7 episodes

Ease into Indian vegan/vegetarian cooking and work your way up from simple spice mixes to complex curries.

Cookilicious Kitchen Storie‪s‬ Priya Lakshminarayan

    • Food
    • 5.0 • 1 Rating

Ease into Indian vegan/vegetarian cooking and work your way up from simple spice mixes to complex curries.

    Instant Potato Dosa -- A South Indian Delicacy

    Instant Potato Dosa -- A South Indian Delicacy

    A recipe for Dosa, a delicious, popular breakfast dish from the South of India.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.

    This is our seventh episode, in which I have shared the recipe for Instant Potato Dosa. This is a delicious breakfast dish from Southern India.

    Dosa is an Indian crepe that is popularly paired with a condiment called a Chutney. The recipe Ithat I'm going to talk about in today's episode is:
    * Potato Dosa - https://cookilicious.com/powerbreakfasts/potato-dosa/

    This is the Chutney I recommend pairing this Dosa with. I spoke about it in Episode 6:
    * Andhra Style Chutney Recipe - https://cookilicious.com/condiments/andhra-style-peanut-tomato-chutney-recipe-for-idli-dosa/

    You will find more chutney recipes on this page:
    https://cookilicious.com/category/condiments/

    The traditional Dosa recipe is here:
    https://cookilicious.com/southindian/uttapam-dosa-batter/

    These are some more delicious Dosa recipes that you may find interesting:
    * Instant Wheat Flour Dosa - https://cookilicious.com/powerbreakfasts/instant-wheat-flour-dosa/
    * Quinoa Dosa - https://cookilicious.com/southindian/quinoa-dosa-how-to-make-instant-quinoa-uttapam/
    * Instant Carrot & Oats Dosa/Crepes - https://cookilicious.com/southindian/instant-carrot-oats-dosacrepes/
    * Masala Dosa with Sweet Potato Filling - https://cookilicious.com/southindian/masala-dosa-sweet-potato-filling/

    If you try any of these dishes, then I would love to see photos of your dish - my Instagram handle is @cookilicious.
    If you have any questions or feedback, please write to us at contactthechef@cookilicious.com.
    If you have been listening to our podcast regularly and like it, then please subscribe so you are aware of new episodes when they come online.

    • 6 min
    Idli-Chutney -- A Delicious South Indian Breakfast

    Idli-Chutney -- A Delicious South Indian Breakfast

    A recipe for Idli-Chutney, a delicious, popular breakfast dish from the South of India.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.

    This is our sixth episode, in which I have shared the recipe for Idli-chutney. This is a delicious breakfast dish from Southern India.

    Idli is a steamed rice cake that is popularly paired with a condiment called a Chutney. The recipes for Idli and Chutney that I'm going to talk about in today's episode are:
    * Idli Batter Recipe (with Idli Rava) - https://cookilicious.com/southindian/idli-batter-recipe-with-idli-rava/
    * Andhra Style Chutney Recipe - https://cookilicious.com/condiments/andhra-style-peanut-tomato-chutney-recipe-for-idli-dosa/

    You will find more chutney recipes on this page:
    https://cookilicious.com/category/condiments/

    Here are some more Idli recipes on my blog:
    * Healthy Green Amaranth Potato Idli - https://cookilicious.com/powerbreakfasts/healthy-green-amaranth-potato-idli-rajgiri-potato-idli/
    * Oil-Free Bulgur Wheat Spinach Idli - https://cookilicious.com/southindian/oil-free-bulgur-wheat-spinach-idli/
    * Sweet Corn & Bulgur Wheat Mini Steamed Idli - https://cookilicious.com/powerbreakfasts/sweet-corn-bulgur-wheat-mini-steamed-idli/

    To prepare idlis, you will need an Idli cooker that you can get from Amazon:
    https://amzn.to/3mVwvhX

    If you try any of these dishes, then I would love to see photos of your dish - my Instagram handle is @cookilicious.
    If you have any questions or feedback, please write to us at contactthechef@cookilicious.com.
    If you have been listening to our podcast regularly and like it, then please subscribe so you are aware of new episodes when they come online.

