306 Folgen

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA's consulting editor Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

Bon Appétit Food People Bon Appétit

    • Kunst
    • 4,8 • 11 Bewertungen

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA's consulting editor Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

    What are our secret weapon ingredients?

    What are our secret weapon ingredients?

    The January slump is hitting, and cooking is starting to feel pretty dull. But rather than giving up entirely, we’re leaning on the power of our pantries. Instead of re-inventing the wheel (of cheese?), we can rely on a few tried and true staples that we always have around, and use them in new and inventive ways. This week on the podcast, Amanda chats with associate food editor Kendra Vaculin and recipe developer extraordinaire Hetty McKinnon, who spill the tea about a few of their favorite year-round flavor boosters. Then, Ken Concepcion and Michelle Mungcal from Now Serving LA—a beloved cookbook shop that you should absolutely visit in LA’s Chinatown—stop by to share a few secret weapon cookbooks you’ll actually end up using.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Kimchi Kooks website  https://www.kimchikooks.com/


    Hetty McKinnon’s One-Pot Kimchi and Squash Mac and Cheese recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/one-pot-kimchi-and-squash-mac-and-cheese


    To Asia, With Love by Hetty McKinnon https://amzn.to/3xCjMqR


    Recipes from To Asia, with Love featuring Mushroom and Kimchi ‘Sausage Rolls’ https://www.goodfood.com.au/recipes/news/four-recipes-from-to-asia-with-love-by-hetty-mckinnon-20200716-h1peny


    Hetty McKinnon’s Sheet Pan Kimchi Fried Rice with Baked Eggs recipe https://www.today.com/recipes/sheet-pan-kimchi-fried-rice-baked-eggs-recipe-t173872


    Priya Krishna’s Saag Paneer, But With Feta recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/saag-paneer-but-with-feta


    Kendra Vaculin’s Spinach-Artichoke Dip Frittata recipe https://www.epicurious.com/the-smart-cook/spinach-dip-frittata-easy-dinner-article


    Brooklyn Delhi Saag Paneer recipe https://brooklyndelhi.com/blogs/news/saag-paneer


    Shilpa Uskokovic’s Creamy Spinach and Chickpeas recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/creamy-spinach-and-chickpeas


    Hetty McKinnon’s Thai Curry Risotto recipe https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1021947-thai-curry-risotto-with-squash-and-green-beans

    Now Serving - Los Angeles website


    Ken and Michelle’s Cookbook Recommendations: 


    Everyone’s Table: Global Recipes for Modern Health by Gregory Gourdet with JJ Goode https://amzn.to/3GznANb


    Aloha Kitchen: Recipes from Hawai’i by Alana Kysar  https://amzn.to/3FDEGZ0


    Thank You for Smoking: Fun and Fearless Recipes Cooked with a Whiff of Wood Fire on Your Grill or Smoker by Paula Disbrowe https://amzn.to/3AitvE8


    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 39 Min.
    What does “healthy eating” even mean?

    What does “healthy eating” even mean?

    It’s New Year's resolution season, which has a lot of us thinking about eating healthier. That word, “healthy,” can mean so many different things to so many different people—so much so that finding a good definition can be pretty tough. But senior food editor Christina Chaey's new series of recipes from our annual Healthyish issue are a good starting point. This week on the podcast, Christina joins Amanda to talk through what she’s been cooking so far in 2022, then associate editor Ali Francis stops by to talk medicinal mushrooms, comfort foods, and more wellness trends we’re expecting to see a lot of in the year to come.

