8 episodes

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

Northern Stage Theatre Podcast Northern Stage

    • Performing Arts
    • 5.0, 4 Ratings

The Northern Stage Theatre Podcast is the official podcast of Northern Stage, an inspirational and creative theatre based in Newcastle upon Tyne. Check back for an assortment of interviews, stories, theatre-related chat and more with theatre-makers, artists, and creatives.

    EP.8 - Shandyland - part 2: Gareth Farr

    EP.8 - Shandyland - part 2: Gareth Farr

    This week, we've got the sequel to last week's Shandyland episode as Mark and Matt chat to Gareth Farr, the writer of Shandyland, Gareth also wrote The Bridge, The Quiet House and Britannia Waves the Rules. It's a corker with Gareth giving a great insight into his writing process, teaching, the nerves of press night and winning the Bruntwood Prize.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Resource links:

    Gareth Farr – Curtis Brown page: www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/gareth-farr

    Hannah Banister - Curtis Brown page: www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/hannah-banister

    The Quiet House: www.dramaonlinelibrary.com/plays/the-quiet-house-iid-179381

    Brittania Waves the Rules: www.dramaonlinelibrary.com/plays/britannia-waves-the-rules-iid-187700

    The Bridge: www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/gareth-farr/work/the-bridge-3

    The Old Vic 12: www.oldvictheatre.com/join-in/for-creatives/the-old-vic-12 

    The Royal Shakespeare Company (RSC): www.rsc.org.uk

    The Bruntwood Prize for Playwriting: www.writeaplay.co.uk

    Arts Ed: artsed.co.uk

    Royal Exchange Theatre: www.royalexchange.co.uk

    In The Dark - podcast: www.apmreports.org/in-the-dark

    You're Dead To Me - podcast: www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p07mdbhg/episodes/downloads

    The Secret Lives of Colour by Kassia St Clair - available from all good and evil bookshops

    Once Upon A River by Diane Setterfield - available from all good and evil bookshops

    • 1 hr 10 min
    EP.7 - Shandyland: Hannah Banister

    EP.7 - Shandyland: Hannah Banister

    Mark and Matt chat to director an theatre maker Hannah Banister about taking time, how to navigate the ups and downs, ins and outs of the theatre industry and Shandyland, our new co-production which Hannah was directing and would have been on at Northern Stage this month. Hannah is at all times funny, honest and full of clarity. It’s such a great listen… we hope you enjoy.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Resource links:

    Hannah Banister - Curtis Brown page: www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/hannah-banister 

    Gareth Farr – Curtis Brown page: www.curtisbrown.co.uk/client/gareth-farr

    Newcastle College: www.ncl-coll.ac.uk

    Royal Central School of Speech & Drama www.cssd.ac.uk

    Hampstead Theatre: www.hampsteadtheatre.com

    Ed Hall - Enlightenment: www.hampsteadtheatre.com/whats-on/2010/enlightenment/

    Max Webster - Life of Pi: www.sheffieldtheatres.co.uk/news/life-of-pi-director-gives-us-a-sneak-peek-into-rehearsals

    Nina Raine - Tiger Country www.hampsteadtheatre.com/whats-on/2014/tiger-country/

    Jeremy Herrin - The Tempest: globeplayer.tv/videos/the-tempest-english

    Old Vic - New Voices: ovnv.lgfl.org.uk/

    The Old Vic 12: www.oldvictheatre.com/join-in/for-creatives/the-old-vic-12 

    I Killed Rasputin – Richard Herring play: www.richardherring.com/ikr/

    National Theatre: New Work Department: https://www.nationaltheatre.org.uk/about-the-national-theatre/new-work

    The JMK Award: www.jmktrust.org/the-jmk-award/

    Headlong: Angels In America: headlong.co.uk/productions/angels-america/

    Regional Theatre Young Director Scheme (RTYDS): www.rtyds.co.uk/

    A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara: www.amazon.co.uk/Little-Life-Hanya-Yanagihara/dp/1447294815

    Sean Carroll’s Mindscape Podcast: www.preposterousuniverse.com/podcast/

    Pod Save The World: crooked.com/podcast-series/pod-save-the-world/

    The Morning Show - available on Apple TV

    RuPaul’s Drag Race - available on Netflix

    The Last Dance - available on Netflix

    Homeland - available on Channel 4

    Killing Eve - available on BBC iPlayer

    Unorthodox -available on Netflix

    Outliers: The Story of Success Paperback: www.amazon.co.uk/Outliers-Story-Success-Malcolm-Gladwell/dp/0141036257

    The Missing Cryptowqueen podcast: www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p07nkd84/episodes/downloads

    Community - available on Netflix

    • 1 hr 10 min
    EP.6 - These Hill Are Ours: Daniel Bye

    EP.6 - These Hill Are Ours: Daniel Bye

    Mark & Louie have a conversation with Dan Bye – a theatre maker, writer, director and ultra runner. They chat to Dan about activism, process and of course running really long distances. They also chat about his latest show These Hills Are Ours, which would have been at Northern Stage this month.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Resource links:

    Daniel Bye website: www.danielbye.co.uk

    Breach "It's True, It's True, It's True": www.breachtheatre.com/shows/its-true-its-true-its-true/

    Barbican website: www.barbican.org.uk/read-watch-listen/watch-its-true-its-true-its-true-by-breach

    Royal Court Theatre website: royalcourttheatre.com

    "Enron" by Lucy Prebble: www.waterstones.com/book/enron/lucy-prebble/9781408124673

