33 episodes

Artists and Friends is a podcast started by artists Sid and Jim for reviews of exhibitions, interviews, and ideas.

Artists and Friends Sid and Jim

    • Visual Arts
    • 4.5, 6 Ratings

Artists and Friends is a podcast started by artists Sid and Jim for reviews of exhibitions, interviews, and ideas.

    Ryan Gander, Molly Soda, Cécile B. Evans, Eva and Franco Mattes, Imran Perretta, Keiken [Ft. Interview with Robyn Nichol]

    Ryan Gander, Molly Soda, Cécile B. Evans, Eva and Franco Mattes, Imran Perretta, Keiken [Ft. Interview with Robyn Nichol]

    This week we're discussing artist's websites and more specifically how artists are seen and present themselves and their work online. The artist's websites we discuss are Ryan Gander, Molly Soda, Cecile B. Evans, Eva and Franco Mattes, Imran Perretta, Keiken, nabbteeri, and Marc Horowitz. We also interview Robyn Nichol about her own internet presence and they way she navigates being an artist online. Robyn Nichol - www.robynnichol.comhttps://www.instagram.com/robynnichol/ Ryan Gander - https://ryanganderarchive.com/ Molly Soda - https://mollysoda.exposed/ Cécile B. Evans - http://cecilebevans.com/index.php/activities/notes/ Eva and Franco Mattes - https://0100101110101101.org/ Imran Perretta - http://www.imranperretta.com/ Keiken - https://www.instagram.com/_keiken_/?hl=en nabbteeri - http://www.nabbteeri.com/ Marc Horowitz - http://1833marcive.com/

    • 1 hr
    YouTube Recommendations [Ft. Interview with Grace Lee from What's So Great About That?]

    YouTube Recommendations [Ft. Interview with Grace Lee from What's So Great About That?]

    This week we're discussing some YouTube recommendations that we've been watching both before and during quarantine. We also interview Grace Lee from the channel What's So Great About That? where she makes video essays on various forms of media. All the related channels are linked below.What's So Great About That?YOUTUBE- https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3g8YdblbqlUAKEeAJbzMYw TWITTER - https://twitter.com/whatssograce PATREON - https://www.patreon.com/whatssograce/posts Grace's RecommendationsCaptain Disillusion https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCEOXxzW2vU0P-0THehuIIeg Jay Foreman https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCbbQalJ4OaC0oQ0AqRaOJ9g Thomas Sanders https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC80Z-cIOdR6upfnrPJ8Q00A Patricia Taxxon https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCOjLfFE0TABS9bk05oH-kgw Will It Soft Serve? https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCr8gsAaPXZuG0UR-zTk9mMg Our RecommendationsSimone Giertz https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC3KEoMzNz8eYnwBC34RaKCQ William Osman https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M2xqMZ6b85w&t=1s Adam Savage’s Tested https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCiDJtJKMICpb9B1qf7qjEOA kiwami japan https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCg3qsVzHeUt5_cPpcRtoaJQ/videos Squirmy and Grubs https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCdomP1JqhnyBQGaBmfDl4KQ Cooking tree 쿠킹트리 https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtby6rJtBGgUm-2oD_E7bzw CinemaWins https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCL8h3ri2WN_-IbviBlWtUcQ Jelle’s Marble Runs https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCYJdpnjuSWVOLgGT9fIzL0g 3Dbotmaker https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCjN5K3IYZgz-vCWhI_DD01A LockPickingLawyer https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCm9K6rby98W8JigLoZOh6FQ Hot Ones https://www.youtube.com/user/FirstWeFeast/featured

    • 1 hr 9 min
    EPOCH, Global Cows, SITE in.oscillation, Hans Ulrich Obrist’s Do it Project, and Sophie Bates on ilyd

    EPOCH, Global Cows, SITE in.oscillation, Hans Ulrich Obrist’s Do it Project, and Sophie Bates on ilyd

