110 Folgen

Podcast by Frequency Horizon

Frequency Horizon Frequency Horizon

    • Reisen und Orte
    • 5.0 • 1 Bewertung

Podcast by Frequency Horizon

    Episode 111 ~ The Great Venice Reopening

    Episode 111 ~ The Great Venice Reopening

    In this episode we descend on Venice Beach as Los Angeles County slowly starts to open up -- after all its surf spots were closed during the coronavirus pandemic.

    We'll head to the sand as surfers catch their first legal waves, in the process of delivering this one-hour episode to 99.1 Venice Radio, a low-powered underground-minded radio station covering a section of West LA, as they put it, "From the Speedway to the Freeway."

    The music has been specifically curated for the broad spectrum of folks weathering the viral storm in Venice -- everyone from the tech nerds of Silicon Beach, to the oldskool hippies holdin' it down, to the celebs passing through, to the DJs stuck producing and consuming livestreams in their rooms.

    Radio tags courtesy of Leslie Pine @lesliepineapple

    Tracklist:

    The Chemical Brothers “Swoon (Boys Noize summer mix)” @thechemicalbrothers
    Freddie Joachim “Sun Dress” @freddiejoachim
    Bob Marley vs. Funkstar De Luxe “Sun is Shining (radio version)” @bob-marley-the-wailers @funkstardeluxe
    Kings of Tomorrow ft. April “Fall for You (Sandy Rivera’s classic mix)” @kings-of-tomorrow-official @sandy-rivera
    Black Moth Super Rainbow “Boatfriend” @black-moth-super-rainbow
    Witching Waves “Twister” @witching-waves
    Anna Meredith “Nautilus” @annameredith
    Phantoms “Designs for You” @phantoms
    BaBa ZuLa “Cecom” @babazulamusic
    Boards of Canada “Happy Cycling” @boardsofcanada
    The Comet is Coming “Astral Flying” @thecometiscoming
    Whipped Cream “LUV” @whippedcream
    MadRush MC and JOELY “BACKHAND (original mix)” @madrush @joelysexy
    Coco Bryce “Breach the Peace” @cocobrycebeats
    Funkadelic “Maggot Brain” @funkadelic-official
    Grimes & io “Violence” @actuallygrimes @i_oofficial

    • 1 Std.
    Episode 110 ~ Outlaw Oceanic

    Episode 110 ~ Outlaw Oceanic

    The Outlaw Ocean, Ian Urbina's book of New York Times investigative reporting about the lawless seas, is arguably the most thorough account to date of the seedy side of ocean life.

    We're dedicating the entire episode to highlighting the themes behind those stories, playing tracks released as part of the Outlaw Ocean Music Project, which taps producers of house, ambient, drum n' bass, dubstep -- and beyond -- to give this oceanic reporting an additional dimension.

    Grab your galoshes and pirate bandanas – or your reporter notebooks if you prefer – because, we’re about to set sail.

    Learn more: https://www.theoutlawocean.com/
    The Outlaw Ocean on Soundcloud: @user-336761701
    Audiobook - The Outlaw Ocean: Journeys Across the Last Untamed Frontier https://www.amazon.com/Outlaw-Ocean-Journeys-Untamed-Frontier/dp/B07TSQQ81H

    Tracklist >
    Music Segment 1 -
    Muffler “Slave Labour” @djmuffler
    Adaptiv “Last Call” @adaptiv-music
    AKA AKA “Rainbow Warriors” @aka-aka

    **Interview segment 1**
    (Bed Music: Lemongrass “Esperanza” @lemongrassofficial + Hosini “110 Days” @hosini)

    Music Segment 2 -
    Bad Tuner “Adelaide’s Voyage” @bad-tuner
    DDay One “Better Future” @ddayone

    **Interview with Bernardo de la Torre**
    (Bed Music: DJ Taz Rashid “Wild Ocean”)
    Tristan & Bernie "Fish Farm Gold River" @bernieff

