4 episodes

A podcast from gruntmonkey

Designing Opinion gruntmonkey LLC.

    • Arts

A podcast from gruntmonkey

    Bonus – Career Therapy

    Bonus – Career Therapy

    On February 21st, 2020 I sat down to talk with Martin McGovern on his Career Therapy podcast. We discussed how to begin a career in UX as a User Experience Designer, entrepreneurship, and the job search. It was a great conversation and you should subscribe to his show.



    Show notes:



    Jason Early is a UX Designer / Front-end Developer / Founder at gruntmonkey | UX and Front-end development Mentor at General Assembly.



    Connect with Jason on LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jsonerly/



    Follow Career Therapy:



    LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/martinmcgovern/



    Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/careertherapy/



    Meetup: https://www.meetup.com/Career-Therapy/



    Career Therapy Podcast:
    On Apple Podcasts
    On Spotify

    • 1 hr 3 min
    #3 – Internships

    #3 – Internships

    In this episode I talk internships with Gus Granger (@GusGranger), Principal & Creative Director at 70kft, and President of AIGA Dallas/Fort Worth.

    Show Notes:

    AIGA Guide to Internships: http://www.aiga.org/a-guide-to-internships/
    The Cost of Free Labor: http://www.aiga.org/the-cost-of-free-labor/
    The AIGA Paid Internship Pledge: http://www.aiga.org/interior.aspx?pageid=44&id=2386
    Creative Go-Round Internship Application: http://www.creativegoround.com/internapp.html

    #2 – Side Projects

    #2 – Side Projects

    Brian Dusablon (@briandusablon) joins me in this episode to talk side projects, failing fast, and facing your priorities.

    Show Notes:
    Emergent Radio – https://emergentradio.com/
    The Toolbar – https://emergentradio.com/shows/category/toolbar/
    Learning Ninjas – http://learningninjas.com/
    Work, Life And Side Projects http://www.smashingmagazine.com/2012/06/19/work-life-and-side-projects/ via @smashingmag (Smashing Magazine)
    Should You Encourage Employee Side Projects? http://www.inc.com/news/articles/2010/01/side-projects.html via @Inc (Inc. Magazine)
    Fail Fast, Fail Cheap http://buswk.co/MSg52g via @BW (Business Week)
    Happiness Makes Your Brain Work Better http://www.inc.com/jessica-stillman/happiness-makes-your-brain-work-better.html via @Inc (Inc. Magazine)
    Fight Club – http://amzn.com/0393327345 (Amazon.com)

    #1 – The One We Recorded in Mono

    #1 – The One We Recorded in Mono

    Guest Aaron Silvers (@aaronesilvers) joins Jason Early (@jason_early) for the inaugural episode in which they discuss the design and short comings of digital products, the responsibility of product creators to their users, and putting trust, belief, and expectation into things we have zero control over. But it probably turned out as a bunch of rambling. Hooray episode 1!

    Show Notes:
    Google buys Sparrow, current apps will not get any new features

    Let us pay for this service so it won’t go down by Marco Arment

    Howard the Duck