    This week’s episode is now out and we’re taking you through some new online exhibitions An online group show on the platform EPOCH titled End Demo. Featuring artists Jessica Goehring, Kara Joslyn, Erica Mahinay, Jake, Kean Mayman, Emanuel Röhss, Peter Wu. A digital collaboration called Global Cows featured on Conceptual Fine Arts and produced with brussels-based gallery Damien & The Love Guru. Featuring artists Vanessa Disler, Tiziana La Melia, Nina Royle, Lucy Stein, Charlott Weise, with a text by Sonia D’Alto. An online library of sound and text works on Site Projects called in.oscillation. Hans Ulrich Obrist’s Do it Project which is now on Google Arts and Culture. And finally an online sound exhibition space called ilyd which is currently featuring an artwork by Sophie Bates titled Hello/Goodbye.EPOCH -https://epoch.gallery/Jessica Goehring - www.jessicagoehring.comKara Joslyn - www.karajoslyn.com/home.htmlErica Mahinay - www.ericamahinay.studioJake Kean Mayman - www.jakekeanmayman.comEmanuel Röhss - www.emanuelrohss.comPeter Wu - www.peter-wu.comConceptual Fine Arts - www.conceptualfinearts.com/cfa/2020/05/05/global-cows-2020/ Damien & The Love Guru - www.damienandtheloveguru.com Vanessa Disler - www.vanessadisler.com Tiziana La Melia - www.tizianalamelia.com Nina Royle - www.ninaroyle.co.uk Charlott Weise - www.charlottweise.com Site Projects in.oscillation - https://siteprojects.co/ Puck Verkade - www.puckverkade.com Molly Fitzgerald - https://siteprojects.co/portfolio/afterglow Claire Yspol - https://siteprojects.co/portfolio/an-exercise-in-being-present Hans Ulrich Obrist’s Do it Project - https://artsandculture.google.com/project/do-it Max Hawkins' Do it - https://artsandculture.google.com/asset/max-hawkins-max-hawkins/WwGJn7ISzGDcyA Adrian Piper's Do it - https://artsandculture.google.com/asset/the-humming-room-adrian-piper/NgGGJENv9ObJvg ilyd - www.ilyd.nu Sophie Bates - www.sophiebates.hotglue.me

    • 49 min
    Rhizome’s online exhibition We=Link: Ten Easy Pieces

    Rhizome’s online exhibition We=Link: Ten Easy Pieces

    On this week’s episode of Artists and Friends we review a new online exhibition by Rhizome and The New Museum who have partnered with Chronus Art Center, Art Center Nabi, and many others. The show is titled “We=Link: Ten Easy Pieces,” and it’s a new First Look exhibition of 10 commissioned works for WeChat and the web. Artists included are Raphaël Bastide, Tega Brain and Sam Lavigne, JODI, LI Weiyi, Evan Roth, Slime Engine, Helmut Smits, XU Wenkai (aka aaajiao), Yangachi, and YE Funa.We=Link: Ten Easy Pieces - www.we-link.chronusartcenter.orgRaphaël Bastide www.evasive.tech www.raphaelbastide.comTega Brain and Sam Lavigne www.getwellsoon.labr.io www.tegabrain.com www.lav.io JODI www.ICTI.ME https://wwwwwwwww.jodi.org/LI Weiyi www.tom.weiyi.li www.weiyi.liHelvetica on the Earth font - www.weiyiandfriends.com/practice2017.htmlEvan Roth www.n22.230210e113.940187.hk www.evan-roth.comTed Talk - www.youtube.com/watch?v=2DSe4o45i3oSlime Engine www.slimeengine.com/headlines www.slimeengine.comHelmut Smits www.screentimeclock.net http://helmutsmits.nl/ Cutouts(naturally occurring branch compositions) - www.helmutsmits.nl/work/cutoutsXU Wenkai (aka aaajiao) www.t-h-e-s-p-a-c-e.com/welt www.eventstructure.comYangachi www.egovernment.or.kr www.yangachi.orgYE Funa www.drcorona.online www.funaye.com

    • 1 hr 3 min
    The One Minutes, Arthur Jafa, Rachel Rose, Carsten Höller, Emily Pope, Robyn Nichol, Tim Foxon

    The One Minutes, Arthur Jafa, Rachel Rose, Carsten Höller, Emily Pope, Robyn Nichol, Tim Foxon

