26 episodes

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

Northern Stage Theatre Podcast Northern Stage

    • Performing Arts

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

    EP.26 - Actor to director with Maria Crocker

    EP.26 - Actor to director with Maria Crocker

    This week on the Northern Stage’s podcast. we talk to theatre director and actor Maria Crocker. Maria tells us about the transition from actor to director, working at the National Theatre, getting boxer as a career option, and making theatre like Gogglebox. It's a thoroughly whizzy hour.

    Recorded on Monday 12th October 2020.

    Download the transcript here.

    Notes

    Maria Crocker on Twitter: twitter.com/maria_crocker

    Rachel Chavkin: http://theteamplays.org/about/core-company/rachel-chavkin/

    The Team: http://theteamplays.org/

    JMK Trust: https://www.jmktrust.org/

    Hadestown: https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/shows/hadestown

    Greyscale Theatre Company: https://www.greyscale.org.uk/

    Pinocchio: https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/shows/pinocchio

    John Tiffany: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Tiffany

    Mood Music: https://www.oldvictheatre.com/whats-on/2018/mood-music

    Headlong: https://headlong.co.uk/

    The Letter Room: http://www.theletterroomtheatre.co.uk/

    • 57 min
    EP. 25 - Solo theatre making with Luca Rutherford

    EP. 25 - Solo theatre making with Luca Rutherford

    This week we talk to writer, performer, and water drinking human Luca Rutherford. We chat about being a solo maker and how many people that requires, reading and not reading books and apple and cinnamon pancakes. It’s a properly great hour with a properly great person. Give it a listen.

    Download the transcript here.

    Notes

    Audre Lorde - https://alp.org/about/audre

    Linda Bloomfield blog - https://www.lindajbloomfield.com/news-and-blog/the-value-of-theatre-and-some-other-thoughts

    Tanuja Amarasuriya - http://sleepdogs.org/

    Melanie Wilson - https://melaniewilson.org.uk/

    Bethany Wells - http://cargocollective.com/bethanywells

    Jenni Jackson - https://www.jenniferjackson.net/

    Maria Crocker - https://twitter.com/maria_crocker

    Lizzie J Klotz - https://www.lizziejklotz.co.uk/

    Camisado Club: https://www.camisadoclub.co.uk/ 

    Luca's details: twitter: LucaRutherford | Instagram: luca_rutherford | website: www.luca-rutherford.co.uk

    • 54 min
    EP.24 - BRASH Theatre with Bethan Kitchen

    EP.24 - BRASH Theatre with Bethan Kitchen

    This week on the Northern Stage Theatre Podcast, we talk to Bethan Kitchen from BRASH Theatre. BRASH make bold educational theatre for teenagers and make sex education relevant, political, and unafraid. Bethan & Mark discuss creating noise around issues that regularly get ignored, empowering young people to make decisions for themselves, the juggling act of running a company, and Married at First Sight Australia. It’s eclectic and that is a wonderful thing. Give it a listen.

    Recorded on Monday 21st September 2020. 

    Download the transcript here.

    Notes

    BRASH Theatre website: https://www.brashtheatre.co.uk/

    Raising Shame: https://www.brashtheatre.co.uk/raising-shame

    Streetwise: https://www.streetwisenorth.org.uk/

    Roma Yagnik: https://www.romayagnik.co.uk/

    Byker Audio Stories: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/Pages/FAQs/Category/byker-audio-stories

    Married at First Sight Australia: https://www.channel4.com/programmes/married-at-first-sight-australia

    • 51 min
    EP.23 - Scenography with Anna Robinson

    EP.23 - Scenography with Anna Robinson

    The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is back, back, back! This week, we talk to Anna Robinson a freelance Stage Designer/Sceneographer.  We talk about the myriad of skills needed to take an idea from a director's head and fully realise it with time constraints, multiple relationships to manage and all of the time making sure that you produce something remarkable for audiences to enjoy. 

    Anna also talks about working on Scene Change - a community of theatre designers taking action for theatre - and setting up the North East Theatre Creative Network.

    It’s a totally fascinating hour. Give it a listen.

    Download the transcript here.

    Notes

    Anna Robinson: https://arobinsonscene.com/ 

    Young Company: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/Pages/Category/young-people-16-21

    Hackney Empire: https://hackneyempire.co.uk/ 

    Peter Brooks 11 & 12: https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2010/feb/11/11-and-12-review 

    The Secret Theatre: https://secrettheatre.com/

    A Streetcar Named Desire: https://lyrictheatre.co.uk/event/a-streetcar-named-desire/

    Rhys Jarman: https://rhysjarman.com/

    Gecko Theatre: https://www.geckotheatre.com/

    The Wedding: https://www.geckotheatre.com/the-wedding 

    Peter Brook: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Peter_Brook

    Scene Change: https://www.scene-change.com/

    Scene Change at Northern Stage: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/news/designers-continue-to-wrap-theatres-in-message-of-hope

    You're Dead To Me Podcast: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p07mdbhg/episodes/downloads

