15 episodes

Two Aussie circus artists living in the UK chat to professionals from the circus and music world about their lives. We interview artists/ producers/ directors, and showcase independent music from professional friends of ours from across the world. This is an independent production, so if you like our work please head over to https://ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness to buy us a coffee, or drop us a review on your podcasting platform of choice so we can keep doing what we love by giving circus a voice. Big Love, be kind, and thank you for listening. Email contact: amonkeyonyourbackpodcast@gmail.com

A Monkey on Your Back: Circus and Music Podcast Amazing Gracie & Miss Radida

    • Arts
    • 5.0 • 1 Rating

Two Aussie circus artists living in the UK chat to professionals from the circus and music world about their lives. We interview artists/ producers/ directors, and showcase independent music from professional friends of ours from across the world. This is an independent production, so if you like our work please head over to https://ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness to buy us a coffee, or drop us a review on your podcasting platform of choice so we can keep doing what we love by giving circus a voice. Big Love, be kind, and thank you for listening. Email contact: amonkeyonyourbackpodcast@gmail.com

    Episode 13: Interview with Spanish artist Gonzalo Santamaria

    Episode 13: Interview with Spanish artist Gonzalo Santamaria

    Gonzalo Santamaria is a Spanish circus artist, producer, director, and Kaotic Cirkus festival coordinator from Valencia who trained in Bristol, UK, at Circomedia. This interview took place end of September 2020, so it has taken us a while to get it out to you, but it is a lovely interview none-the-less, with music from Spandex Moose, La Trocamba Matanusca, and yet another fabulous tune from The Invisible Circus' house band The Carny Villains. 

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness and please leave us a review, or a star-rating wherever you get your podcasts from: apple podcasts is the best place to leave a review for us, if possible.

    Links:

    Podcast FB: https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast instagram: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida, website: www.missradida.com

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb

    Gonzalo Santamaria: https://gonzalosantamaria.com/biography/artist/

    The Invisible Circus: https://invisiblecircus.co.uk/

    Spandex Moose: https://soundcloud.com/spandexmoose

    The Carny Villains: http://www.thecarnyvillains.com/

    La Trocamba Matanusca: http://latrocamba.com/

    Educircation Project: http://www.educircation.eu/

    Circomedia: https://www.circomedia.com/

    L'espai de Circ: http://espaidecirc.com/

    "Save the Temazo": https://savethetemazo.org/

    Carampa Circus School, Madrid: http://carampa.com/

    Mario Queen of the Circus: https://marioqueenofthecircus.com/

    • 1 hr
    Episode 12: Francesca (Chez) Dunford, performance artist and musician, (PART 2)

    Episode 12: Francesca (Chez) Dunford, performance artist and musician, (PART 2)

    This is PART 2 of the interview with Francesca (Chez) Dunford. She sat down with Miss Radida last week to chat about life as a multi-disciplinarian, share some of her own stunning original music from her album 'Of Forest', and talk about a new show she is in with Bristol-based clowning/ improvisation company 'Beyond the Ridiculous'. Their show 'The New Normal' airs live online at 8pm TONIGHT 10th Oct, 2020, supported by Bristol's very own Wardrobe Theatre. You can watch the show by buying a ticket at https://thewardrobetheatre.com/livetheatre/beyond-the-ridiculous/. In this episode we talk about working with Performers Without Borders in refugee camps and working with other social-circus organisations such as Bristol's Invisible Youth, Everybody Dance, and using circus as a tool for social change. 

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness and please leave us a review, or a star-rating wherever you get your podcasts from.