    **Interview Segment 2**
    (Bed Music: Hosini “Crash Zone” @hosini + Kettel “Lawless Place” @kettelmusic)

    Music Segment 3 -
    Fraunhofer Diffraction “The Sense of Urgency” @ivoryrite
    Petey Mac “Peaceful Protest” @djpeteymac
    Radiology “Storming the Thunder” @radiologymusic

    **Interview Segment 3**
    (Bed music: Louis Futon “Bottom of the Ocean” @louisfuton)

    Music Segment 4 -
    Muffler “Slow-Motion Slaughter” @djmuffler
    Shanti People “Protection” @shanti_people

    **Interview Segment 4**
    (Bed music: Dday One “Will to Survive” @ddayone + TEKKLA “Waste Away” @soundsoftekkla)

    Music Segment 5
    Tinlicker “The Tide” @tinlicker
    Boogie Belgique “Bunker” @boogiebelgique

    **Interview with Sagar Singh Bisht**
    (Bed music: Subsets “A Void” @subsets + Trifonic “A Void” @trifonic)
    Frequency Horizon "Kshitij (feat. Jamie Cowling)"

    Music Segment 6
    Truth “Voids” @truthdubstep

    **Interview Segment 6**
    (Bed music: Tinlicker “Fisherman” @tinlicker)

    Final songs:
    Jeriqo “Empty Waves” @jeriqo-music
    tyDi “For the First Time” @tydi

    Theme: @Nasoshnik "Carve it Up"

    • 2 Std
    Episode 109 ~ Return 2 LA - COVID-19 Radio Drama, Oscar Nominees, On the Frontlines at Lockdown

    Episode 109 ~ Return 2 LA - COVID-19 Radio Drama, Oscar Nominees, On the Frontlines at Lockdown

    To complete our re-launch trilogy, we have an action-packed episode ushering us back to Los Angeles just as the coronavirus forces us to rethink everything.

    We process the new reality with a sci-fi radio play, a neurofunk tribute, a conversation with documentarians of the Syrian conflict, and on-the-ground interviews as LA's stay-at-home order goes into effect.

    COVID-19 Radio Drama > Pt.1 0:00 > Pt. 2 - 36:19 > Pt. 3 - 1:28:42
    Written by: Drew Penner and Jason Bowers.
    Performed by: Leslie Pine (Esmerelda), Drew Penner (Dom), and Jason Bowers (Rick).

    Interview with the For Sama team -- Waad Al-Kateab, Edward Watts and Hamza Al-Khateab -- who ended up getting nominated for a best documentary Oscar, shortly after I met them. 58:19

    On the Frontlines > Emma 21:04 > Amanda 47:30 > Spanish Speaker 1:23:00

    Mini-mix homage to Virus Recordings 50:28

    Cover Art "The Journey" by Nancy Wood (which was actually inspired by the coronavirus landscape) http://www.nancywoodartanddesign.com/

    Paula (Ricarda) Freitag reconsiders the value of art in the midst of a pandemic that's made the world topsy-turvy. > 1:39:15
    https://paulafreitag.wordpress.com/

    Theme by Nasoshnik
    #GetMorePlays

    Episode 109 Tracklist:

    Theme: Nasoshnik “Carve it Up”

    Roy of the Ravers @acidwaxa “Abstract Ibiza”
    Ardalan @ardalann “Lifted feat Claire George”
    Royksopp @royksopp “Were You Ever Wanted”
    Incl. s/o to parkour dude Lucas Pearson https://www.instagram.com/lucas_pearson_parkour/

    Lyft segment includes Alien Air Music @alien-air-music https://kxlu.com/dj/alien-air-music/ and then Travis Holcombe of @kcrw in the background https://www.kcrw.com/music/shows/travis-holcombe

    Mall Grab @mallgrab “Bust”
    Maribou State @mariboustate “Feel Good feat. Khruangbin” @khruangbin
    Current Value @tim-e-aka-current-value “Dark Rain”

    Neurofunk minimix:
    Ed Rush @edrush & Optical @deejayoptical “No Cure feat. Ryme Tyme”
    Ed Rush & Optical “The Medicine”
    Ed Rush & Optical “The Host”

