41エピソード

Golf Rules because GolfRules

Have you ever had a question about a golf rule. Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just simply intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf.

Well then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you.

Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-host Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.

The GolfRules Questions Podcast David Blake & Ross Flannigan

    • スポーツ

Golf Rules because GolfRules

Have you ever had a question about a golf rule. Been left confused about why a rule is what it is. Had to question a playing partner over a rules decision or just simply intrigued by the rules of this great game of golf.

Well then The GolfRules Questions Podcast is the place for you.

Join resident GolfRules Questions guru Blakey and co-host Rossco as they dive in behind the scenes to help bring you the latest information from the world of golf rules in a fun and entertaining way.

    Pre-US Open 2021 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP41

    Pre-US Open 2021 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP41

    GRQotW40 ANSWER
    Fraser walks into the bunker that his ball is at rest in, and tests the depth of the sand with his feet by digging in when taking his reasonable stance. Does Fraser incur any penalties?  

    US Open Rules incidents, here are two of the biggest (to talk about):
    Dustin Johnson - ball moved on the green
    Phil Mickelson - made a stroke at his ball that was in motion after a stroke on the putting green.  

    Tainted Drop Tain Lee playing in just his third PGA Tour event at the age of 31, what seems to be over-the-hill on the PGA Tour, hits it into a penalty area and then takes a lateral relief drop. When dropping the ball many believe that Tain deliberately threw the ball down so that it struck the relief area with force and then bounced into the penalty area. The Palmetto Championship Tournament Committee discussed it with Tain and didn’t see it as a violation. https://youtu.be/K_veLyiv4YA
    How to get the ball back into play when taking free or penalty relief - dropping. Basically, how to drop the ball.
    The player must let go of the ball from a location at knee height so that the ball:
    Falls straight down, without the player throwing, spinning or rolling it or using any other motion that might affect where the ball will come to rest, and
    Does not touch any part of the player’s body or equipment before it hits the ground. The ball is in play as soon as you let go of it, but whether you can play it from where it comes to rest will depend on what happened to it on the way down, and where it is at rest.

    Referee Antswers SungJae’s Question Sungjae Im had some issues with ants around his ball at the Palmetta Championship. A referee was called in, who provided no free relief to the player, letting him know that their bite was not harmful. SungJae played his ball as it lay. https://youtu.be/wYcaFS09xQU   

    Fight After Player Doesn’t Help Another Play Search for Their Ball In a Monday qualifier on the Korn Ferry Tour (for the Wichita Open), two players got into a scuffle mid-way through their round. The group was behind on pace of play and it is not exactly known who was the main cause of the delay, but one of players had a ball search, that two of them went to look for, the third player and his caddie (dad) didn’t bother to help. This was brought to the third player’s attention by player 1, whose retort was play better. Player 3 then went and struck player 1, and charges were laid. Player 2 was a bit shaken up, able to go back out on the course and continue his round, but was also given a refund, he managed a 79.  

    Commentator Ivor  

    Background Bingo
    Rossco - Lonsdale Links
    Blakey - The Olympic Club, where the 2021 US Women’s Open was held.  

    GRQotW41 True or False:  If it is not physically possible to drop the ball in any part of the identified relief area, the player is not allowed relief from the condition.

    • 51分
    Out-takes from the PGA rules and David fires up Rossco | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 40

    Out-takes from the PGA rules and David fires up Rossco | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 40

    Episode 40 - Blakey Is Back

    GRQotW39
    A group of four players, having a good day until they get to the Par 5 seventh hole
    From the tee Player A and Player B slice their balls into right rough Player C and Player D hit ok down the middle of the fairway.
    Second shot Player B arrives in the right rough and plays a ball which he hits somewhat across the fairway to rough on the left hand side.
    Player A arrives and plays a ball from near where B played his shot, and hits down the right side of the fairway. Player C hits his second shot into the rough on the left hand side of the fairway. Similar place to where Player B just hit his shot into.
    Player D hits his shot down the middle again.
    Third  shot Player B arrives in the left rough and hits a ball to the green. Player C from similar place in left rough hits ball to green. Player A arrives at his ball to play his third shot and announces "I have hit the wrong ball" At the green When they hear Player A call about hitting the wrong ball. Players B and C proceed to the green, then mark and examine the balls they played. Both Player B and Player C announce "I have hit the wrong ball also".  

    The answer is:
    There were no other balls on the course, not any stray balls or other players' balls.
    Player A hit one wrong ball, incurs one general penalty and must go back to his tee shot to play his ball, lying three.
    Player B hit two wrong balls, but only incurs one general penalty as the second wrong ball was a related act. Player B must go back to where his tee shot landed, lying 3.
    Player C hit one wrong ball, incurs one general penalty and must go back to where his second shot came to rest, lying 4.
    Player D incurs no penalties.  

