19 episodes

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

Northern Stage Theatre Podcast Northern Stage

    • Performing Arts
    • 5.0, 4 Ratings

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

    EP.19 - Alphabetti Theatre with Ali Pritchard

    EP.19 - Alphabetti Theatre with Ali Pritchard

    This week, Mark catches up with Alphabetti Theatre's creator and Artistic & Executive Director, Ali Pritchard. Ali tells us about wanting to be the UK's Jack Black and nearly singing for the UK at Eurovision, his skills as a plumber and accountant, and we find out more about the incredible and game changing grassroots theatre that is Alphabetti.

    A truly joyous listen from start to finish, with extra special guest appearances from Rex the dog and Paula Penman. It's eclectic.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Notes

    Alphabetti Theatre: https://www.alphabettitheatre.co.uk/

    BETTi Recommends: https://www.alphabettitheatre.co.uk/bettirecommends

    Alphabetti Online Performances: https://www.alphabettitheatre.co.uk/online-performances

    Inua Ellams: http://www.inuaellams.com/

    Holy Moly and the Crackers: https://www.holymolyandthecrackers.com/

    'Theatre that made us' article in The Guardian: https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2020/jul/10/theatres-that-made-us-sophie-stone-suzi-ruffell

    The Tin Ring: https://www.thetinring.com/

    Academy of Contemporary Music: https://www.acm.ac.uk/

    Northumbria University Theatre & Performance BA: https://www.northumbria.ac.uk/study-at-northumbria/courses/ba-hons-theatre-and-performance-uustpe1/

    Madlug: https://www.madlug.com/

    Bonnie & the Bonnettes: https://www.bonnieandthebonnettes.co.uk/

    The Dog & Parrot: http://thedogandparrot.co.uk/

    Live Theatre: https://www.live.org.uk/

    ARC Stockton: https://arconline.co.uk/

    Woven Nest: https://www.facebook.com/wovennesttheatre/

    Sunday for Sammy: https://www.sundayforsammy.org/

    The Ballinger Charitable Trust: https://www.ballingercharitabletrust.org.uk/

    • 1 hr 7 min
    EP.18 - Active Mulling with Laura Lindow

    EP.18 - Active Mulling with Laura Lindow

    This week, we caught up with playwright, director, Open Clasp Associate Director and clown doctor Laura Lindow. We talk to Laura about how she went from making virtuoso hot chocolates to writing such Northern Stage smash hits as The War of the Worlds and The Snow Queen and Cap-a-Pie's Woven Bones, the need for wine budgets, and the stages of the writing process including the Formless Hunch and Active Mulling. Enjoy.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Resource links:

    Laura Lindow on Twitter: https://twitter.com/tantaloupe?lang=en

    Open Clasp Theatre Company: https://www.openclasp.org.uk/

    Theatre Workshop Stocksbridge: https://www.edinburghguide.com/venue/theatreworkshopformer

    Northumbria University Theatre & Performance BA: https://www.northumbria.ac.uk/study-at-northumbria/courses/ba-hons-theatre-and-performance-uustpe1/

    Live Theatre: https://www.live.org.uk/

    The Empty Space: https://www.esonline.org/

    Heartbreak Soup: https://www.britishtheatreguide.info/reviews/heartbreaksoup-rev

    Edinburgh Festival Fringe: https://www.edfringe.com/

    Leighton Live: https://www.facebook.com/leightonhall.live/

    Cap-a-Pie: https://www.cap-a-pie.co.uk/

    Woven Bones: https://www.cap-a-pie.co.uk/woven-bones/

    Credit: https://www.cap-a-pie.co.uk/credit/

    The Adam Buxton Podcast: https://www.adam-buxton.co.uk/podcasts

    Spoonface Steinberg: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spoonface_Steinberg

    Key Change: https://www.thestage.co.uk/reviews/key-change

    Writers Group - Royal Court: https://royalcourttheatre.com/playwriting/writers-groups/