    Lake Haze @lakehaze “Dog Walking in the Park”
    Wajatta @wajatta “Don’t Let Get You Down”
    Lealani @lealanisbeats “Floating”

    Instituto Mexicano del Sonido @instituto-mexicano-del-s “Mirando a las muchachas”
    Moy @moy “Wisdom Track”
    Bella Boo @bella-boo “Barak”

    Luxora Major @luxora-major “Precursor”

    Keaton Henson @keatonhensondear “Field”

    Track of the Week: Jack Boston @bostondnb “The Place feat. Vanity Jay”

    Jade Cicada @jadecicada “Komorebi”
    Kove @kove “Le Retour”
    Love Regenerator @calvinharris “Hypnagogic”
    Psychemagik @psychemagik “Triumph of the Gods”

    • 2 Std
    Episode 108 ~ Quebec pt.2 - Hitchhiking Filmmaker, Piknic Électronik, Brasserie Noise Artist Convo

    Episode 108 ~ Quebec pt.2 - Hitchhiking Filmmaker, Piknic Électronik, Brasserie Noise Artist Convo

    We continue the adventure through Quebec, stopping at a U-Pick farm outside Montreal (22:22) to interview documentarian Chloé Gayraud, making a cameo at Piknic Électronik downtown (30:45), and interviewing experimental noise artist Tom Jacques (1:29:52) at an underground brasserie in Rimouski.

    Cover: A Touch of Gold by Nancy Wood
    Theme: Nasoshnik
    #GetMorePlays

    Tracklist:
    Dwig @dwig "From There to Here"
    Naibu @naibu “Just Let It”
    Monk.E @monk_e “High on Life”
    Flavien Berger @flavienberger “Ocean Rouge”
    Claire Laffut @clairelaffut-music “Vérité”
    Les Cowboys Fringants @lescowboysfringants - “La Manifestation”
    Les Respectables @les-respectables “Hola Decadance”
    Akufen @aku-en “Skidoos”
    Church of the Undecided @churchoftheundecided “Sea Level”
    Rone @rone-music “Memory”
    London Elektricity @londonelek “Elektricity Will Keep Me Warm”
    Bop x Subwave @bop “Take it Off”
    Joseph Edgar @joseph-edgar “Espionne Russe”
    Tryo @tryo “Serre-moi”
    Tchami @iamtchami “Ghosts feat. Hanna”
    Kid Francescoli @kidfrancescoli “I Don’t Know How (French 79 remix)”
    The Blaze @the-blaze-official “Territory”
    Cassius @cassiusofficial “I Love You So (Skream remix)”
    A-Trak @a-trak & Friend Within @friendwithin “Blaze”
    Polo & Pan @polo-pan “Canopée”
    Frequency Horizon @frequencyhorizon “Red-Orange Forest”
    The Clamps @the-clamps “I Feel”
    Jean Leloup “I lost my baby”
    Caribou @caribouband “Sister”
    Tanya Tagaq @tanya-tagaq “Hypothermia”
    Tycho @tycho “Into the Woods”
    Magical Clouds @majical-cloudz “Downtown (Alex Cruz @alexcruz & Brascon @brascon remix)”

    • 2 Std
    Episode 107 ~ Quebec Pt.1 - Hot Air Balloons, Art Chat w/ Grammy-nom'd Producer, Reggae Radio

    Episode 107 ~ Quebec Pt.1 - Hot Air Balloons, Art Chat w/ Grammy-nom'd Producer, Reggae Radio

    There's a lot of ground to cover in Ep. 107. We'll ride in a hot air balloon, chat with a Grammy-nominated producer consider recording rules, and meet a reggae broadcaster navigating the opaque nature of social media.

    Art Chat w/ Jay Paul Bicknell - 18:23

    Hot Air Ballooning - 53:56
    (co-produced by Valerie Brassard-Lepage)

    Pirate Reggae Radio - 1:36:45 with KDLR Keep Di Link Radio https://www.facebook.com/KeepDiLinkRadio/
    Cameo by Mounfou @moun-fou-exclusif https://open.spotify.com/artist/36MmQWR2PeHfHEbF1DQ0pl

    Cover Art: "What Comes Into Your Mind" by Nancy Wood http://www.nancywoodartanddesign.com/ or on Twitter (twitter.com/nancywoodart1).

