10 episodes

Good art - especially independent art - doesn't just happen. Host Garret Godfrey explores some of the best ways we all can be more supportive of faith-based independent music, including interviews and the latest crowdfunding campaigns.

Good Patron - UTR Media UTR Media

    • Music

Good art - especially independent art - doesn't just happen. Host Garret Godfrey explores some of the best ways we all can be more supportive of faith-based independent music, including interviews and the latest crowdfunding campaigns.

    23: Caroline Cobb, Ross King, Matt Searles

    23: Caroline Cobb, Ross King, Matt Searles

    A special interview with the artist behind this month's Spotlight Campaign, Caroline Cobb. Plus hear this month's challenge from Garret, and the latest active crowdfunding campaigns.

    ----------------- SPOTLIGHT CAMPAIGN ----------------
    * Caroline Cobb - Two albums about Jesus
    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/carolinecobb/songs-that-tell-the-story-two-new-albums-about-jesus

    ----------------- OTHER CAMPAIGNS -----------------
    * Ross King - New ablum - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/rosskingmusic/ross-king-new-album/
    * Megan Duke - Debut album - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/meganduke/megan-duke-debut-album-heart-on-fire/
    * Holly Abraham - Debut EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/hollyabraham/holly-abraham-debut-ep-release
    * Matt Searles - Psalms for Congregations - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/1575854942/psalms-for-congregations
    * Greg LaFollette - I'll Wait for You, My Love (New Old Hymns) - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/greglafollette/ill-wait-for-you-my-love-new-old-hymns
    * Leaven + Liturgies presents 8 songs in Romans 8 - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/leavenandliturgies/leaven-liturgies-presents-eight-8-songs-in-romans-8
    * Devin Pogue - Songs from Scripture - two new albums - https://www.gofundme.com/f/jeremiah-ep-and-debut-solo-album
    * Shilo Ben Hod - New Worship album - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/shilo-ben-hod-new-worship-album#/
    * Red - Declaration - https://red-official-store.myshopify.com/
    * Eric Clayton and the Nine - A Thousand Scars - https://www.ericclaytonandthenine.com/shop/

    ------------------ CREDITS ---------------------
    * Host/Producer - Garret Godfrey
    * Executive Producer - Dave Trout
    * SPONSOR 1: Sammy Lee Roller - https://is.gd/slrsp
    * SPONSOR 2: Mythical Me - IVP Book - https://is.gd/mmebook
    * SPONSOR 3: Weston Skaggs - https://is.gd/westonsp
    * SPONSOR 4: The Many - https://is.gd/manysp
    * The Disrupters Podcast - https://www.christianitytoday.com/partners/intervarsity-press/disrupters-change-what-is
    *Theme music by Royalty Free Kings http://www.royaltyfreekings.com
    * Bumper music is "Announcement Groove" by https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/home
    * Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodpatron
    * Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/crowdfundingchristianmusic

    (c) 2020 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit organization - info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 38 min
    22: Remedy Drive, The Innocence Mission, Jonathan Ogden

    22: Remedy Drive, The Innocence Mission, Jonathan Ogden

    Good music doesn't just happen - it's usually born out of a supportive community. We want to help you be a good patron of the artists you love. Garret has a challenge for you, plus learn about active crowdfunding campaigns going on now!

    -----------SPOTLIGHT CAMPAIGN-----------
    * Remedy Drive's Kickstarter
    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/remedydrive/fighting-slavery-with-music

    -----------OTHER CAMPAIGNS---------
    * Psalmist's Harp - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/thepsalmistsharp/the-psalmists-harp-the-whole-psalter-set-to-fasola-tunes
    * The Innocence Mission - See You Tomorrow - https://theinnocencemission.bandcamp.com/album/see-you-tomorrow
    * Jonathan Ogden - Twenty Four - https://jonathanogden.bandcamp.com/album/twenty-four
    * John Mark Pantana - Love Secrets (vinyl) - https://linktr.ee/johnmarkpantana
    * Undercover - Balance of Power (vinyl) - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/2113730376/reissue-balance-of-power-by-undercover
    * Focused - At Eternity's Gate - https://www.steadfastrecords.net/product-page/focused-at-eternity-s-gate-vinyl
    * Crucify The Flesh - Death-Rebirth - https://crucifytheflesh.bandcamp.com/album/death-rebirth