    The Adventures of Wound Man and Shirley: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ud5jsvC1x4g

    NORTH The War of the Worlds: https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2018/feb/02/the-war-of-the-worlds-review-hg-wells

    The Snow Queen: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/news/cast-and-creative-team-announced-for-the-snow-queen

    A Play, A Pint and A Pie:  https://playpiepint.com/

    Traverse Theatre: https://www.traverse.co.uk/

    Playwrights' Studio Scotland: https://www.playwrightsstudio.co.uk/

    Sea Window Craster: https://twitter.com/seaskycraster?lang=en

    Caroline Bird: https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poets/caroline-bird

    • 1 hr 4 min
    EP.17 - The Royal Shakespeare Company's Erica Whyman

    EP.17 - The Royal Shakespeare Company's Erica Whyman

    This week we talk to the phenomenal Erica Whyman once of Northern Stage and now the Deputy Artistic Director of the Royal Shakespeare Company. Erica talks to us about her experience of last 18 weeks: from closing shows while having symptoms to how she sees the future for our industry all delivered with a healthy dose of idealism. Hope you enjoy

    Transcript available to download here.

    Resource links:

    Royal Shakespeare Company: https://www.rsc.org.uk/

    The WInter's Tale: https://www.rsc.org.uk/the-winters-tale

    The Comedy of Errors: https://www.rsc.org.uk/the-comedy-of-errors

    Matilda: https://uk.matildathemusical.com/#coronavirus-modal

    The Other Place: https://www.rsc.org.uk/your-visit/the-other-place

    Shakespeare's Stratford: https://www.rsc.org.uk/your-visit/shakespeares-stratford

    Southwark Playhouse: https://southwarkplayhouse.co.uk/

    Swan Theatre: https://www.rsc.org.uk/your-visit/swan-theatre

    Maria Aberg: http://www.mariaaberg.com/

    Project Europa: https://www.rsc.org.uk/news/projekt-europa

    Gate Theatre: https://www.gatetheatre.co.uk/

    The Whip: https://www.rsc.org.uk/the-whip/

    Juliet Gilkes Romero: https://www.julietgilkesromero.co.uk/

    The Mill Art Centre: https://www.themillartscentre.co.uk/

    Scene Change: https://www.scene-change.com/

    The Crucible Sheffield: https://www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk/

    Tarek Iskander: https://www.theguardian.com/stage/2018/dec/21/new-artistic-director-of-battersea-arts-centre-is-tarek-iskander

    Battersea Arts Centre: https://www.bac.org.uk/

    • 43 min
    EP.16 - Kitchen Zoo: Hannah Goudie-Hunter and Bob Nicholson

    EP.16 - Kitchen Zoo: Hannah Goudie-Hunter and Bob Nicholson

    This week on the Northern Stage podcast we have a conversation with the Hannah Goudie-Hunter and Bob Nicholson the magical folks behind Kitchen Zoo. Bob, Hannah & Mark chat about making processes, the demands of doing every job to get something in front of an audience and the value of family work and how it’s viewed.

    This is a great chance to look behind the curtain and delve into Kitchen Zoo's rehearsal room to find out just how they make their incredible shows.

    Special thanks to Katie Doherty and Jeremy Bradfield for the original compositions heard within this recording.

    Download the transcript here.

    Resources

    Kitchen Zoo: https://www.facebook.com/KitchenZoo/

    The Owl and the Pussycat: https://youtu.be/tl4E_L5N7kw

    The Tin Foil Astronaut: https://arconline.co.uk/whats-on/family/the-tin-foil-astronaut-0