    Cold Open Music by Josh Hannigan (Weapons of Orion) https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJSXD3_gUmsgFqMx2BqQVfQ
    Theme: @nasoshnik

    Music portrayed in this episode included as part of a non-profit journalistic storytelling podcast. If you like any of the music you hear in this episode please follow the artist and purchase the original.

    Oliver Tree - Miracle Man (Zeds Dead remix)
    @olivertree @zedsdead https://open.spotify.com/track/0ijiuWyVbNzg6Kw1Z1BVb8?autoplay=true&v=T

    Zero - Pay for Thrills (Bonkers bootleg)
    @zero_uk Free download: https://hypeddit.com/track/3ixvxq
    Based on Dizzee Rascal and Armand Van Helden's "Bonkers (club mix)"
    @dizzee-rascal @armandvanhelden
    https://open.spotify.com/track/5XL2qory4ze1CaTeqjto8R

    DJ Zinc - Glitter (feat. Mackie G)
    @zinc
    https://www.beatport.com/track/glitter-original-mix/12345674

    Floating Points - LesAlpx
    @floatingpoints
    https://floatingpoints.lnk.to/crushSo

    Lyft Segment with JP and CJ features Mario Cotto's KCRW radio show in the background
    (@mariocotto @kcrw https://www.kcrw.com/music/shows/mario-cotto/latest-show), then The Gonks "I'm a Lonely Night Driver" (@thegonks)
    https://open.spotify.com/track/1Bc6P1xvMclkRAVLngUSOb?autoplay=true&v=T

    Hot Chip - Melody of Love (Adelphi Music Factory remix)
    @hot_chip @adelphimusicfactory
    https://www.beatport.com/release/melody-of-love-adelphi-music-factory-time-to-bring-peace-remix/2669056

    Four Tet - Dreamer
    @four-tet https://fourtet.bandcamp.com/track/dreamer

    Koan Sound - Vivid
    @koan-sound https://awal.lnk.to/D55wF

    Ore - Vacances
    @oremusique (music vid: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hfCPq1X5XHA) Listen/download: https://warner.link/eporeAYC

    Clay and Friends - Sweat and Smokes
    @clayandfriends
    https://open.spotify.com/album/7lrzhKzQST8GyHoR7MAsiG?highlight=spotify:track:5HMWTWIwg22WPZwibisIth

    Rone - So So So
    @rone-music
    https://rone-music.bandcamp.com/album/so-so-so

    Joy Electric - 5. November, 1917: At Last, an Atlas
    2. October, 1783: The Romantic Balloons
    @joy-electric-official
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_8QwTaCfENo
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=64eLL0XKonk
    https://www.discogs.com/Joy-Electric-Montgolfier-And-The-Romantic-Balloons/release/578885

    SNAILS - Frogbass
    @officialsnails
    https://www.beatport.com/track/frogbass-original-mix/12050066

    Amon Tobin - One Shy Morning
    @amon-tobin
    https://open.spotify.com/track/30zHG1RPu4dkwY0ilvxNnE?autoplay=true&v=T

    Serge Gainsbourg - Cargo Culte
    @serge-gainsbourg
    https://www.amazon.com/Lhistoire-Melody-Nelson-Serge-Gainsbourg/dp/B000SFP5YS

    Quebec Redneck Bluegrass Project - Van de Loup
    https://www.facebook.com/quebecredneck/
    https://open.spotify.com/track/5OwHirCtBhazW8Jya9MC0J?autoplay=true&v=T

    Louise Attaque - J't'emmène au Vent
    @louise-attaque-official
    https://open.spotify.com/track/4NOaF01XFNjNGJ0CiOC1CQ

    Salut C'est Cool - Le Cassoulet (ft. Moyen Age)
    @salut-cest-cool
    Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uMQp0lnRZ94
    https://idol.lnk.to/Maison

    DJ Boom of Keep Di Link Radio shouts out @gmc-music-productions during our long-form chat.

    Grimes - 4ÆM
    @actuallygrimes
    https://open.spotify.com/track/0cAGNiWXRAXX1QKn3Ssbzd?autoplay=true&v=T
    https://grimes.ffm.to/missanthropocene

    #GetMorePlays

    • 2 Std
    Episode 106 ~ RÜFÜS DU SOL Interview, Festival RIP Dispatch + 1st NPR Words

    Episode 106 ~ RÜFÜS DU SOL Interview, Festival RIP Dispatch + 1st NPR Words

    This time 'round we feature a longform interview with Coachella headliners RÜFÜS DU SOL...

    13:31 - Rufus Du Sol interview
    1:18:37 – Unique "RIP dispatch" from Desert Hearts 2019 music fest for my grandfather
    1:37:20 - First “cut copy” broadcast on KCRW in Los Angeles.

    Read my full article with Rufus du Sol and see an amazing photoshoot in the pages of Flaunt magazine:
    https://www.flaunt.com/store/issue-165

    Tracklist >>>

    Bassnectar & Hailo “Irresistible Force (Reflective Part 4)”
    http://smarturl.it/reflective4

    Marie Davidson “Work It (Soulwax Remix)”
    https://mariedavidson.bandcamp.com/album/work-it-soulwax-remix

    Zheani “The Question”
    https://zheani.lnk.to/THELINE

    Rufus Du Sol “Innerbloom”
    https://sweatitout.lnk.to/bloom

    Rufus Du Sol “Sun Dream”
    http://smarturl.it/DesertNightEP

    Nicholas Jaar - “I Never Dream” from the Against All Logic album
    https://store.other-people.net/music/artist/71352-against-all-logic

    Sub Focus & Dimension “Desire”
    https://subfocus.lnk.to/Desire?utm_source=youtube.com&utm_medium=referral

    Rufus du Sol “Until the Sun Needs to Rise”
    https://www.amazon.com/Until-Sun-Needs-Rise/dp/B01APT6JKA

    Rufus du Sol “New Sky”
    https://rufusdusol.lnk.to/solace

    Rufus du Sol “Lost in My Mind”
    https://rufusdusol.lnk.to/Solace

    Tycho “Easy”
    https://tycho.lnk.to/weatherYo

    Spooky “Schmoo”
    https://open.spotify.com/track/12l2Y9ri6cbd8IrdTO4in9?autoplay=true&v=T

    Moonbootica “June”
    https://open.spotify.com/track/168dBkZoPSdAa8ZVqP6qvH?autoplay=true&v=T

    Eliminate “Weeble Wobble”
    http://classic.beatport.com/track/weeble-wobble-original-mix/11656722

    1:18:37 – Unique tribute to my grandfather who figured in Episode 105 (https://soundcloud.com/frequencyhorizon/episode-105-midnight-criminal-pickup-pair-of-originals-parking-lot-rap) and Episode 56 (https://soundcloud.com/frequencyhorizon/episode-56-grandma-im-in-jail-digital-advertising-world-car-in-the-ditch)

    Kincaid & Sinal “Long Haul Flight Bathroom Romance Scene”
    https://www.beatport.com/release/long-haul-ep/2096692

    Alix Perez “Melodrama”
    https://lnk.bio/pMhY

    1:37:20 - My first “cut copy” read out on Los Angeles airwaves during NPR member station KCRW’s All Things Considered broadcast on May 15, 2019 (read by host Larry Perel).

    UMEK “Brethren”
    https://www.beatport.com/track/brethren-original-mix/11664212

    Off the Meds “Belter (Joy O Belly Mix)”
    http://smarturl.it/offthemedsbelter

    Bangkok Impact “Aspirin”
    https://cremeorganization.bandcamp.com/album/aspirin-junge-dame-cro-12-03

    Jean-Jacques Perrey “EVA”
    https://open.spotify.com/track/4nQNNwnIUUmFzVOcVVJCk1?autoplay=true&v=T

    • 2 Std 1 Min.

Kundenrezensionen

5.0 von 5
1 Bewertung

1 Bewertung

Top‑Podcasts in Reisen und Orte