes-and-chickpeas/


    Bettina Makalintal’s (@bettinamak) TikTok page: https://www.tiktok.com/@bettinamak?


    @eatwkriss’s TikTok page: https://www.tiktok.com/@eatwkriss?


    @oldtimehawkey’s TikTok page: https://www.tiktok.com/@oldtimehawkey?lang=en


    @sxmplyni’s TikTok page: https://www.tiktok.com/@sxmplyni?lang=en


    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 37 min
    Dirty South Hot Tamales with Bryant Terry

    Dirty South Hot Tamales with Bryant Terry

    This week, editor in chief Dawn Davis is back for a conversation with chef, writer, and James Beard award winner Bryant Terry about his new cookbook Black Food, a sprawling collection of essays, art, and recipes from more than a hundred Black visionaries across the globe. Our September issue features excerpts and recipes from the book, and with Black Food hitting shelves October 19, we’re welcoming him back to talk about cooking with his family, building communities through food, and whether there’s a wrong way to cook grits.

    Stuff we talk about in this episode:


    BA’s excerpt from Bryant Terry’s Black Food : https://www.bonappetit.com/gallery/bryant-terry-black-food


    Black Food by Bryant Terry : https://amzn.to/3AQO2y7


    More Books by Bryant Terry : https://www.bryant-terry.com/allbooks


    Bryant Terry’s Dirty South Hot Tamales With Jackfruit and Cilantro Sauce recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/hot-tamales-with-jackfruit-and-cilantro-sauce


    Nicole A. Taylor’s Cocoa-Orange Catfish recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cocoa-orange-catfish


    Kia Damon’s Sweet Potato Grits recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sweet-potato-grits


    Jocelyn Delk Adams’ Cinnamon-Roll Pound Cake recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cinnamon-roll-pound-cake


    More information on Bryant Terry’s imprint, 4 Color Books: https://sites.prh.com/4-color-books

    More recipes from Bryant Terry


    Grape-Tarragon Spritzer recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/grape-tarragon-spritzer


    Bitter Greens With Sweet Mustard Vinaigrette recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/bitter-greens-mustard-vinaigrette


    Quick-Pickled Cauliflower recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/quick-pickled-cauliflower


    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)

    https://www.basuperfans.com/c/a/6JuEOe5I41UHpuymjeMSTI
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 22 min

Opiniões de clientes

5,0 de 5
4 avaliações

4 avaliações

Top podcasts em Artes

Você Também Pode Gostar de