    This week we’re taking you through some more quarantine recommendations for everyone stuck at home. One of the video series on The One minutes curated by Shana Moulton; Jupiter Artland being made in Minecraft; Arthur Jafa, Rachel Rose, and Carsten Höller on the Louisiana Channel; Emily Pope and Robyn Nichol via the Don’t Worry I’m Sick and Poor lecture series organised by Babeworld (Georgina Tyson & Ashleigh Williams) and Ellie Harman-Taylor; Tim Foxon, whos____who, and Low Cost Cosplay on Instagram; And some YouTube cooking show including Binging with Babish, You Suck at Cooking, Bon Appétit’s Gourmet Makes, and Dead Dad’s Kitchen by Irene Walton.The One minutes website - www.theoneminutes.orgThe One minutes Instagram - www.instagram.com/theoneminutes_ Anja Masling, Healed by YouTube - www.instagram.com/p/B_EjnG6FFbi/ Gilsuk Ko, Comfort distance - www.instagram.com/p/B-jK5hCFmrS/Sarah Milanowski, Hidden - www.instagram.com/p/B-q6YCvlYrC/ Jupiter Artland in Minecraft - www.jupiterartland.org/digital/minecraftproject Louisiana Channel - www.channel.louisiana.dk Arthur Jafa - www.channel.louisiana.dk/video/arthur-jafa-not-all-good-not-all-bad Arthur Jafa, Love is the message, the message is Death - www.youtube.com/watch?v=D1McJ8cci3Y Rachel Rose 01 - www.channel.louisiana.dk/video/rachel-rose-a-space-travel-into-mortality Rachel Rose 02 - www.channel.louisiana.dk/video/rachel-rose-between-living-and-non-living Carsten Höller - www.channel.louisiana.dk/video/carsten-holler-the-luxury-of-doubt Babeworld - www.sites.google.com/prod/view/babeworld Ashleigh Williams - www.instagram.com/ashywillsflatearther/ Georgina Tyson - www.instagram.com/godsleastfavourite.sim/ Ellie Harman-Taylor - www.ellieharmantaylor2.wixsite.com/website Emily Pope on Don't Worry I'm Sick and Poor - www.youtube.com/watch?v=6XePewHvnig Emily Pope Webiste - www.emilypope.co.uk/ Emily Pope, The Sitcom Show - www.vimeo.com/emilypope90 Robyn Nichol on Don't Worry I'm Sick and Poor - www.youtube.com/watch?v=iUPetr4WH0s Robyn Nichol Website - www.robynnichol.com/ Robyn Nichol Instagram - www.instagram.com/robynnichol/?hl=en BUY A T-SHIRT www.everpress.com/billy-bear www.everpress.com/space-raiders-rn www.everpress.com/babeworld-for-swarm Not Another Prompt - www.instagram.com/p/B_e0Gdll4xg/ Tim Foxon - www.instagram.com/tim_foxon/?hl=en Who's Who - www.instagram.com/whos____who/?hl=en Low Cost Cos Play - www.instagram.com/lowcostcosplayth/?hl=en Binging with Babish - www.youtube.com/channel/UCJHA_jMfCvEnv-3kRjTCQXw You Suck at Cooking - www.youtube.com/channel/UCekQr9znsk2vWxBo3YiLq2w Bon Appetit Gourmet Makes - www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLKtIunYVkv_RwB_yx1SZrZC-ddhxyXanh Irene Walton, Dead Dad's Kitchen - www.youtube.com/watch?v=pb12US0M3Q0&list=PL8T26iE17puJ1kaLr8MAjfvFE0s2ihEli

    • 1 hr
    Georgina Starr Alberta Whittle Yuko Mohri Jenkin van Zyl Liv Fontaine Sarah Forrest Urara Tsuchiya

    Georgina Starr Alberta Whittle Yuko Mohri Jenkin van Zyl Liv Fontaine Sarah Forrest Urara Tsuchiya

    This week we're discussing the Glasgow international Digital Programme. Like a lot of events around the globe, GI has been postponed until 2021 but they've put together some digital artworks in place of this years festival including works by Georgina Starr, Alberta Whittle, Yuko Mohri, Jenkin van Zyl, Liv Fontaine, Sarah Forrest, and Urara Tsuchiya.Glasgow International www.glasgowinternational.org/Georgina Starr www.georginastarr.com/ Alberta Whittle www.albertawhittle.com/ Yuko Mohri www.mohrizm.net/ www.mohrizm.net/exhibitions/friction-n-resistanceJenkin van Zyl www.jenkinvanzyl.co.uk www.instagram.com/jenkinvanzyl/?hl=en Liv Fontaine www.livfontaine.com Sarah Forrest www.hospitalfield.org.uk/whats-on/commissions/sarah-forrest-2/ Urara Tsuchiya www.unionpacific.co.uk/artists/urara-tsuchiya/

    • 50 min

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5
6 Ratings

6 Ratings

SammyTee25 ,

😊

Nice research and reviews of art and pop culture

Hejustaintthatintoyou ,

Keep them coming!

Always love hearing these fun reviews :)

elzy21 ,

Thumbs up from me 👍

Great reviews and great chat!

Top Podcasts In Visual Arts

Listeners Also Subscribed To