300 episodios

As a boy, Nathan Penlington had loved Choose Your Own Adventures, the literary phenomenon of the 1980s which thrust the reader into the role of main character and compelled them to make decisions and direct the flow of the story. So, when he discovered a job lot of the first 106 adventures for sale on eBay, there was never any question that he would place a bid. When the books arrived, he lost himself in the old adventures.
Yet, as he flicked through the pages, there was another story being written - for, in the margins of each book, were the scribblings of the little boy who had once owned them, a little boy by the name of Terence John Prendergast. In the margins of the books, Terence wrote jokes, hints for adventurers following the same stories as him - and, more troubling still, intimations of a tormented childhood: of the boys and teachers who had bullied him; of the things he hated about himself and had to improve; of his thoughts of suicide and his desperate need to find friends, be liked, and find somebody - anybody - to confide in.
THE BOY IN THE BOOK is Nathan's poignant recreation of the discovery of the fragments of Terence Prendergast's diary, his quest to find the lost boy, and the friendship that resulted from their first meeting. In doing so, Nathan is forced to examine his own childhood - and, as his relationship with Terence deepens, he begins to believe that the two men are not so different, and to reflect on the darkness that can exist in childhood.

Headline Books Headline Publishing

    • Libros

As a boy, Nathan Penlington had loved Choose Your Own Adventures, the literary phenomenon of the 1980s which thrust the reader into the role of main character and compelled them to make decisions and direct the flow of the story. So, when he discovered a job lot of the first 106 adventures for sale on eBay, there was never any question that he would place a bid. When the books arrived, he lost himself in the old adventures.
Yet, as he flicked through the pages, there was another story being written - for, in the margins of each book, were the scribblings of the little boy who had once owned them, a little boy by the name of Terence John Prendergast. In the margins of the books, Terence wrote jokes, hints for adventurers following the same stories as him - and, more troubling still, intimations of a tormented childhood: of the boys and teachers who had bullied him; of the things he hated about himself and had to improve; of his thoughts of suicide and his desperate need to find friends, be liked, and find somebody - anybody - to confide in.
THE BOY IN THE BOOK is Nathan's poignant recreation of the discovery of the fragments of Terence Prendergast's diary, his quest to find the lost boy, and the friendship that resulted from their first meeting. In doing so, Nathan is forced to examine his own childhood - and, as his relationship with Terence deepens, he begins to believe that the two men are not so different, and to reflect on the darkness that can exist in childhood.

    THE PAPER SOLUTION, written and read by Lisa Woodruff - Audiobook extract

    THE PAPER SOLUTION, written and read by Lisa Woodruff - Audiobook extract

    We are drowning in paper. We keep stacks of it on the kitchen counter, stash it in drawers, and stuff file cabinets full of documents (just one file cabinet can hold 18,000 sheets of paper - yikes). Despite this clear crisis of paper, there hasn't been a book devoted to managing and organizing this single most abundant item in our homes - until now.

    In The Paper Solution, Lisa Woodruff delivers a proven, step-by-step guide to decluttering the paper in our lives and sorting what's left behind into easily accessible, structured, and, most importantly, manageable files.

    The system Woodruff offers isn't based on unrealistic advice, such as 'touch a piece of paper only once'. Instead, it accounts for paper's unique qualities: its sentimental value, ability to accumulate astonishingly fast, the generational differences in how it's treated, and the fact that it's not going anywhere despite the popularity of minimalism movements such as Kon Mari. Woodruff's approach is doable, effective, and compassionate.

    Much more than simply cleaning out your files, The Paper Solution will help you organize your paperwork with a purpose-removing the heavy burden of a chaotic mess and giving you the space and time to enjoy what you love and discover a sense of peace.

    • 6 min
    OPERATIVE 66 by Andy McDermott, read by Simon Mattacks - Audiobook extract

    OPERATIVE 66 by Andy McDermott, read by Simon Mattacks - Audiobook extract

    Former special ops soldier Alex Reeve is OPERATIVE 66.
    One of the UK's deadliest weapons, he is part of the mysterious C6 - an elite and top-secret security service with a remit to neutralise the country's most dangerous enemies.

    But now Reeve is in the firing line. Framed as a traitor, Reeve is forced to flee as every operative is instructed to kill the 'rogue asset'. On the run from his own government, alone and under the radar, Reeve must survive off grid with fearsome assassins on his trail.

    He doesn't know why he's a target. Or who betrayed him. But if one man has the skills necessary to uncover the truth...it is Operative 66.

    From the international bestseller comes an explosive, action-packed new thriller series - the perfect pulse-racing read for fans of LEE CHILD, DAVID BALDACCI and GREGG HUWITZ.

