308 episodes

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA's consulting editor Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

Bon Appétit Food People Bon Appétit

    • Arts
    • 4.2 • 2.2K Ratings

Welcome to Food People, a show from Bon Appétit made by, for, and about people who love food. Each week, BA's consulting editor Amanda Shapiro asks a serious or not-so-serious food question: What’s the best way to grill chicken? Can meal prep be less terrible? Are air fryers worth the hype? In search of answers or at least a spirited debate, she’ll bring in staffers, chefs, writers, and experts from across the culinary universe. Expect strong opinions, tons of recipe inspiration, and more food puns than we'd like to admit.

    How does a Bon Appétit issue get made?

    How does a Bon Appétit issue get made?

    It’s the last episode of Season 1! And to wrap things up, we’re tackling a question that, frankly, we ask ourselves a lot: How do we take a bunch of ideas, inspirations, recipes, and themes and turn them into a print issue almost every single month? Is it magic? Sort of! This week, we’re pulling back the curtain on the development process for our June/July combined issue (yes, we plan that far ahead). From choosing a theme to pitching ideas to actually developing a recipe, this is how it all happens. With test kitchen director Chris Morocco and special guest Asha Loupy, whose new popcorn chicken recipe is exactly what your Sunday needs, whether there’s a game on or not. 

    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 

    Check out BA’s June/July issue (discussed in this episode), coming to newsstands in 4 months!


    Asha Loupy’s Harissa Honey Popcorn Chicken recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/popcorn-chicken


    Asha Loupy’s Cabbage Roll Casserole recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cabbage-roll-casserole


    Asha Loupy’s recent BA articles https://www.bonappetit.com/contributor/asha-loupy


    Bon Appétit and Epicurious are joining forces to bring great cooking tools to help you along in the kitchen. Subscribe online for unlimited access to more than 50,000 recipes across Bon Appétit AND Epicurious.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 40 min
    What are the foods that made us fall in love?

    What are the foods that made us fall in love?

    Between the candlelit dinners, the big chocolate hearts, and the bottles of bubbly, Valentine’s Day is definitely a food holiday if you want it to be. Eating is romantic! And you don’t have to take our word for it. This year, we’re swallowing our cynicism and sharing stories of meet-cutes, first dates, and romantic meals from a few of our favorite couples in the world of food. Listen to find out how a paella helped seal the deal, how a plate of chilaquiles opened hearts, and what happens when you meet your soulmate in the BA test kitchen.

    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Morganstern’s Finest Ice Cream website https://www.morgensternsnyc.com/


    Tasty Hand-Pulled Noodles website  https://www.tastyhandpullednoodlesnyc.com/


    de Porres website https://www.de-porres.com/


    Essex Market website https://www.essexmarket.nyc/


    Lil’ Deb’s Oasis website  https://www.lildebsoasis.com/


    Taqueria Milear website https://taqueriamilear.com/


    Taqueria Milear Instagram https://www.instagram.com/taqueriamilear/?utm_medium=copy_link


    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 35 min
    Why are people obsessed with Trader Joe's?

    Why are people obsessed with Trader Joe's?

    Trader Joe’s shoppers can be… intense. Like, wait-around-the-corner-for-“Everything But The Bagel”-seasoning intense. From fan pages on Facebook to a thriving scene of Instagram influencers to the Supreme-level of hype around their new product drops, the grocery chain is basically a lifestyle brand at this point. Outside of Joe himself, no one knows that better than contributor Alex Beggs. Beggs has been writing Trader Joe’s snack reviews for four years, and she’s picked up some pretty strong opinions along the way. On this episode of the pod, she joins Amanda to talk about the best, the worst, and the weirdest Trader Joe’s products of all time. Tune in for hot takes on elote chips, the juices that go best with booze, and some fierce debate about that infamous cauliflower gnocchi.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 

    Alex Beggs’ Trader Joe’s Reviews https://www.bonappetit.com/tag/trader-joes

    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 32 min
    What are our secret weapon ingredients?

    What are our secret weapon ingredients?

