41 min

Animating with CSS, JavaScript and SVG, and Avoiding Burnout, with Sarah Drasner The Versioning Show

    • Technology

In this episode, Tim and David are joined by Sarah Drasner, a teacher, author, consultant and staff writer at CSS-Tricks. They discuss animating with CSS, JavaScript and SVG, the advantages of animating with SVG over static graphics, SVG 2 and mesh gradients, staving off burnout, public speaking and writing, understanding better through teaching, paid vs community work, teaching in the Greek islands, and drawing snakes and lizards and dead things for encyclopedias.

Show Notes:
- Thanks to our sponsor, HelloSign: hellosign.com/api
- Sarah on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sarah_Edo
- SVG Animation: http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920045335.do
- Sarah on CodePen: https://codepen.io/sdras/
- Web Animations Workshop: https://webanimationworkshops.com
- Sarah's website: https://sarahdrasnerdesign.com
- GreenSock: https://greensock.com
- mo.js: http://mojs.io
- Web Animations API: https://www.sitepoint.com/bringing-pages-to-life-web-animations-api/
- D3.js: https://d3js.org
- React-Motion: https://github.com/chenglou/react-motion
- Field Museum: https://www.fieldmuseum.org
- Stack Overflow: https://stackoverflow.com
- CSS-Tricks: https://css-tricks.com
- David Walsh Blog: https://davidwalsh.name
- Amelia Bellamy-Royds: https://twitter.com/ameliasbrain
- Vue: https://vuejs.org
- View a transcript of this episode here: https://www.sitepoint.com/animating-with-css-javascript-and-svg#transcript
- Visit the Versioning Show home page: https://www.sitepoint.com/versioning-show/

Say hello on Twitter:
- M. David Green: twitter.com/mdavidgreen
- Tim Evko: twitter.com/tevko
- Versioning Show: twitter.com/versioningshow
- SitePoint: twitter.com/sitepointdotcom

In this episode, Tim and David are joined by Sarah Drasner, a teacher, author, consultant and staff writer at CSS-Tricks. They discuss animating with CSS, JavaScript and SVG, the advantages of animating with SVG over static graphics, SVG 2 and mesh gradients, staving off burnout, public speaking and writing, understanding better through teaching, paid vs community work, teaching in the Greek islands, and drawing snakes and lizards and dead things for encyclopedias.

Show Notes:
- Thanks to our sponsor, HelloSign: hellosign.com/api
- Sarah on Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sarah_Edo
- SVG Animation: http://shop.oreilly.com/product/0636920045335.do
- Sarah on CodePen: https://codepen.io/sdras/
- Web Animations Workshop: https://webanimationworkshops.com
- Sarah's website: https://sarahdrasnerdesign.com
- GreenSock: https://greensock.com
- mo.js: http://mojs.io
- Web Animations API: https://www.sitepoint.com/bringing-pages-to-life-web-animations-api/
- D3.js: https://d3js.org
- React-Motion: https://github.com/chenglou/react-motion
- Field Museum: https://www.fieldmuseum.org
- Stack Overflow: https://stackoverflow.com
- CSS-Tricks: https://css-tricks.com
- David Walsh Blog: https://davidwalsh.name
- Amelia Bellamy-Royds: https://twitter.com/ameliasbrain
- Vue: https://vuejs.org
- View a transcript of this episode here: https://www.sitepoint.com/animating-with-css-javascript-and-svg#transcript
- Visit the Versioning Show home page: https://www.sitepoint.com/versioning-show/

Say hello on Twitter:
- M. David Green: twitter.com/mdavidgreen
- Tim Evko: twitter.com/tevko
- Versioning Show: twitter.com/versioningshow
- SitePoint: twitter.com/sitepointdotcom

41 min

Top Podcasts In Technology

Lex Fridman
Jason Calacanis
The Cut & The Verge
The New York Times
NPR
The Wall Street Journal