    While I was away: Victoria went into another lockdown  

    Phil Mickelson won the PGA Championship And we had some Rules scenarios of course  

    Brandan Grace’s Ball Embedded in Sand - https://youtu.be/MxC9GTqzaEE  

    Phil Worsens His Conditions - https://youtu.be/FKrxXXY41ao  

    Phil Drops on the Putting Green - https://youtu.be/ABSR2U9TozE  

    Spectator Touches Phil’s Ball - https://youtu.be/km9C_VEGXqQ  

    Phil and Louis go in the same penalty area - https://youtu.be/1H7wexNcJhY  

    During my break I was also able to get up to the alpine region of Victoria, and it was the perfect time to be there around April for the autumn colours. Myself and my videographer friend Henry Peters went for a journey of exploration and got some footage of the courses, the region and of course some Rules situations.   

    Background Bingo -  
    Rossco - Donegal GC, Murvagh, Ireland
    Blakey - Myrtleford GC, Victoria, Australia  

    GRQotW 40 Fraser walks into the bunker that his ball is at rest in, and tests the depth of the sand with his feet by digging in when taking his reasonable stance. Does Fraser incur any penalties?

    • 54分
    Tour Rulings Catch-Up | THE GRQ PODCAST EP39

    Tour Rulings Catch-Up | THE GRQ PODCAST EP39

    Ep 39 - Tour Rulings Catch-Up

    GRQotW38
    Is there a penalty and how many, if you search for your ball for 5 minutes and can’t find it?
    There is a penalty of one stroke for a lost ball - Rule 18.2, AND There is a penalty of one stroke for an unreasonable delay of play - Rule 5.6.

    Blakey Changes to Right-Handed and Gains Free Relief https://youtu.be/9B-H_gVmk7c
    Good video about whether changing dexterity means you still entitled to free relief. 

    Cantaly Asks for Green Blow Job - https://youtu.be/t_wFu3MjZnM
    1. You are permitted to remove loose impediments anyway you like, as long as you be careful about causing your ball to move. Exception on the putting green or in the teeing area. 2. As long as you don’t unreasonably delay play. 3. And as long as you don’t unreasonably improve your conditions.

    Morikawa Practices in the Sand - https://youtu.be/6GhkNU_3Li4
    You are permitted to practice in another bunker incl. Touching the sand (provided you don’t improve your conditions), and you are also permitted to practice in a sandy area that is in the general area of the course. Some courses have sandy areas/sandy waste lands, especially those near a desert or the beach.

    Marc Leishman chips in after Controversial Penalty Drop https://youtu.be/sSLOBs5h_9I
    There was a few that weren’t happy with Leish’s drop, believing it to be nearer the hole than the estimated point of where the ball last crossed into the penalty area. 

    Lydia Ko Holes Out Off Hannah Green’s Ball https://youtu.be/Wr3jPbprzrU
    Lydia Ko and Hannah Green were playing when Lydia hit her ball and it bounced off Hannah’s ball and went into the hole. Hannah was required to replace her ball as it been moved by Lydia’s but the story is that she didn’t as she was not made aware of the facts. 

    IVOR - nothing this week

    Background Bingo
    Rossco - Peninsula Kingswood & Blakey - Norfolk Island

    GRQotW39
    A group of four players, having a good day until they get to the Par 5 seventh hole
    From the tee
    Player A and Player B slice their balls into right rough
    Player C and Player D hit ok down the middle of the fairway.
    Second shot
    Player B arrives in the right rough and plays a ball which he hits somewhat across the fairway to rough on the left hand side.
    Player A arrives and plays a ball from near where B played his shot, and hits down the right side of the fairway.
    Player C hits his second shot into the rough on the left hand side of the fairway. Similar place to where Player B just hit his shot into.
    Player D hits his shot down the middle again.
    Third  shot
    Player B arrives in the left rough and hits a ball to the green.
    Player C from similar place in left rough hits ball to green.
    Player A arrives at his ball to play his third shot and announces "I have hit the wrong ball"
    At the green
    When they hear Player A call about hitting the wrong ball.
    Players B and C proceed to the green, then mark and examine the balls they played.
    Both Player B and Player C announce "I have hit the wrong ball also".

    • 57分
    What are Rules there for? | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 38

    What are Rules there for? | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 38

    Episode 38  

    What are Rules there for?  

    GRQotW37 
    Lena’s original ball off the tee looked to have become stuck in a tree. After a small search around the area, Lena headed back to play a provisional ball. The provisional ball was played, after two minutes of searching for the original ball, towards the same area, struck a tree and two balls fell out. The original and the provisional ball. What is the ruling? 