    The January slump is hitting, and cooking is starting to feel pretty dull. But rather than giving up entirely, we’re leaning on the power of our pantries. Instead of re-inventing the wheel (of cheese?), we can rely on a few tried and true staples that we always have around, and use them in new and inventive ways. This week on the podcast, Amanda chats with associate food editor Kendra Vaculin and recipe developer extraordinaire Hetty McKinnon, who spill the tea about a few of their favorite year-round flavor boosters. Then, Ken Concepcion and Michelle Mungcal from Now Serving LA—a beloved cookbook shop that you should absolutely visit in LA’s Chinatown—stop by to share a few secret weapon cookbooks you’ll actually end up using.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Kimchi Kooks website  https://www.kimchikooks.com/


    Hetty McKinnon’s One-Pot Kimchi and Squash Mac and Cheese recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/one-pot-kimchi-and-squash-mac-and-cheese


    To Asia, With Love by Hetty McKinnon https://amzn.to/3xCjMqR


    Recipes from To Asia, with Love featuring Mushroom and Kimchi ‘Sausage Rolls’ https://www.goodfood.com.au/recipes/news/four-recipes-from-to-asia-with-love-by-hetty-mckinnon-20200716-h1peny


    Hetty McKinnon’s Sheet Pan Kimchi Fried Rice with Baked Eggs recipe https://www.today.com/recipes/sheet-pan-kimchi-fried-rice-baked-eggs-recipe-t173872


    Priya Krishna’s Saag Paneer, But With Feta recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/saag-paneer-but-with-feta


    Kendra Vaculin’s Spinach-Artichoke Dip Frittata recipe https://www.epicurious.com/the-smart-cook/spinach-dip-frittata-easy-dinner-article


    Brooklyn Delhi Saag Paneer recipe https://brooklyndelhi.com/blogs/news/saag-paneer


    Shilpa Uskokovic’s Creamy Spinach and Chickpeas recipe https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/creamy-spinach-and-chickpeas


    Hetty McKinnon’s Thai Curry Risotto recipe https://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/1021947-thai-curry-risotto-with-squash-and-green-beans

    Now Serving - Los Angeles website


    Ken and Michelle’s Cookbook Recommendations: 


    Everyone’s Table: Global Recipes for Modern Health by Gregory Gourdet with JJ Goode https://amzn.to/3GznANb


    Aloha Kitchen: Recipes from Hawai’i by Alana Kysar  https://amzn.to/3FDEGZ0


    Thank You for Smoking: Fun and Fearless Recipes Cooked with a Whiff of Wood Fire on Your Grill or Smoker by Paula Disbrowe https://amzn.to/3AitvE8


    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 39 min
    What does “healthy eating” even mean?

    What does “healthy eating” even mean?

    It’s New Year's resolution season, which has a lot of us thinking about eating healthier. That word, “healthy,” can mean so many different things to so many different people—so much so that finding a good definition can be pretty tough. But senior food editor Christina Chaey's new series of recipes from our annual Healthyish issue are a good starting point. This week on the podcast, Christina joins Amanda to talk through what she’s been cooking so far in 2022, then associate editor Ali Francis stops by to talk medicinal mushrooms, comfort foods, and more wellness trends we’re expecting to see a lot of in the year to come.

    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    Christina Chaey’s Sticky and Spicy Baked Cauliflower recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sticky-and-spicy-baked-cauliflower


    Christina Chaey’s Cheesy Tomato Beans with Broccoli Rabe recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cheesy-tomato-beans-with-broccoli-rabe

    Ali Francis’ 2022 Health Trend Predictions: 


    Golde Shroom Shield: https://fave.co/33kZgzH


    RASA Original – Adaptogenic Mushroom Coffee Alternative: https://amzn.to/3F6b5XS


    Snow Days Pizza Bites website : https://fave.co/3HUAZzN


    Goodles website: https://goodles.com/


    GIGANTIC! Candy website: https://giganticcandy.com/


    FLO Vitamins : https://flovitamins.com/products/flo-pms-gummy-vitamins?variant=32465558831207&currency=USD&utm_medium=product_sync&utm_source=google&utm_content=sag_organic&utm_campaign=sag_organic&gclid=Cj0KCQiAweaNBhDEARIsAJ5hwbd_X2bkoTjFdSkrt6ILX0BhsOE-zlkXjbUnlA-4MGixvk17wNSJDW0aAo1XEALw_wcB


    Phasey Seed Cycling Blend : https://amzn.to/3Fe1tdw


    Christina Chaey’s Chicken Soup with Rice Noodles and Scallion Crisp recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/chicken-soup-with-rice-noodles-and-scallion-crisp


    Christina Chaey’s Adonis Spritz recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/adonis-spritz

    *(When you buy something through our links, we earn an affiliate commission.)
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 38 min
    What was the best thing we cooked this year?