    • 8 min
    Dum Aloo -- Delicious Baby Potatoes in a Rich Gravy

    Dum Aloo -- Delicious Baby Potatoes in a Rich Gravy

    A detailed recipe for Dum Aloo, a delicious, popular dish that comes from Northern India.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.

    This is our fifth episode, in which I share the detailed recipe for Dum Aloo. Dum Aloo is a mouth-watering dish that is made of potatoes cooked in a rich tomato-onion gravy. You can find the recipe on my blog here:
    https://cookilicious.com/gravies/dum-aloo-curry-recipe/

    If you do try this dish, then I would love to see photos of your dish - my Instagram handle is @cookilicious.
    If you have any questions or feedback, please write to us at contactthechef@cookilicious.com.
    If you have been listening to our podcast regularly and like it, then please subscribe so you are aware of new episodes when they come online.

    • 9 min
    Recreating Restaurant Favorite Curries

    Recreating Restaurant Favorite Curries

    We go through detailed recipes for two Indian curry dishes popular at restaurants.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.

    Chana Masala and Palak Paneer - two popular and delicious dishes that are the stars of almost every Indian restaurant. Have you wondered how they are prepared? It turns out it's so simple to recreate these dishes at home. The next time you have a craving for Indian food, try these recipes to satisfy your hunger pangs.

    A detailed account of how to prepare these dishes, narrated in a simple fashion so novices and experts alike can follow along. Also included are useful tips and tricks to make your cooking experience a breeze!

    * Simplest Punjabi Chole Chickpeas Masala - https://cookilicious.com/curries_gravies/simplest-punjabi-chole-chickpeas-masala/
    * Restaurant-style Palak Paneer - https://cookilicious.com/gravies/restaurant-style-palak-paneer/

    If you have any questions about Indian cooking or have any feedback, please drop us a line at contactthechef@cookilicious.com.
    If you make any of our dishes, please send us pictures, we'd love to see how the dishes turned out! My Instagram handle is @cookilicious.

    • 15 min
    The Flavorful World of Spices II

    The Flavorful World of Spices II

    A talk about spices and their role in Indian Cuisine. Recipes for 3 spice powder blends.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.
    This is our second (and concluding) podcast episode about Indian Spice Mixes (Masalas) and their role in Indian Cuisine. I share detailed recipes for three more Masalas, 'Garam Masala', 'South Indian Curry Powder' and 'Milk Masala'.

    Should you wish to check out the recipes on my blog, you can find them here:
    * Homemade Garam Masala - https://cookilicious.com/essentials/homemade-garam-masala/
    * Vegan Milk Masala - https://cookilicious.com/essentials/vegan-milk-masala/

    You can find me on Instagram, my Instagram handle is @cookilicious.
    If you have any questions or feedback, please write to us at contactthechef@cookilicious.com

    • 16 min
    The Flavorful World of Spices

    The Flavorful World of Spices

    A talk about spices and their role in Indian Cuisine. Recipes for 3 spice powders.

    My food blog Cookilicious (https://cookilicious.com) features a collection of detailed, mouth-watering vegetarian and vegan recipes.

    In this podcast episode, I talk about Indian Spices (Masalas) and their role in Indian Cuisine. I wrap up the episode with detailed recipes for two simple Masalas, 'Turmeric Powder' and 'Coriander-Cumin Powder'.

    Should you wish to check out the recipes on my blog, you can find them here:
    * Homemade Turmeric Powder - https://cookilicious.com/essentials/homemade-turmeric-powder/
    * Dhania Jeera Powder - https://cookilicious.com/essentials/dhania-jeera-powder/
    * Dairy-Free Turmeric & Black Pepper Latte - https://cookilicious.com/drinks/dairy-free-turmeric-black-pepper-latte/

    You can find me on Instagram, my Instagram handle is @cookilicious.
    If you have any questions or feedback, please write to us at contactthechef@cookilicious.com

    • 13 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
1 Rating

1 Rating

andyjamesnelson ,

Real Indian cooking!

So good to learn about Indian food from someone who really cares about cooking.

Top Podcasts In Food