    • 4 min
    A MATTER OF MURDER by Ann Granger, read by Jilly Bond - Audiobook extract

    A MATTER OF MURDER by Ann Granger, read by Jilly Bond - Audiobook extract

    A MATTER OF MURDER is the seventh Cotswold village crime novel in Ann Granger's Campbell and Carter series. Sure to appeal to fans of Midsomer Murders and M. C. Beaton's Agatha Raisin mysteries.

    Two years ago, Miff Ferguson chose to opt out of the rat race. Since then he's been living rough and happily so. That is until now. For, as the first signs of winter approach, everything changes. While looking for shelter, Miff stumbles across the dead body of a young woman inside a dilapidated warehouse. Quickly realising he's not alone, and what's worse he's been spotted, Miff becomes embroiled in a game of cat-and-mouse with a killer that forces him to abandon his life on the streets and take refuge with his aunt and uncle in the village of Weston St Ambrose. But, despite his best efforts to lie low, trouble seems to follow him and when another dead body is discovered at a local farm, it's clear Miff is not free from danger.

    With the clock ticking, Inspector Jess Campbell and Superintendent Ian Carter must join forces once again with the team of police at Bamford to piece together the puzzle before another innocent life is lost...

    • 4 min
    ALL MY LIES ARE TRUE by Dorothy Koomson, read by Maria Gbeleyi, Adjoa Andoh and Julie Maisey

    ALL MY LIES ARE TRUE by Dorothy Koomson, read by Maria Gbeleyi, Adjoa Andoh and Julie Maisey

    From the bestselling author of Tell Me Your Secret and The Brighton Mermaid comes the breath-taking sequel to the iconic Sunday Times bestseller The Ice Cream Girls.

    Verity is telling lies...
    And that's why she's about to be arrested for attempted murder.

    Serena has been lying for years. . .
    And that may have driven her daughter, Verity, to do something unthinkable...

    Poppy's lies have come back to haunt her . . .
    So will her quest for the truth hurt everyone she loves?

    Everyone lies.
    But whose lies are going to end in tragedy?

    • 6 min
    ALL MY LIES ARE TRUE by Dorothy Koomson, read by Maria Gbeleyi, Adjoa Andoh and Julie Maisey

    ALL MY LIES ARE TRUE by Dorothy Koomson, read by Maria Gbeleyi, Adjoa Andoh and Julie Maisey

    From the bestselling author of Tell Me Your Secret and The Brighton Mermaid comes the breath-taking sequel to the iconic Sunday Times bestseller The Ice Cream Girls.

    Verity is telling lies...
    And that's why she's about to be arrested for attempted murder.

    Serena has been lying for years. . .
    And that may have driven her daughter, Verity, to do something unthinkable...

    Poppy's lies have come back to haunt her . . .
    So will her quest for the truth hurt everyone she loves?

    Everyone lies.
    But whose lies are going to end in tragedy?

    • 3 min
    THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR by Peter Tremayne, read by Caroline Lennon - Audiobook Sample

    THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR by Peter Tremayne, read by Caroline Lennon - Audiobook Sample

    Sister Fidelma returns in THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR, the thirty-first Celtic mystery by Peter Tremayne, acclaimed author of BLOOD IN EDEN, BLOODMOON and PENANCE OF THE DAMNED. If you love Ellis Peters, you'll be gripped by THE SHAPESHIFTER'S LAIR and the Sister Fidelma series.

    Ireland. AD 672.

    The body of a dead man has been found on a lonely mountain road and taken to the isolated abbey of Gleann Da Loch for a proper burial. The abbot quickly identifies him as Brehon Brocc, who had been travelling to the abbey on a secret mission with Princess Gelgeis and her steward. When news reaches Colgu, King of Muman, that his betrothed, Princess Gelgeis, has disappeared, Fidelma with her trusted companions, Eadulf and Enda, enter the hostile Kingdom of Laigin in search of the truth.

    But one death is quickly followed by another and warnings of demonic shapeshifters and evil lurking in the mountains must be taken seriously. Are there really brigands stealing gold and silver from the ancient mines? And are rumours of a war between the Kingdoms of Laigin and Muman to be believed? As Fidelma searches for answers, she must do everything in her power to avoid danger and death in a land where no one is to be trusted...

    What readers are saying about the Sister Fidelma series:

    'Tremayne is one of those very few historical mystery writers who can perplex and bewilder. He weaves the twisty plots into a complex historical narrative'

    'A must-read for anyone looking for a good mystery'

    'The characters are original, the settings are imaginative and true-to-life and the intricate plots form enough threads to keep you guessing at every turn'

    • 3 min

Top podcasts de Libros

Otros usuarios también se han suscrito a