    ------------ CREDITS -------------
    * Host & Producer - Garret Godfrey
    * Executive Producer - Dave Trout
    * SPONSOR 1: Jeremy Casella - http://jeremycasella.bandcamp.com
    * SPONSOR 2: IVP Book "Mythical Me" - http://is.gd/mmebook
    * SPONSOR 3: Matt Case - http://is.gd/mcasesp
    * UTR's Buildathon 2019 Fundraiser - https://utrmedia.org
    * Theme Music by Royalty Free Kings http://www.royaltyfreekings.com
    * Bumper music is "Announcement Groove" by https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/home
    * Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodpatron
    * Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/crowdfundingchristianmusic

    (c) 2019 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit organization - more info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 20 min
    21: Mona Reeves, Kevin Max, Justin McRoberts

    21: Mona Reeves, Kevin Max, Justin McRoberts

    This month's challenge is to gather in community in support of the art we love. Also hear about crowdfunding campaigns from Mona Reeves, Kevin Max, Kate Hurley, Justin McRoberts, & more.

    ---------- SPOTLIGHT CAMPAIGN ----------
    * Mona Reeves - Sunday Night Church EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/sundaynightchurch/sunday-night-church-a-new-ep-from-mona-reeves

    ---------- OTHER CAMPAIGNS --------
    * Kevin Max - Romeo Drive vinyl - https://lightintheattic.net/releases/6041-romeo-drive
    * Justin McRoberts - Untitled 20 EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/justinmcroberts/justin-mcroberts-untitled-20
    * The Found EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/jessieb/the-found-ep
    * The Julies - Lovelive vinyl re-issue - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/lostinohio/the-julies-lovelife-lovingly-reissued-on-vinyl
    * Fang Fang - Oh My! - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/fangfangmusic/fang-fang-oh-my
    * Kate Hurley and Edenheart Collective - Live worship album - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/final-mix-edenheart-collective-live-album#/

    ----------- CREDITS ------------
    * Host/Producer - Garret Godfrey
    * Executive Producer - Dave Trout
    * SPONSOR 1: Eden Wilhelm - https://is.gd/edenwsp
    * SPONSOR 2: "Trail of Tears" - https://is.gd/totsingle
    * Kevin Max "Romeo Drive" Clear Vinyl LP Contest - https://utrmedia.org/winromeo
    * Green Room Door interview with Kevin Max - https://utrmedia.org/podcasts/green-room-door-podcast/
    * Theme music by Royalty Free Kings - http://www.royaltyfreekings.com
    * Bumper music is "Announcement Groove" by https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/home
    * Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodpatron
    * Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/crowdfundingchristianmusic

    (c) 2019 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit organization - info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 22 min
    20: Angel Perez, Sara Groves, Phil Madeira

    20: Angel Perez, Sara Groves, Phil Madeira

    This month's Good Patron challenge is to take a chance on a new-to-you artist. Plus Garret keeps you up to date on the latest crowdfunding campaigns.

    ------------ SPOTLIGHT CAMPAIGN ------------
    * Angel Perez - Influence
    https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/influencealbum/influence-by-angel-pito-perez
    https://soundcloud.com/angelpitoperez

    ------------ OTHER CAMPAIGNS -----------
    * Jack & Gabrielle Waters - Home EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/gabriellewatersmusic/home-ep
    * Nicole Unser - https://www.indiegogo.com/projects/nicole-unser-full-length-album
    * The Word In Worship Families - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/wiwfamilies/the-word-in-worship-families
    * Sara Groves - Joy of Every Longing Heart - https://saragroves.shop/
    * Phil Madeira - Open Heart - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/philmadeira/phil-madeiras-new-project-open-heart
    * Zach Winters - Love Is a Garden -- https://linktr.ee/zachwinters -- https://zachwinters.bandcamp.com/album/love-is-a-garden
    * Soulfood 76 - Original Soundtrack - https://lightintheattic.net/releases/5991-original-soundtrack

    -------------- CREDITS --------------
    * Host/Producer - Garret Godfrey
    * Executive Producer - Dave Trout
    * SPONSOR 1: John Lyzenga - http://is.gd/johnlsp
    * SPONSOR 2: UTR's GoFundMe Campaign - http://gofundme.com/utrmedia
    * SPONSOR 3: Joel Ansett - http://is.gd/joelasp
    * Theme music by Royalty Free Kings http://www.royaltyfreekings.com
    * Bumper music is "Announcement Groove" by https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/home
    * Twitter: https://twitter.com/goodpatron
    * Facebook Group: https://www.facebook.com/crowdfundingchristianmusic