    ANSWER: 

    A ball was found where the original ball was suspected to be and this was within the 3 minute search period. It may have taken the player more than the 3 minute search time to get to their ball to identify it, but if it is the original ball, then it is still the ball in play as the important point is that it was found within the 3 minute search time. The original ball was moved by the provisional ball. The provisional ball is an outside influence and thus the original ball needs to be replaced. The provisional ball is a movable obstruction/abandoned ball once the original ball was found within the correct search time. The player needs to estimate where the original ball had come to rest. That was the place it was sitting until it was moved by the provisional ball. This is the difficult part, it may have been 3 metres up the tree, or close to the ground. It would need to be estimated when standing underneath it. Possibly the player couldn’t even get to the spot where the ball is estimated to have been at rest. They would then need to take an unplayable under Rule 19.2, using the spot on the ground directly below the spot of the reference point. If the player could get to the spot where the ball would have come to rest, but it won’t stay at rest and the spot where it will stay at rest, the player can’t reach, they would also need to take an unplayable using the spot on the ground directly below where the ball would have come to rest. However, if the player could get to the spot where the ball was estimated to have been at rest, but it won’t stay at rest, the nearest spot where the ball would stay at rest may be at the base of the tree on the ground and the player would be required to place it there. The player could then play it or take an unplayable.  

    What are Rules there for? 

    Let’s first establish why we have such complex Rules and what you can do to increase your knowledge . 

    The golf course is huge, on average about 150 acres. 

    There are many different aspects to a golf course including:
    Teeing areas
    Fairways and rough
    Bunkers
    Putting greens
    Out of bounds
    Penalty Areas  

    The Rules are there to provide consistency for situations that occur.  

    How to learn the Rules of Golf? 

    The best way to learn the Rules of Golf - head to the R&A and USGA websites, not only do they have all the Rules and Interpretations and Clarifications, but they also provide test questions and mock exams.   

    www.golfrulesquestions.com has many tests that you can take to upskill yourself. Fraser Nicol and his huge excel spreadsheet has nearly 3500 questions and answers. So there are definitely plenty of resources out there to learn the Rules.  

    Moving a Loose Impediment 

    A loose impediment may be removed anywhere on or off the course. Maybe done so in any way - we’ve talked about moving loose impediments with blowers.  You may receive assistance to move a loose impediment - Tiger’s boulder And you may break a loose impediment into parts when moving it without penalty.  

    Background Bingo  
    Rossco - Barnbougle Dunes Golf Links
    Blakey - Eastern Golf Club  

    GRQotW38
    Is there a penalty and how many, if you search for your ball for 5 minutes and can’t find it?

    • 48分
    MASTERS REPORT | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 37

    MASTERS REPORT | THE GRQ PODCAST EP 37

    Masters Report

    Will Zalatoris looks like Happy Gilmore’s caddie - video views are up  

    GRQotW36 Answer 

    Fraz has Webbo caddying for him during the first round of the club championships. On the 9th tee, after Fraz has teed off, Webbo runs off to talk to a man about a dog. Fraz doesn’t want to carry his heavy golf bag (many golf balls weighing it down), so he gets Steve to carry his bag to where his ball is at rest. Steve tells Fraz the distance and that he should hit a 7 iron with a wee bit of a draw. After Fraz hits his second shot, Webbo reappears and takes over caddying duties. Steve continues to walk beside Fraz and Webbo and holds Fraser’s jacket and umbrella for the rest of the round. Does Fraz incur any penalties?  

    Fraser does not incur any penalties: He only ever had one caddie at any one time. He did not change caddies for the sole purpose of gaining advice. The new caddie was there to sub in for what the old caddie would have provided, i.e. carrying the bag, advising what club to use for a specific shot. Carrying other equipment such as a jacket and umbrella, is not considered to be a caddie unless named as one, or also carries the player’s clubs.  

    Matt Wolff DQ for score Matt Wollf had a triple bogey on the 17th hole during round 2, but only wrote down a double bogey. In this case, signing for a score lower than to which the player had actually taken was a disqualification penalty.  

    Bernd Wiesberger putted into penalty area on 15th Bernd was putting for eagle during round 1 on hole 15. Unfortunately he putted his first into the Yellow Penalty Area , then used option 1 stroke and distance under Rule 17.1d to replace a ball back at the original spot on the green, and two putted from there for a bogey.  

    Adam Scott caused his ball to move on 15 during round 3. He took a penalty and replaced his ball.  

    Si Woo Kim damages his putter and then putted with his utility wood for the last 4 holes.  

    Abraham Ancer grounds club in sand and was penalised two strokes. This was after he had signed and returned his scorecard. But because he wasn’t aware of the breach when he signed and returned the scorecard, the penalty was added, but no dq was assessed.  