    What was the best thing we cooked this year?

    It’s that old, familiar season, and we’re not just talking about eggnog, we’re talking about the season of “Best Of” lists. Here at BA, we’ve got plenty of best recipe round-ups in the pipeline, but those lists only tell half the story. In our eyes, the best recipes aren’t always the ones that “break the internet” (though sometimes they are—we’re looking at you Caramel Apple Cookies). They’re the ones that surprised us, taught us something new, or became our back-pocket go-tos week after week and month after month. This week, Amanda is joined by senior cooking editor Sarah Jampel and Test Kitchen director Chris Morocco to talk about which of this year’s recipes have stuck with them most. The result is a Best Of list that’s a bit less objective, a lot more opinionated, but still extremely delicious. Then, associate food editor Kendra Vaculin is back to talk about her favorite holiday recipes for kids.
    Stuff we talk about in this episode: 


    BA's official Top Ten Recipes List of 2021: https://bonappetit.com/gallery/most-popular-recipes-2021


    Roxanna Jullapat’s Granola Scones recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/granola-scones


    Bon Appétit on Roxanna Jullapat’s Book, Mother Grains: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/mother-grains-roxana-jullapat


    Shilpa Uskokovic’s Air Fryer Chile-Honey-Glazed Fries recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/chile-honey-glazed-fries


    Hetty McKinnon’s Pea and Ricotta Potstickers With Homemade Dumpling Wrappers recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/pea-and-ricotta-potstickers

    Dumpling Articles from Hetty McKinnon: 


    How to Fold Dumplings For Novices and Experts with Hetty McKinnon: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-folding-guide


    The Many Ways to Cook Dumplings, Explained: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-cooking-methods


    Hetty’s 12 Tips for Homemade Dumplings : https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-making-tips


    Hetty McKinnon’s article on the dumpling dowel: https://www.bonappetit.com/story/dumpling-dowel


    Kelly Janke’s Salted Caramel Apple Cookies recipe : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/salted-caramel-apple-cookies


    Rachel Gurjar’s Yogurt-Marinated Mushrooms With Flatbread recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/yogurt-marinated-mushrooms-with-flatbread


    Andy Baraghani’s Za’atar Chicken Cutlets With Cabbage Salad recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/zaatar-chicken-cutlets-with-cabbage-salad


    Asha Loupy’s Cheesy Tomato Hand Pies recipe: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/cheesy-tomato-hand-pies


    Red Jacket Orchards (Sarah’s Choice Apple Cider) website: https://redjacketorchards.com/

    Kendra Vaculin’s Recipes for Cooking with Kids


    Candy Cane Ice Cream in a Bag : https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/candy-cane-ice-cream-in-a-bag


    Sohla El-Waylly’s Salty-Sweet Party Mix: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/sweet-and-savory-miso-party-mix


    BA Party Mix: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/ba-party-mix


    Splatter Paint Sugar Cookies: https://www.bonappetit.com/recipe/spatter-paint-sugar-cookies


    Looking for merch for the food people in your life? Check out shop.bonappetit.com for aprons, candles, martini olive socks, and more.
    Learn more about your ad choices. Visit podcastchoices.com/adchoices

    • 37 min

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5
2.2K Ratings

2.2K Ratings

336va ,

Loved the episode on TJ

Must listen.

NLC2000 ,

Not good anymore

Just like the magazine, this podcast has gone from mandatory listening to maybe later. From interesting and inspiring to boring and unhelpful. BA and the BA podcast used to be my favorite magazine and favorite podcast (not my favorite FOOD magazine and podcast but my favorite favorite) because it was about food but it was really about culture and it really spoke to what people who love food cared about— really good home cooking and homewares, restaurant culture, travel and all the ways food is an important access point and in an important dialogue with broader culture. With this new direction I shudder to say that if they’re not careful even Food and Wine might become the better option.

wellrntufortunate ,

Loving the reboot

I’m really digging the chill vibes of food people. Thank you BA! Happy to hear from so many of my favorite contributors, food editors, and, of course, the special guests.

Top Podcasts In Arts

NPR
The Moth
Roman Mars
ABC News | Charlie Gibson, Kate Gibson
Sarah & Mia
Snap Judgment and PRX

You Might Also Like

Food52
American Public Media
Milk Street Radio
KCRW
Ed Levine
Dan Pashman and Stitcher