    Links:

    Podcast FB: https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast instagram: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida, website: www.missradida.com

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb

    Chez Dunford music: https://chezdunford.bandcamp.com/album/of-forest, website: https://www.chezdunford.co.uk/

    Holly Stoppit clowning: https://www.hollystoppit.com/, Beyond the Ridiculous: https://www.hollystoppit.com/beyond-the-ridiculous

    The Invisible Circus: https://invisiblecircus.co.uk/

    Invisible Youth: https://invisiblecircus.co.uk/invisible-youth/

    Circus Montini: https://circusmontini.eu/

    Performers Without Borders: https://www.pwb.ngo/

    Refugee Youth Service: https://helprefugees.org/about-2/

    Project Play: http://project-play.org/

    Educircation/ Erasmus Project: http://www.educircation.eu/

    Care 4 Calais: https://care4calais.org/about-us/

    Wyldwood Arts/ Grief Notes: https://www.wyldwoodarts.co.uk/ourprojects/grief-notes

    Everybody Dance: https://everybodydance.org.uk/

    Kaotic Cirkus: https://www.facebook.com/HSandKC2018/

    Spandex Moose: https://soundcloud.com/spandexmoose

    • 48 min
    Episode 11: Francesca (Chez) Dunford, performance artist and musician, (PART 1)

    Episode 11: Francesca (Chez) Dunford, performance artist and musician, (PART 1)

    Francesca (Chez) Dunford is a clown, performance artist, musician, theatre-maker, acrobat and aerialist. She sat down with Miss Radida last week to chat about life as a multi-disciplinarian, share some of her own stunning original music from her album 'Of Forest', and talk about a new show she is in with Bristol-based clowning/ improvisation company 'Beyond the Ridiculous'. Their show 'The New Normal' airs live online at 8pm THIS SATURDAY 10th Oct, 2020, supported by Bristol's very own Wardrobe Theatre. You can watch the show online by buying a ticket at https://thewardrobetheatre.com/livetheatre/beyond-the-ridiculous/. We also shoot the breeze about life online in current times, how she found herself wanting to entertain from a very young age, her lifelong love of music, and reimagining herself as an artist in the current world. The interview is fun and informative, and yet again too long to upload as one episode, so we present it to you in two halves. This is PART 1 of the interview, PART 2 will be out in the next few days we promise!  

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness and please leave us a review, or a star-rating wherever you get your podcasts from. 



    Links:

    Podcast FB: https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast instagram: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida, website: www.missradida.com

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb

    Chez Dunford music: https://chezdunford.bandcamp.com/album/of-forest, website: https://www.chezdunford.co.uk/ 

    Holly Stoppit clowning: https://www.hollystoppit.com/, Beyond the Ridiculous: https://www.hollystoppit.com/beyond-the-ridiculous

    Take Art: https://takeart.org/

    Horse and Bamboo Theatre: https://www.horseandbamboo.org/

    Pif Paf Theatre: http://www.pif-paf.co.uk/

    The Invisible Circus: https://invisiblecircus.co.uk/

    Desperate Men/ Battle for the Winds: https://www.desperatemen.com/battle-for-the-winds-2/

    The Original Spinners: https://www.theoriginalspinners.com/

    Bullzini Family Circus: https://www.bullzinifamily.com/

    Circus Montini: https://circusmontini.eu/

    Nicole Pearson aerialist: http://www.nicolepearson.co.uk/

    Robert Foxall straps: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=os_A3Upyb2w&ab_channel=RobertFoxall

    Spandex Moose: https://soundcloud.com/spandexmoose

    • 56 min
    Episode 10: Mike Finch/ Circus Oz (Part 2)

    Episode 10: Mike Finch/ Circus Oz (Part 2)

    PART 2: Mike Finch, founding member of Australia's Circus Monoxide and ex-CEO/ co-Artistic Director of Circus Oz, sits down with Miss Radida for a nice long chat. Here is Part 2 of the  interview, took a bit longer than a week to get this out to you all as work has been pretty hectic lately. We suggest going all the way back to EPISODE 6 to listen to the first half of the interview first. In this episode we ask Mike about his addiction to working in circus, how he views circus life moving forward in the current pandemic crisis, and of course once again we have some more brilliant music from the Circus Oz Band and Sarah Ward, aka Yana Alana (and the Paranas). 

