196 episodes

Sorry Not Sorry tackles social, political and cultural issues from the perspective of unapologetic guests while highlighting activists doing amazing things throughout the country.

Alyssa Milano: Sorry Not Sorry Peace By Peace Productions

    • News
    • 3.1 • 3.4K Ratings

Sorry Not Sorry tackles social, political and cultural issues from the perspective of unapologetic guests while highlighting activists doing amazing things throughout the country.

    Kate Kelly on Abortion and the Equal Rights Amendment

    Kate Kelly on Abortion and the Equal Rights Amendment

    When the Supreme Court took away the right to abortion it said loudly and clearly that in America, women are not entitled to equal protection under the law. But the Equal Rights Amendment has been ratified by the states and is sitting in limbo. To help us make sense of it all, We’ve invited Kate Kelly on the show. Kate is a feminist, activist, and human rights lawyer. She’s a nationally known advocate for the ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment and host and creator of the podcast Ordinary Equality and author of a new book of the same name.


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 44 min
    Donna Jackson Nakazawa on Girls on the Brink: Helping Our Daughters Thrive in an Era of Increased Anxiety, Depression, and Social Media

    Donna Jackson Nakazawa on Girls on the Brink: Helping Our Daughters Thrive in an Era of Increased Anxiety, Depression, and Social Media

    Donna Jackson Nakazawa is an award-winning journalist and internationally-recognized speaker whose work explores the intersection of neuroscience, immunology, and human emotion. Her mission is to translate emerging science in ways that help those with chronic conditions find healing. Her new book Girls on the Brink: Helping Our Daughters Thrive in an Era of Increased Anxiety, Depression, and Social Media is now available.


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 45 min
    Andy Borowitz on Profiles in Ignorance: How America's Politicians Got Dumb and Dumber

    Andy Borowitz on Profiles in Ignorance: How America's Politicians Got Dumb and Dumber

    Our guest this week is Andy Borowitz. Andy is an award-winning comedian and New York Times bestselling author. He grew up in Cleveland, Ohio, and graduated from Harvard College, where he became President of the Harvard Lampoon. In 1998, he began contributing humor to The New Yorker’s “Shouts & Murmurs” and “Talk of the Town” departments, and in 2001, he created “The Borowitz Report,” a satirical news column, which has millions of readers around the world. In 2012, The New Yorker began publishing “The Borowitz Report.” As a storyteller, he hosted “Stories at the Moth” from 1999 to 2009. As a comedian, he has played to sold-out venues around the world, including during his national tour, “Make America Not Embarrassing Again,” from 2018 to 2020. His new book Profiles in Ignorance: How America's Politicians Got Dumb and Dumber is now available.

    Review

    “How did we slide into the abyss of liking our politicians to be—or to act—dumb rather than smart? In this funny but serious book, Andy Borowitz chronicles our embrace of anti-intellectualism.” —Walter Isaacson, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Code Breaker

    “This is one of these brilliant books that makes you laugh until you cry. Borowitz masterfully throws light (and shade) on the confederacy of dunces who have fumbled their way into power. His writing has never been smarter, sharper, or more necessary.” —Susan Orlean, New York Times bestselling author of The Library Book

    “A devastatingly funny takedown of a veritable Mount Rushmore of incompetents . . . In the hallowed tradition of Will Rogers, Mark Twain, H.L. Mencken, Ambrose Bierce, and other clear-eyed satirists, Borowitz skewers all manner of chronically befuddled, willfully ignorant dolts. . . . Ravaging this seemingly endless rogues’ gallery of buffoonery and corruption, Borowitz marshals mind-boggling, breathtaking evidence. . . . While there are countless laughs in the book, they have a rueful edge given that we are all affected by such widespread ignorance.” —Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

    “Readers may laugh, cry, or swear under their breath (sometimes all at once) with this scathing survey of the seemingly increasing ignorance of American politicians. Borowitz, a writer of page and screen and satirist for The New Yorker, humorously examines the ever-increasing, lowering-of-the-bar expectations of presidential candidates’ knowledge and beyond in this book that is perfect for fans of The Daily Show or John Lithgow’s “Dumpty” series. . . . For readers who have ever looked at the political landscape and asked how or why, this is a book that will inform and infuriate.” —Library Journal (starred review)

    “Andy makes me laugh out loud, that’s a given.  In this book he has also made me think out loud.  Profiles in Ignorance is hilarious, original, scary, prescient and a wake-up call for us all. A must read.” —Susie Essman, HBO’s Curb Your Enthusiasm

    “[Borowitz] sheds light on the cultural and economic trends that gave intellectualism a bad name and identifies the political operatives . . . who facilitated the rise of ignorance. Fans of The Borowitz Report will gobble this up.” —Publishers Weekly


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 47 min
    Abortion, Dobbs, and the Twisted Ethics of an Extremist Supreme Court with Katie Watson

    Abortion, Dobbs, and the Twisted Ethics of an Extremist Supreme Court with Katie Watson

    The cruel, bizarre, and frankly evil supreme court decision taking away a woman’s right to choose is wreaking havoc in the medical community. To help us make sense of the legal lay of the land and the ethical status of abortion, we’ve invited Katie L. Watson onto the show. Katie is an Associate Professor of Medical Education, Medical Social Sciences and Obstetrics and Gynecology at the Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine. She is also a lawyer who clerked in the federal courts, a bioethicist and the author of The Scarlet A: The Ethics, Law, and Politics of Ordinary Abortion.


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 40 min
    Michael Pollan on how Psychedelics can Change Your Mind

    Michael Pollan on how Psychedelics can Change Your Mind

    Our guest today is Michael Pollan. Since the 2018 publication of his New York Times bestseller How to Change Your Mind, Michael’s work on psychedelics has steered the national conversation on the medical potential and stigmas surrounding some of the most powerful, naturally-derived drugs. He furthers the discussion in his new book This is Your Mind on Plants and his Netflix Series “How to Change Your Mind.”


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 56 min
    Anya Kamenetz on The Stolen Year

    Anya Kamenetz on The Stolen Year

    Our guest this week is Anya Kamenetz. Anya has covered education for many years including for NPR, where she co-created the podcast Life Kit: Parenting. She speaks, writes, and thinks about learning and the future. Her new book The Stolen Year: How Covid Changed Children’s Lives, And Where We Go Now is now available.


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/alyssa-milano-sorry-not-sorry/message

    • 33 min

Customer Reviews

3.1 out of 5
3.4K Ratings

3.4K Ratings

Coach12554 ,

Sorry not Sorry

This was a terrific teaching moment. The newly released impending decision of the Supreme Court written by Justice Clarence Thomas is totally based on the right to privacy. Which you so apply stated twice.
Thank you for this, it will make my journey supporting women's equal rights a bit easier to explain educate and support.

nigey&jack ,

Educational

I enjoy learning about the history of women. Especially since a lot of it was never taught in school. Thank you for all you do. It makes me sad that you get so much hate and trolling. Your work is appreciated and needed. Thank you for all you do. Hang in there.

azwreck ,

So necessary

I just finished listening to the abortion story episode and am still crying. This is such good information. It’s so helpful in stopping being shamed for ordinary activities. I wish I could give this more than five stars

You Might Also Like

iHeartPodcasts
CNN
Mayim Bialik
Meidas Media Network, Leigh McGowan
Samantha Bee
iHeartPodcasts