    The Three Bears: https://arconline.co.uk/whats-on/family/the-three-bears

    WOLF!: https://www.facebook.com/watch/?v=1522304367894020

    NORTH: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/north-companies-2019

    ARC Stockton: https://arconline.co.uk/

    Camisado Club: https://www.camisadoclub.co.uk/

    Brad McComick part of: https://www.cap-a-pie.co.uk/

    Alison Ashton: https://www.alisonashton.co.uk/

    Jeremy Bradfield: https://jeremybradfield.bandcamp.com/

    Katie Doherty: https://www.katiedoherty.co.uk/

    Matthew Tuckey: https://www.matthewtuckey.co.uk/

    Ruth Mary Johnson: https://www.ruthmaryjohnson.com/

    Wally Funk's Race for Space: https://www.amazon.co.uk/Wally-Funks-Race-Space-Extraordinary/dp/1908906340

    Bridge Theatre A Midsummer Night's Dream: https://bridgetheatre.co.uk/whats-on/a-midsummer-nights-dream/

    National Theatre Small Island: http://ntlive.nationaltheatre.org.uk/productions/73263-small-island

    The WInd in the Willows: https://www.willowsmusical.com/

    I May Destroy You: https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/m000jyxy/i-may-destroy-you

    Killing Eve: https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/p06jy6bc/killing-eve

    Normal People: https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episodes/p089g8rs/normal-people

    • 1 hr 11 min
    EP.15 - Harambee Pasadia: Hannabiell Sanders & Yilis Suriel

    EP.15 - Harambee Pasadia: Hannabiell Sanders & Yilis Suriel

    This week's episode is a full-on happiness injection. Mark and Louie speak to the Ambassadors of positivity and fun Hannabiell Sanders & Yilis Suriel. We talk about the Harambee Pasadia festival a 4-day family camping extravaganza in celebration of diverse cultures, foods, music, artists, and fusions of the African diaspora, in a conversation packed full of great thinking, positivity and laughter, something we all need right now. 

    Have a listen it will lift your soul

    Download the transcript here.

    Resources

    Harambee Pasadia: https://www.harambeepasadia.com/

    Ladies of Midnight Blue: https://www.hannabiell.com/ladies-of-midnight-blue.html

    Volunteer Scotland: https://www.volunteerscotland.net/

    Angelou Centre: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Angelou_Centre

    Leading Link: http://www.leadinglink.co.uk/

    Jack Drum Arts: https://www.jackdrum.co.uk/

    Northern Alchemy: https://www.wearenorthernalchemy.com/

    The Cumberland Arms: http://www.thecumberlandarms.co.uk/

    Rutgers Centre for Latino Arts & Culture: http://clac.rutgers.edu/

    Naomi Klein 'The Shock Doctrine - The Rise of Disaster Capitalism': https://tsd.naomiklein.org/shock-doctrine.html

    Performance, Ethos, & Everyday Activism | Ladies of Midnight Blue | TEDxNewcastle: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-BfScWQIjwA

    • 1 hr 8 min
    EP.14 - Sound design with Matt Tuckey

    EP.14 - Sound design with Matt Tuckey

    This week on the Northern Stage Theatre Podcast, Mark and Humira talk to sound designer and artist, Matthew Tuckey. In this conversation, we talk to Matt about sound, its complexities, its abilities, and its infinite possibilities to shape stories. 

    There are some really exciting opportunities that sound offers for the future of the theatre industry by offering other platforms to showcase the work made within the region. So please do check out Matt's webinars from the 13th to the 20th and the 27th of July - find out more here.

    Download the transcript here.

    Resource links:
    An Introduction to Audio Drama: https://www.eventbrite.co.uk/e/introduction-to-audio-drama-and-voiceover-recording-techniques-tickets-111801806212
    Nick John Williams: http://www.nickjohnwilliams.co.uk/
    A Christmas Carol: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/news/cast-and-creative-team-announced-for-a-christmas-carol
    Alice in Wonderland: https://www.northernstage.co.uk/news/cast-and-creative-team-announcement-alice-in-wonderland
    Mortal Fools: https://www.mortalfools.org.uk/
    Alphabetti Theatre: https://www.alphabettitheatre.co.uk/
    Novo Productions: https://www.novoproductions.co.uk/

    • 1 hr 2 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
4 Ratings

4 Ratings

Top Podcasts In Performing Arts