    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Christina Chaey’s Sticky and Spicy Baked Cauliflower recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sticky-and-spicy-baked-cauliflower


    Christina Chaey’s Cheesy Tomato Beans with Broccoli Rabe recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cheesy-tomato-beans-with-broccoli-rabe

    Ali Francis’ 2022 Health Trend Predictions: 


    Golde Shroom Shield: https://fave.co/33kZgzH


    RASA Original – Adaptogenic Mushroom Coffee Alternative: https://amzn.to/3F6b5XS


    Snow Days Pizza Bites website : https://fave.co/3HUAZzN


    Goodles website: https://goodles.com/


    GIGANTIC! Candy website: https://giganticcandy.com/


    FLO Vitamins : https://flovitamins.com/products/flo-pms-gummy-vitamins?variant=32465558831207&currency=USD&utm_medium=product_sync&utm_source=google&utm_content=sag_organic&utm_campaign=sag_organic&gclid=Cj0KCQiAweaNBhDEARIsAJ5hwbd_X2bkoTjFdSkrt6ILX0BhsOE-zlkXjbUnlA-4MGixvk17wNSJDW0aAo1XEALw_wcB


    Phasey Seed Cycling Blend : https://amzn.to/3Fe1tdw


    Christina Chaey’s Chicken Soup with Rice Noodles and Scallion Crisp recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/chicken-soup-with-rice-noodles-and-scallion-crisp


    Christina Chaey’s Adonis Spritz recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/adonis-spritz

    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 38 Min.
    What was the best thing we cooked this year?

    What was the best thing we cooked this year?

    It’s that old, familiar season, and we’re not just talking about eggnog, we’re talking about the season of “Best Of” lists. Here at BA, we’ve got plenty of best recipe round-ups in the pipeline, but those lists only tell half the story. In our eyes, the best recipes aren’t always the ones that “break the internet” (though sometimes they are—we’re looking at you Caramel Apple Cookies). They’re the ones that surprised us, taught us something new, or became our back-pocket go-tos week after week and month after month. This week, Amanda is joined by senior cooking editor Sarah Jampel and Test Kitchen director Chris Morocco to talk about which of this year’s recipes have stuck with them most. The result is a Best Of list that’s a bit less objective, a lot more opinionated, but still extremely delicious. Then, associate food editor Kendra Vaculin is back to talk about her favorite holiday recipes for kids.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    BA's official Top Ten Recipes List of 2021: https://bonappetit.com/gallery/most-popular-recipes-2021


    Roxanna Jullapat’s Granola Scones recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/granola-scones


    Bon Appétit on Roxanna Jullapat’s Book, Mother Grains: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/mother-grains-roxana-jullapat


    Shilpa Uskokovic’s Air Fryer Chile-Honey-Glazed Fries recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/chile-honey-glazed-fries


    Hetty McKinnon’s Pea and Ricotta Potstickers With Homemade Dumpling Wrappers recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pea-and-ricotta-potstickers

    Dumpling Articles from Hetty McKinnon: 


    How to Fold Dumplings For Novices and Experts with Hetty McKinnon: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-folding-guide


    The Many Ways to Cook Dumplings, Explained: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-cooking-methods


    Hetty’s 12 Tips for Homemade Dumplings : https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-making-tips


    Hetty McKinnon’s article on the dumpling dowel: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-dowel


    Kelly Janke’s Salted Caramel Apple Cookies recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/salted-caramel-apple-cookies


    Rachel Gurjar’s Yogurt-Marinated Mushrooms With Flatbread recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/yogurt-marinated-mushrooms-with-flatbread


    Andy Baraghani’s Za’atar Chicken Cutlets With Cabbage Salad recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/zaatar-chicken-cutlets-with-cabbage-salad


    Asha Loupy’s Cheesy Tomato Hand Pies recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cheesy-tomato-hand-pies


    Red Jacket Orchards (Sarah’s Choice Apple Cider) website: https://redjacketorchards.com/

    Kendra Vaculin’s Recipes for Cooking with Kids


    Candy Cane Ice Cream in a Bag : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/candy-cane-ice-cream-in-a-bag


    Sohla El-Waylly’s Salty-Sweet Party Mix: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sweet-and-savory-miso-party-mix


    BA Party Mix: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/ba-party-mix


    Splatter Paint Sugar Cookies: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/spatter-paint-sugar-cookies


    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 37 Min.
    What are Drew Barrymore and Pilar Valdes hungry for?

    What are Drew Barrymore and Pilar Valdes hungry for?

    Drew Barrymore didn’t always love to cook. When she first lived alone, at 14 years old, she stuck to instant ramen, boxed mac and cheese, and egg-in-the-hole toasts. But as an adult, sharing food with her friends and loved ones has become one of her favorite things, and her close friend and personal chef Pilar Valdes is a big reason why. The pair met in the midst of major life transitions, and they found solace and inspiration together in the kitchen. This week, they’re on the pod with host Amanda Shapiro talking about friendship, food preferences, and their new cookbook, Rebel Homemaker: Food, Family and Life. 
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Rebel Homemaker: Food, Family, Life by Drew Barrymore and Pilar Valdes: https://amzn.to/3Ey6dv2


    Pilar’s Catering Company, Kickshaw Cookery: http://kickshawcookery.com/


    Drew Barrymore’s Kitchenware Collection, Beautiful: https://cookwithbeautiful.com/


    Frankie & Olive’s Roast Chicken Recipe: https://thehappyfoodie.co.uk/recipes/frankie-and-olives-roast-chicken/


    Drew and Pilar Make Turkey Roulade (Video): https://www.thedrewbarrymoreshow.com/videos/drew-and-pilar-valdes-make-turkey-roulade-and-corn-casserole

    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 34 Min.
    What are Dorie Greenspan’s favorite cookies?

    What are Dorie Greenspan’s favorite cookies?

    There’s a reason fans call Dorie Greenspan the “Cookie Queen.” Over her 30-year career, the James Beard Award-winning author has published 14 cookbooks, developed thousands of recipes, and built an online following years before “influencers” were even a thing. In our sweetest episode yet, she sits down with Amanda to talk about a few of her favorite cookies in her newest book, Baking With Dorie—just in time for your cookie swap. Later on, senior commerce editor MacKenzie Chung Fegan stops by with a few gift ideas for the choosiest food people on your list.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Baking with Dorie : https://amzn.to/3EaNyFA


    Baking From My Home To Yours: https://doriegreenspan.com/recipe/world-peace-cookies-the-newest-version-from-dories-cookies-sneak-peek/


    Bon Appétit’s Annual Cookie Section : https://www.bonappetit.com/type/cookie


    Dorie’s World Peace Cookie recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/world-peace-cookies


    Dorie Greenspan’s World Peace Cookie 2.0 recipe: https://doriegreenspan.com/recipe/world-peace-cookies-the-newest-version-from-dories-cookies-sneak-peek/


    Dorie’s Caramel Crunch-Chocolate Chunklet Cookies recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/caramel-crunch-chocolate-chunklet-cookies


    Dorie Greenspan’s Cocoa-Cornmeal Biscotti recipe: https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1019374-cocoa-cornmeal-biscotti


    Dorie Greenspan’s Iced Spiced Hermits recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/iced-spiced-hermits


    Dorie’s Bulletin, xoxoDorie: https://doriegreenspan.bulletin.com/


    Bon Appétit’s Gift Guides 2021: https://www.bonappetit.com/entertaining-style/gift-guides


    Alex Beggs’ Cookbook Gift Guide: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/best-cookbooks-2021-gift-guide


    MacKenzie’s Gift Recommendations: 


    Hestan NanoBond Titanium Essential Pan: https://amzn.to/3EcB686


    Mortadella Pool Float : https://www.katiekimmel.com/items/mortadella-pool-float


    Supra Endura Beeswax Food Wraps: https://www.supraendura.com/products/copy-of-beeswax-food-wrap-in-selva-print-3-pack


    Pura Salsa Macha : https://masienda.com/shop/pura-macha/?sscid=b1k5_gonu6&sscid=b1k5_11agp8


    GE Profile Opal Nugget Ice Maker: https://amzn.to/2ZIkne6


    To Asia, With Love by Hetty McKinnon: https://amzn.to/3xCjMqR

    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 41 Min.
    What’s Stanley Tucci Doing for Thanksgiving?

