27 min

Historical, Small Town and Outback Fiction Hope Book Club

    • Arts

In this episode Natasha Moore and Katrina Roe have picked out some cracking fiction for you:

* 'Big Stone Gap' by Adriana Trigiani,
* 'The Young Lion' by Blanche D’Apulget, and
* 'The Lost Man' by Jane Harper

'Big Stone Gap' by Adriana Trigiani is a heart-warming small town story set around the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia – it’s also a New York Times bestseller, that’s been made into a movie. If you loved 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society', you’ll probably love this one! 

Now, for some good monarchy fiction. Fans of 'Game of Thrones' or 'Wolf Hall' need to know about Australian author Blanche d’Alpuget, wife of the legendary and recently departed former Prime Minister Bob Hawke. Her historical fiction series, 'Birth of the Plantagenets', tells the stories of King Henry II during his rise to power and his marriage to the French Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, and chancellor of England Thomas Becket and his falling out with the king. Now The Lion’s Torment - the third book in this series - has just been released. It follows Henry, Eleanor and Becket in a tumultous era that includes one of history's most scandalous and tragic murders.

Finally, to Outback Queensland, with 'The Lost Man'. Katrina has devoured this latest offering from Australia’s new queen of crime fiction, Jane Harper. 'The Lost Man' is an Outback murder mystery… or is it?

Also, to top the episode off, Katrina and Natasha divulge some highly personal information – their fictional crushes!

In this episode Natasha Moore and Katrina Roe have picked out some cracking fiction for you:

* 'Big Stone Gap' by Adriana Trigiani,
* 'The Young Lion' by Blanche D’Apulget, and
* 'The Lost Man' by Jane Harper

'Big Stone Gap' by Adriana Trigiani is a heart-warming small town story set around the Blue Ridge Mountains of Virginia – it’s also a New York Times bestseller, that’s been made into a movie. If you loved 'The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society', you’ll probably love this one! 

Now, for some good monarchy fiction. Fans of 'Game of Thrones' or 'Wolf Hall' need to know about Australian author Blanche d’Alpuget, wife of the legendary and recently departed former Prime Minister Bob Hawke. Her historical fiction series, 'Birth of the Plantagenets', tells the stories of King Henry II during his rise to power and his marriage to the French Queen Eleanor of Aquitaine, and chancellor of England Thomas Becket and his falling out with the king. Now The Lion’s Torment - the third book in this series - has just been released. It follows Henry, Eleanor and Becket in a tumultous era that includes one of history's most scandalous and tragic murders.

Finally, to Outback Queensland, with 'The Lost Man'. Katrina has devoured this latest offering from Australia’s new queen of crime fiction, