165 Folgen

Learning how the contemporary visual art world works, one conversation at a time. How does the visual art world work? I don’t know either, so I will ask the people that work in the industry and try to learn how the contemporary visual art world functions and hopefully be able to take their insight and experiences and learn how we can make a living in the artworld.

The Wise Foo‪l‬ Fifty14

    • Bildende Kunst
    • 5.0 • 1 Bewertung

Learning how the contemporary visual art world works, one conversation at a time. How does the visual art world work? I don’t know either, so I will ask the people that work in the industry and try to learn how the contemporary visual art world functions and hopefully be able to take their insight and experiences and learn how we can make a living in the artworld.

    Co-founders of Assembly, Ashlyn Davis Burns + Shane Lavalette (USA)

    Co-founders of Assembly, Ashlyn Davis Burns + Shane Lavalette (USA)

    We discuss:



    - blending together a gallery, agency, and creative studio



    - looking to fix broken parts of the art world



    - a holistic approach to the needs of artists



    - grant funding



    - how they choose artists to work with



    - the importance of community



    - advocacy and ethics in photography



    - is there still need for a photographic 'style'?



    - the importance of authenticity



     



    4 artist that inspire them:

    Pacifico Silano - https://www.pacificosilano.com

    Fumi Ishino - http://fumiishino.com

    Alejandro Cartagena - https://alejandrocartagena.com

    Vasantha Yogananthan - https://vasanthayogananthan.com



     



    https://assembly.art



     



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    http://matthewdols.com

    Supported in part by:

    EEA Grants from Iceland, Liechtenstein + Norway

    https://eeagrants.org



    and we appreciate the assistance of our partners in this project:

    Hunt Kastner – https://huntkastner.com

    Kunstsentrene i Norge – https://www.kunstsentrene.no

    • 1 Std. 11 Min.
    Textile + Multi Media Artist, Petra Gupta Valentová (Czech Republic, India + USA)

    Textile + Multi Media Artist, Petra Gupta Valentová (Czech Republic, India + USA)

    We discuss:

    - the importance of relationships in her work



    - having a multi cultural work, life, and family



    - the need for more ethical practices in art



    - post colonial aesthetics



    - the importance of collaboration and empathy in her work



    - trying to remove the ego from art



    - advocacy for women artists



    - gentrification



    - her cookbook as artistic performance



    - storing her artwork



    - Indian food



     



    People + Places mentioned:

    Františka Ševčíková Gilman - http://huntkastner.com/exhibitions/past/frantiska-and-tim-gilman-i-have-a-window-i-see-and-i-forget-_-118-10102011/

    Pavel Kraus - http://www.pavelkraus.com

    Hanka Poislová - https://www.facebook.com/hanka.poislova

    Indigo Blue Dyeing in India - https://www.unesco.de/en/culture-and-nature/indigo-blue-dyeing

    Danzinger blueprint - https://www.modrotisk-danzinger.cz

    Strážnický modrotisk - https://www.straznicky-modrotisk.cz

    Kathleen Vance / Front Room Gallery - https://www.frontroomles.com

    Rhombus Space - http://www.rhombusspace.com

    Katerina Lanfranco - https://www.katerinalanfranco.com

    Sámi - https://www.visitfinland.com/article/meet-the-sami-finlands-indigenous-people/#39df4264

    Monica Moisin - https://www.culturalintellectualproperty.com

    Jeremy Fritzhand - https://www.studiobagru.com

    Mahila Prints - https://www.culturalintellectualproperty.com/mahila-prints



     



    3 noteworthy creatives:

    Anita Shapolsky Gallery - https://anitashapolskygallery.com

    Samanta Batra Mehta - https://samantabatramehta.com

    Jodie Lyn-Kee-Chow - https://www.jodielynkeechow.com



     



    https://petravalentova.wordpress.com



    https://www.imprintedstory.com



     



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    http://matthewdols.com

     

    Supported in part by: EEA Grants from Iceland, Liechtenstein + Norway

    https://eeagrants.org

    a href="https://eeagrants.

    • 1 Std. 7 Min.
    Action + Multimedia Artist, Lumír Hladík (Canada + Czech Republic)

    Action + Multimedia Artist, Lumír Hladík (Canada + Czech Republic)

    We discussed:



    - What it means to be a professional artist

    - Being rediscovered after decades

    - Everything influences everything

    - Speaking the language of things

    - what is art?

    - the art system

    - being a late bloomer

    - the need for time and distance

    - fleeing communism in 1981

    - his connection to nature

    - including randomness and chance in art making

    - biointervention art

    - interspecies art

    - cult of personality

    - the algorithm

    - envying your younger self

    - viewers being impressed by tediousness

    - buying immortality



     



    People + Places mentioned:

    Catacomb saints - https://dirtysexyhistory.com/2020/01/07/divine-inspiration-how-romes-unknown-dead-became-catacomb-saints/



    James Hampton - The Throne of the Third Heaven of the Nations’ Millennium General Assembly - https://americanart.si.edu/artwork/throne-third-heaven-nations-millennium-general-assembly-9897



    Pavlína Morganová, Czech Action Art: Happenings, Actions, Events, Land Art, Body Art and Performance Art Behind the Iron Curtain - https://www.amazon.com/Czech-Action-Art-Happenings-Performance/dp/802462317X



    National Film Archive, Czech Republic - https://nfa.cz



    Gallery1718 - Veronika Holcová, Pavel Hrnčíř - https://www.gallery1718.ca



    Roman Buxbaum



    Petr Rezek



     



    People who inspired him:

    Jiří Kovanda

    Karel Miler - https://www.memoryofnations.eu/en/miler-karel-1940

    Joseph Beuys - https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/joseph-beuys-747