    "The Effect" by Lucy Prebble, Miriam Gillinson: www.waterstones.com/book/the-effect/lucy-prebble/miriam-gillinson/9781474272018

    Ella Hickson: www.casarotto.co.uk/clients/ella-hickson

    BBC interview with Alice Birch: www.bbc.co.uk/mediacentre/mediapacks/normalpeople/alice

    Lucy Kirkwood: www.casarotto.co.uk/clients/lucy-kirkwood

    We're Gonna Die (contains strong language): https://vimeo.com/160685914

    • 1 hr 19 min
    EP.5 - Where Do We Go Now? A conversation with Young Company

    EP.5 - Where Do We Go Now? A conversation with Young Company

    Mark chats to Louie Ingham, Wambui Hardcastle, Elizabeth Doyle, Mark Melville and Lee Mattinson some of the creative voices from Northern Stage’s Young Company.  The conversation spans a number of different topics centred around the trilogy of work Young Company have been creating from the 2018 sell out show Where Do We Stand to the hugely successful Where Do We Belong in 2019 and this year’s production of Where Do We Go Now which was due to be welcoming an audience this week at Northern Stage.

    An inspiring chat about creativity, making theatre, deliberately missing deadline, the North and the brilliance of Beyonce's 'Homecoming'.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Notes

    Where Do We Stand & Where Do We Belong creative team:

    Louie Ingham & The Company – Director

    Lee Mattinson - Writer

    Mark Melville – Sound Designer & Composer

    Laurence Wilson - Writer

    Caroline Ryan – BSL Interpreter

    Lee McMenemy – Live Musician

    Jill Adamson - Director of Participation, Northern Stage

    Kris Deedigan – Filmmaker (My Life Productions)



    Resource Links

    Kris Deedigan -https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kris_Deedigan

    My Life Productions -http://mylifeproductions.co.uk/

    Gateway Studio Project -https://www.gatewaystudios.co.uk/

    Jen McGinley - https://www.jenmcginley.com/

    NARC Magazine - Wambui Hardcastle - https://narcmagazine.com/interview-young-company/

    NARC - https://narcmagazine.com/

    Spectrum - Florence & The Machine - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=iC-_lVzdiFE

    Erasure - A Little Respect - Erasure - A Little Respect (Official Music Video) - YouTube

    Garten Stanley -

    • 1 hr 13 min
    EP.4 - Tales from the Smog: Scott Turnbull

    EP.4 - Tales from the Smog: Scott Turnbull

    In the latest episode of the Northern Stage Theatre Podcast, Mark and Louie have a chat with the super talented Scott Turnbull the maker behind, 'Where Do All The Dead Pigeons Go?' and 'Tales From The Smog' which was due to be performed this week at Northern Stage. It’s a hugely enjoyable hour, so have a listen to the Scott talk all things from Stockton to the making process and 80s TV to the current government. We hope you enjoy it

    The interview was recorded across various houses in Newcastle and London on 20 April 2020.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Notes:

    Video promoting 'The Unseen Exhibition' at Northern Stage - watch here

    Pilot Episode of 'The Smog' Podcast - listen here

    • 59 min
    EP.3 - Bonbons Cabaret: The House of Love

    EP.3 - Bonbons Cabaret: The House of Love

    Northern Stage's Associate Director's Mark Calvert chats to the House of Love, the creative force behind the BonBons Cabaret. The House of Love is Cameron Sharp, Rebecca Glendenning, Hattie Eason, Max Easter, Rhianne Bowes and Brennan Flanders, who wasn’t available at the time of recording.

    The House of Love were due to perform at Northern Stage this Saturday, on Saturday 18th April. So, in place of that, here they are talking about everything from wigs to process, other work they’re undertaking to things they’re watching and listening to. We hope you enjoy it. 

    The interview was recorded on 14 April 2020 in various houses across Newcastle and Gateshead.

    Transcript available to download here.

    Notes:

    The Vicar of Dibley & Brooklyn 99- Available on Netflix

    Feel Good - Available on Channel 4

    Hannah Montana - Available on Disney+

    Wild Rose (Film and Soundtrack) - Available on Amazon Prime Video

    Nina Hagen cover of 'My Way' - youtube.com/watch?v=Q-qYcwvyZ0U

    Your Aunt Fanny - facebook.com/Yourauntfanny/

    The Six Twenty -  www.thesixtwenty.com

    Caroline Liversidge - carolineliversidge.com

    Anna Robinson - arobinsonscene.com

    Jenni Winter - facebook.com/musicaltheatrecabaret /youtube.com/channel/UCJNd58sej4PimHMvbGfC3DA/featured 

    Alphabetti Theatre - alphabettitheatre.co.uk/

    Live Theatre - .org.uk/

    Cast:

    House of Love: @houseoflove_ne

    Bonnie and the Bonnettes: bonnieandthebonnettes.co.uk / @BonnieBonnettes

    MXYM: @TheMXYM / MXYM's music at bit.ly/34mXI50

    Rhianne Bowes: @RainBowes1997

    Hattie Eason: @hattieperformer

    Cameron John: @Cameron_John_

    Becky Glendenning-Laycock: @glendenninining

    Brennan Flanders/ Vol-Au-Vent Love (Facebook - facebook.com/Vol.Au.Vent.Love/ Instagram - @vol.love)

    Alex Fisher (Producer)

    TJMov (Facebook: facebook.com/tjmov/)

    Hattie's Live Sessions can be found at Twitter: @hattieperformer Insta: @hattieeasonperformer

    Facebook: @hattieeasonperformer

    • 1 hr

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
4 Ratings

4 Ratings

Top Podcasts In Performing Arts