    National Geographic Tutankhamoon: https://www.disneyplus.com/en-gb/series/tuts-treasures-hidden-secrets/3vX7PKSXJd09

    Disney Plus Imagineering Story: https://www.disneyplus.com/en-gb/series/the-imagineering-story/6ryoXv1e1rWW

    Malcolm Gladwell's Talking To Strangers: https://www.amazon.com/Talking-Strangers-Should-about-People-ebook/dp/B07NDKVWZW

    • 58 min
    EP.22 - Tyne & Wear Cultural Freelancers with Leila D'Aronville

    EP.22 - Tyne & Wear Cultural Freelancers with Leila D'Aronville

    This week's episode of the Northern Stage Podcast is a must-listen for any cultural freelancers, or anyone looking to get into freelancing, or anyone who just likes a really good podcast chat. The amazing Leila D'Aronville talks about setting up the community group Tyne & Wear Cultural Freelancers, how she got into freelancing herself, her work at Sage Gateshead, and with many other great cultural initiatives, as well as appearing in front of the House of Lords, and a top tip for a great Vegan Cheesecake.

    It's a simply marvelous hour of podcast goodness. Have a listen.

    Download the transcript here.

    Notes

    Tyne & Wear Cultural Freelancers: https://www.facebook.com/groups/culturalfreelancers

    Leila D'Aronville on Twitter: https://twitter.com/dangerville?s=20

    Bretton Hall: https://www.bretton-hall.com/

    Sage Gateshead: sagegateshead.com

    Mongrel UK: https://www.facebook.com/MongrelUK/

    Bridge North East: http://www.bridgenortheast.com/

    Northern Roots: https://northern-roots.org.uk/

    Asunder: https://www.1418now.org.uk/commissions/asunder/

    Freedom City: https://www.ncl.ac.uk/press/articles/archive/2018/04/freedomcityexhibition/

    Jumpin Hot Club: http://www.jumpinhot.com/

    Journal Culture Awards: https://www.chroniclelive.co.uk/whats-on/arts-culture-news/journal-gazette-culture-awards-2020-17668227

    Wor Culture: https://forms.ncl.ac.uk/view.php?id=8390560

    Arts Council: https://www.artscouncil.org.uk/

    Department of Culture Media & Sport (DCMS): https://www.gov.uk/government/organisations/department-for-digital-culture-media-sport

    What's Next? Young Vic: https://www.whatnextculture.co.uk/chapters/young-vic/

    The Cumberland Arms: http://www.thecumberlandarms.co.uk/

    Simply Cheesecake: https://www.facebook.com/simplycheesecake.co.uk/

    Mean Eyed Cat: https://www.meaneyedcat.co.uk/

    The Cluny: https://thecluny.com/

    Dynasty: https://www.netflix.com/gb/title/80179394

    Buffy The Vampire Slayer: https://www.channel4.com/programmes/buffy-the-vampire-slayer

    • 1 hr
    EP.21 - The Six Twenty with Melanie Rashbrooke & Steven Blackshaw

    EP.21 - The Six Twenty with Melanie Rashbrooke & Steven Blackshaw

    This week on the Northern Stage Theatre Podcast, we have a conversation with two members of the Artistic & Creative Team behind theatre company The Six Twenty - Artistic Director Melanie Rashbrooke and Project Coordinator Steven Blackshaw.  Melanie & Steven talk about setting fire to what theatre can be by turning it into an experience that begins well before the curtain rises and long after it drops and making head-banging new theatre for a good night out.

    Just like The Six Twenty's programme, this isn’t a sit down shut up podcast. It should be enjoyed at maximum volume.
    Transcript available here.

    Notes

    The Six Twenty: https://thesixtwenty.com/

    The Six Twenty Current Shows: Redcoat, Busy, Mixtape, The Breakfast Club & Club Six Twenty: https://thesixtwenty.com/current/

    The Six Twenty Past Shows: Fans, Breakfast Heart/Choirplay & Hamlet: https://thesixtwenty.com/past-shows-events/

    The Newbridge Project: https://thenewbridgeproject.com/

    Live Theatre: https://www.live.org.uk/

    gobscure: https://gobscure.wixsite.com/info

    Coracle: https://mattjamie1.wixsite.com/coracle

    Alphabetti: https://www.alphabettitheatre.co.uk/

    The Paper Birds Theatre Company: https://www.thepaperbirds.com/

    Summer Streets Festival: https://www.facebook.com/SummerStreetsFestival/

    GIFT Festival: https://www.giftfestival.co.uk/

    The Sims: https://www.ea.com/en-gb/games/the-sims

    The Awkward Yeti: https://theawkwardyeti.com/

    Story of my F******* Life: https://www.instagram.com/storyofmyfuckinglife/?hl=en

    GrownUpLand: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p05ys9yl

    Off The Menu: https://www.offmenupodcast.co.uk/

    Louis Theroux Podcast: https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p089sfrz/episodes/downloads

    • 1 hr 2 min

Top Podcasts In Performing Arts