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness



    Links:

    Podcast FB: https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast insta: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida, website: www.missradida.com

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb

    Mike Finch: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mikefinch1/

    Circus Oz: https://www.circusoz.com/

    Circus Monoxide: https://www.circusmonoxide.com.au/

    Yana Alana and the Paranas/ Sarah Ward music: http://www.yanaalana.com/

    Smoking Hot Productions: http://smokinghotproductions.co.uk/

    Captain Frodo, The Amazing Rubber Man: https://www.facebook.com/Captain-Frodo-182882739832/, 

    Frodo's Podcast 'The Way of The Showman': https://www.stitcher.com/podcast/the-way-of-the-showman

    Strut 'N Fret Productions House: https://www.strutnfret.com/

    Fraser Hooper: https://fraserhooper.com/

    Matt Wilson: https://www.circusoz.com/circus-oz/cast-and-crew/details/168/matt-wilson.html?catid=10016

    Bangarra Dance Company: https://www.bangarra.com.au/

    Frank Woodley (Lano and Woodley): https://www.facebook.com/frankwoodley/

    Flip Kammerer: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9BJQG9c47Ig

    The Pitts Family Circus: https://www.thepitts.com.au/

    Daniel Oldaker: https://danieloldaker.com/

    Spandex Moose: https://soundcloud.com/spandexmoose

    • 59 min
    Episode 9: David Eriksson (Part 2)

    Episode 9: David Eriksson (Part 2)

    Here is the second part of the Interview GracieB did with the incredible Swedish performing artist David Eriksson.  In this episode David talks about his award winning show; Pink on the Inside, authenticity as an artist and he shares reflective stories about being onstage that also highlight the amazing colourful career he has.   We suggest if you haven’t already go back an listen to Episode 8: David Eriksson (part 1).  This episode will make more sense!

    We have a wickid track off the new Father Funk album (thanks Will!)

    David also shares a piece of music he did the vocals on a few years back and its AWESOME!

    Thanks so much David for the wonderful chats!

    www.baldwithballs.com

    insta: @baldwithballs

    Thanks Will (aka Father Funk) for your tunes and ongoing support with this project!

    You can purchase his new album from here:  fatherfunk.bandcamp.com

    A Monkey on your back is an independent production!

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness

    Links:

    Podcast FB:

    https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast insta: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida, website: www.missradida.com

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb, website: www.flameoz.com

    • 36 min
    Episode 8: David Eriksson (Part 1)

    Episode 8: David Eriksson (Part 1)

    In this episode GracieB chatted with incredible Swedish performing artist David Eriksson.  David mixes circus, juggling and acrobatics with absurd comedy making shows with characters that are bizarre yet wonderfully funny!  He has won awards, travelled the globe for the past 22yrs,  worked for some of the most renowned circuses and cabarets and made work that is deep and thought-provoking.  This was a long interview so we have decided to release it in two parts.  In this first part we chat about what it's like performing in the current climate, the need to address and adapt shows.  We speak about David growing up in Sweden and how this shaped who he is today.  We also spoke about his experiences training at Circomedia in Bristol, and how pivotal that was to his life and career.

    Thanks so much David for sharing your stories!   

    www.baldwithballs.com

    insta: @baldwithballs

    We have some amazing music by local Bristol based group @binbagwisdom  (Thanks Jack Wisdom!)

    www.binbagwisdom.co.uk

    binbagwisdom.bandcamp.com

    and a beautiful song by another Bristol artist The Undercover Hippy.  (Thanks Billy!)

    www.undercoverhippy.com

    https://undercoverhippy.bandcamp.com/

    A Monkey on your back is an independent production!

    Support us: ko-fi.com/monkeybusiness

    Links:

    Podcast FB: https://www.facebook.com/amonkeyonyourback/

    Podcast insta: @amonkeyonyourback

    Miss Radida insta: @missradida

    Gracie B insta: @theamazinggracieb

    • 47 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
1 Rating

1 Rating

Top Podcasts In Arts