    What’s Stanley Tucci Doing for Thanksgiving?

    Who but Stanley Tucci could charm us on social media with his Negroni-making skills, eat his way through Italy for a documentary series, and publish a food-heavy memoir all during a global pandemic? He’s had so much going on that we almost forgot that he’s also a Hollywood star. The man/myth/legend gave us his best tips for entertaining in our November issue, and this week on the podcast, he sits down with editor in chief Dawn Davis to chat about his favorite Thanksgiving dishes, the gifts he insists on giving, and the pasta faux-pas that you NEED to avoid. Of course, when it comes to putting on a proper feast, we can’t all be Stanley Tucci—but that doesn’t mean we can’t try. And for the hosts who need the most help, associate food editor Rachel Gurjar is back with a procrastinator’s guide to cooking a Thanksgiving meal.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 

    Menu from Rachel Gurjar’s Thanksgiving “Procrastinator” Newsletter


    Sahara Bohoskey’s Marinated Peppers with Basil and Garlic recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/peperoni


    Justin Lee’s Crunchy Greens With Fat Choy Ranch recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/crunchy-greens-with-fat-choy-ranch


    Gerardo Gonzalez’s Beer-and-Orange-Marinated Roast Chicken recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/beer-and-orange-marinated-roast-chicken


    Cheryl Day’s Pineapple Upside-Down Cake recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pineapple-upside-down-cake-2


    Claire Saffitz’s Fridge-Dive Pesto Pasta recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/fridge-dive-pesto-pasta


    Taste: My Life Through Food by Stanley Tucci: https://www.amazon.com/Taste-My-Life-Through-Food/dp/1982168013?asc_campaign=&asc_source=&asc_refurl=https://www.bonappetit.com/story/stanley-tucci-thanksgiving&ascsubtag=61770ed22aa62461f131c295&linkCode=sl1&tag=bapodcasts-20&linkId=46bc32f8e570b522cba622f8b07d6251&language=en_US&ref_=as_li_ss_tl


    Bon Appétit on what Stanley Tucci is doing for Thanksgiving: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/stanley-tucci-thanksgiving


    Science In the Kitchen and the Art of Eating Well by Pellgrino Artusi: https://www.amazon.com/Science-Kitchen-Lorenzo-Italian-Library/dp/0802086578?hvadid=312031138203&hvpos=&hvnetw=g&hvrand=18077107301282618684&hvpone=&hvptwo=&hvqmt=&hvdev=c&hvdvcmdl=&hvlocint=&hvlocphy=1023191&hvtargid=pla-454049301060&psc=1&linkCode=sl1&tag=bapodcasts-20&linkId=47070fea873e0bf560251f361519cc31&language=en_US&ref_=as_li_ss_tl


    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 30 Min.

Kundenrezensionen

4,8 von 5
11 Bewertungen

11 Bewertungen

Vanjoow ,

Continuously interesting Stuff!

This is my go-to when I get anxiety by being outside or having to be in trains and it always calms me down!

Feels like listening to a conversation from friends talking about a thing they enjoy and love!

Saw a negative comment about Carlas Voice and I couldn’t disagree more!
Carla is Funny and you can hear her passion and genuine interest in the things she talks about!

JonathanSchm ,

Awesome Podcast

Really love listening to these guys thoughts on all things food & cooking.

knicker ,

Was hoping to be into it but...

I don’t think that Carla should be doing the podcast. Her voice sounds like fingernails on a chalkboard. It’s really unsettling to me... pitty!

Top‑Podcasts in Kunst

ARD
NDR
ZEIT ONLINE
Bayerischer Rundfunk
Deutschlandfunk Kultur Hörspielportal
Westdeutscher Rundfunk

Das gefällt dir vielleicht auch

American Public Media
Food52
Milk Street Radio
KCRW
Food52
Cherry Bombe