    (c) 2019 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit organization - more info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 20 min
    19: City Psalms, Chris Taylor, Nichole Nordeman

    19: City Psalms, Chris Taylor, Nichole Nordeman

    We share info on new crowdfunding campaigns for Kevin Max, Nichole Nordeman, Land & Salt, and more - plus Garret shares how you can help indie artists by listening to your friends.

    -------- SPOTLIGHT CAMPAIGN ---------
    * City Psalms - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/citypsalms/city-psalms-four-songs-inspired-by-our-hometown
    https://www.citypsalms.com/

    ------------ OTHER CAMPAIGNS ------------
    * Chris Taylor - Lovers, Thieves, Fools & Pretenders - https://christaylor.bandcamp.com/album/lovers-thieves-fools-pretenders
    * Nichole Nordeman - Christmas album - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/nicholenordeman/a-christmas-album-from-nichole-nordeman
    * Dia - EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/diamusic97/new-christian-artist-ep/
    * Land & Salt - New EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/landandsaltep/land-and-salts-new-album
    * Emily Summmers - Evening & Morning (2 EPs) - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/eveningandmorning/evening-and-morning
    * Heidi Riddell - Settle Down EP - https://www.kickstarter.com/projects/heidiriddell/settle-down-an-ep-by-heidi-riddell
    * Kevin Max - Revisiting This Planet - https://www.generosityrocks.com/kevin-max

    ---------- CREDITS ----------
    * Host & Producer - Garret Godfrey
    * Executive Producer - Dave Trout
    * SPONSOR 1 - Joel Ansett - https://is.gd/joelasp
    * SPONSOR 2 - Make Sure - https://is.gd/msuresp
    * Theme music by Royalty Free Kings - http://www.royaltyfreekings.com
    * Bumper music is "Announcement Groove" - https://seeds.churchonthemove.com/home
    * GP Twitter - https://twitter.com/goodpatron
    * Facebook Group - https://www.facebook.com/crowdfundingchristianmusic
    * GP Email - goodpatronpodcast@gmail.com

    (c) 2019 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit media ministry - info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 22 min
    BONUS:  Nashville or Bust

    BONUS:  Nashville or Bust

    UTR Media & the Trout Family are relocating to the Nashville area. In this bonus podcast, Dave shares the journey and some of his hopes for the future.

    ----------- SONG LIST FOR THIS EPISODE ------------
    * "Ready or Not" - Drakeford
    * "Let Yourself Be Led" - Brianna Gaither
    * "Tomorrow Morning" - Wild Harbors
    * "Till We Go" - Mr. & Mrs. Something

    -------------- SPECIAL THANKS ---------------
    * SPONSOR: Make Sure's "Walk Home Instead" - https://is.gd/msuresp
    * CrossWinds Church, Chicago
    * Felts Partners in Nashville
    * Zak Tibstra for driving our moving truck!

    (c) 2019 UTR Media. All Rights Reserved. A 501(c)(3) non-profit ministry - info at https://utrmedia.org

    • 51 min

Customer Reviews

ProfessorAlan ,

Excellent idea, excellent execution

This is a great show that teaches people what it means to be a "good patron" of the arts, as well as finding excellent crowdfunding campaigns by Christian musicians, to potentially become a patron of.

VeeRonna ,

Garrett knows his stuff!

When it comes to understanding the Christian music scene, I can think of no one more versed and capable than Garrett Godfrey. Garrett is an excellent communicator, and his long time passion has been to unearth the gems of this genre. Garrett introduced me to artists early on some 18 years ago that I still enjoy today. In fact, I recently brought out an old cd of Waterdeep's Enter the Worship Circle--a band Garrett placed in front of me. You're awesome, Garrett!

djdarryL ,

Another great podcast from Garret

This fills a void of Christian music being played and available through Patron. There are not many people that know more about the Christian scene than Garret. I've been steered to many of my favorite artists through Garret's suggestions. Highly recommended podcast.

Top Podcasts In Music

Listeners Also Subscribed To