    Master Theodoric - https://www.malmecc.eu/master-theodoric-court-painter-of-prague/

    Dennis Oppenheim - https://www.dennisaoppenheim.org

    Lucian Freud - https://imma.ie/artists/lucian-freud/

    Eva Hesse - https://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/eva-hesse-1280



     



    Contemporary artist whom he likes:

    Terry Hoff - http://www.terryhoff.com

    Ben Schumacher - https://www.saatchigallery.com/artist/ben_schumacher



     



    where to look to see his art:

    http://lumir.ca

    http://corridor213.ca

    http://nevan.gallery

    http://darrengallery.com



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    • 1 Std. 25 Min.
    Art Collector + Historian, Sveva D'antonio, Collezione Taurisano (Naples, Italy)

    Art Collector + Historian, Sveva D'antonio, Collezione Taurisano (Naples, Italy)

    We discuss:

    - Having an art collection is like having a child

    - the barrier to entry in the art world

    - the detrimental fast pace of the art world

    - quality vs quantity

    - her wish that the art world would put artists in the center

    - ecological concerns in the art world

    - artist statements

    - Art Criticism

    - our dislike of the words nice and cute

    - self-segregation in the arts

    - how they choose to purchase art for their collection

    - the importance of being ethical in your collecting of art

    - collectors gossip to other collectors

    - Legacy planning for art collectors

    - how to work with art advisors



     



    People + Places mentioned:

    Museo di Capodimonte - http://www.museocapodimonte.beniculturali.it/information-en/

    Jean-Luc Godard - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jean-Luc_Godard

    Lucio Amelio - https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lucio_Amelio

    Phillips Auction House - https://www.phillips.com/

    Because of many suns - https://www.collezionetaurisano.art/collezione-taurisano--because-of-many-suns.html

    Carolina Ciuti - https://www.instagram.com/caro16caro

    Leigh Ledare - https://leighledare.com/

    Claire Fontaine - https://www.clairefontaine.ws/



     



    Noteworthy artists:

    Apparatus 22 - https://www.suprainfinit.com/works/8

    Zandile Tshabalala - https://www.ada-accra.com/exhibitions/11-zandile-tshabalala-enter-paradise/overview/

    Victoria Vincenzina Nunley - http://www.vvnunley.com



     



    https://www.collezionetaurisano.art



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    http://www.matthewdols.com

    Supported in part by:

    EEA Grants from Iceland, Liechtenstein + Norway

    https://eeagrants.org



    and we appreciate the assistance of our partners in this project:

    Hunt Kastner – https://huntkastner.com

    Kunstsentrene i Norge – https://www.kunstsentrene.no

    • 1 Std. 33 Min.
    Photographer, Educator, Founder + Editor-in-Chief of LENSCRATCH, Aline Smithson (California, USA)

    Photographer, Educator, Founder + Editor-in-Chief of LENSCRATCH, Aline Smithson (California, USA)

    We discussed:



    - portfolio reviews

    - constructive criticism

    - photography workshops

    - using humor in art

    - being subversion with social media

    - cultivating a younger generation of art collectors

    - unique photographic work

    - legacy planning

    - the importance of knowing who you are as an artist



     



    People + Places mentioned:

    John Baldessari

    Edward Ruscha

    Wayne White - https://www.waynewhiteart.com/

    Catherine Edelman Gallery - https://www.edelmangallery.com



     



    3 artists she recommends:

    Raymond Thompson, Jr. - http://www.raymondthompsonjr.com

    Sandra Klein - https://www.sandrakleinportfolio.com

    Jon Henry - https://www.jonhenryphotography.com



     



    http://alinesmithson.com



    http://lenscratch.com



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    http://www.matthewdols.com

    Supported in part by:

    EEA Grants from Iceland, Liechtenstein + Norway

    https://eeagrants.org



    and we appreciate the assistance of our partners in this project:

    Hunt Kastner – https://huntkastner.com

    Kunstsentrene i Norge – https://www.kunstsentrene.no

    • 1 Std.
    Painter + Entrepreneur, Ashley Longshore (New Orleans, LA, USA)

    Painter + Entrepreneur, Ashley Longshore (New Orleans, LA, USA)

    We discuss:

    - Different definitions of success

    - Being a brand

    - The art world can have her when she is dead

    - Money and power does not make you happy

    - The need for goals

    - Pricing your work

    - Her philanthropy

    - Laws of economics

    - Having gratitude

    - Learning from partnerships

    - Living with anxiety

    - Self limitations

    - Collectors want to create relationship with living artists

    - Being an art collector

    - The need to find your audience



     



    People + Places mentioned:

    Marc Dennis - https://marcdennis.com

    Erika Lee Sears - http://www.atinyrocket.com

    Nora Martin - https://noramartinhall.com



    3 artist that need more recognition:

    Big Chief Demond Melancon of the Young Seminole Hunters - https://www.demondmelancon.com

    Andrew Alford - https://www.andrewalforddesign.com

    Emanuel De Sousa - https://www.emanueldesousa.com

    Tiffanie Turner - http://www.papelsf.com



     



    https://www.ashleylongshore.com/



     

    Hosted by Matthew Dols

    http://www.matthewdols.com

    Supported in part by:

    EEA Grants from Iceland, Liechtenstein + Norway

    https://eeagrants.org



    and we appreciate the assistance of our partners in this project:

    Hunt Kastner – https://huntkastner.com

    Kunstsentrene i Norge – https://www.kunstsentrene.no

    • 50 Min.

Kundenrezensionen

5.0 von 5
1 Bewertung

1 Bewertung

Top‑Podcasts in Bildende Kunst