    Hideki hits ball into penalty area on 16 whilst playing 15th hole - Red 

    Xander hits ball into penalty area on 16 whilst playing 16th hole - Yellow  

    Background Bingo 

    Last week Rossco - The Hills (18th hole) Blakey - Roxburgh 

     Ivors - Fraser the Jambo  

    GRQotW37 
    Lena’s original ball off the tee looked to have become stuck in a tree. After a small search around the area, Lena headed back to play a provisional ball. After two minutes of searching for the original ball the provisional ball was played, it headed towards the same area, struck a tree and two balls fell out. The original and the provisional ball.

    What is the ruling?

    DO YOU HAVE A RULES OF GOLF QUESTION: Email - golfrules.questions@gmail.com  

    WANT TO TEST YOUR RULES OF GOLF KNOWLEDGE? Head to: www.golfrulesquestions.com  

    WANT A QUICK GOLF RULES REFERENCE Head to Instagram: @golfrules_questions (https://www.instagram.com/golfrules_questions/?hl=en)  

    OR JOIN THE FACEBOOK COMMUNITY https://www.facebook.com/golfrulesquestions 

    LISTEN TO THE GRQ PODCAST ON APPLE OR SPOTIFY Click here: https://anchor.fm/golfrules-questions 

    SUBSCRIBE to GOLFRULES QUESTIONS https://bit.ly/2I8KrVH for all your golf rules

    • 52分
    Masters Week 2021 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP36

    Masters Week 2021 | THE GRQ PODCAST EP36

    Masters Week 2021   

    GRQotW35 - Steve and Mary are partners in a foursome. Steve tees his ball up within the Red teeing area and hits his ball towards the boundary fence where it may have come to rest inside or outside the fence. Mary, who has been playing from the White tees all day, thinks they should play a provisional. Who must now hit the provisional ball and where must it be hit from?   

    Mary is required to hit the provisional ball if they choose to play one, and this would be from where the previous stroke was made. In this case, Steve played from the Red teeing area. Rule 18.3 and 22.3   

    Lena Selberg let me know that she has passed her Level 1 Rules of Golf through the Swedish Golf Federation, so shout out to all the swedes who listen to the podcast, and well done Lena. 

    Lena also had a follow-up question to the GRQotW35: What if this occurred in a greensome? 

    Next we have Charlie Tebbs - Four quick questions

    1. Player accidentally causes their ball that is at rest in the general area e.g. by accidentally knocking it with their club (but not while taking practice strokes).     

    1. If the player's ball is in the general area, a penalty area, or a bunker, then accidentally causing their ball to move is a penalty of one and the ball must be replaced. Exceptions:  Player allowed to lift or move ball (e.g. replacing ball) During a search When applying a Rule (e.g. lifting ball to take an unplayable)   

    2. Player accidentally moves their ball by hitting it during their practice swings when in the general area.    

    2. This is the same answer as 1. A practice swing doesn't count as a stroke, so the player has accidentally caused their ball to move, they incur a one stroke penalty, and the ball must be replaced.   

    3. Player accidentally causes their ball to move as they start their backswing, continues the stroke and hits the moving ball.    

    3. It depends where the ball was at rest as to what the answer is: If the ball was at rest in the teeing area, then there is no penalty for causing it to move, and no penalty for hitting a moving ball. At rest in the general area, then there is no penalty for hitting a moving ball, but there would be a penalty IF it was determined that the cause of the ball moving was by the player. On the green, if the movement was accidental, no penalty, and no penalty for hitting a moving ball.   

    4. If a ball is at rest in the general area, but part of the ball is above the line defining the edge of a penalty area.   

    4. Yes, the ball is in the penalty area. The boundary of a penalty area is the outside edge, and goes both straight up, and straight down.  When taking a drop, what is the relief area? Don’t need to stand in or outside to drop the ball Tees and clubs that are still on the ground marking the area are considered equipment. Did it come to rest within the relief area? Yes, ball is back in play. Did it roll outside, then re-drop the ball.  

    Background bingo 

    Rossco - Lahinch  Blakey - Paraparaumu Beach  

    GRQotW36 

    Fraz has Webbo caddying for him during the first round of the club championships. On the 9th tee, after Fraz has teed off, Webbo runs off to talk to a man about a dog. Fraz doesn’t want to carry his heavy golf bag (many golf balls weighing it down), so he gets Steve to carry his bag to where his ball is at rest. Steve tells Fraz the distance and that he should hit a 7 iron with a wee bit of a draw. After Fraz hits his second shot, Webbo reappears and takes over caddying duties. Steve continues to walk beside Fraz and Webbo and holds Fraser’s jacket and umbrella for the rest of the round. Does Fraz incur any penalties?

    • 43分

スポーツのトップPodcast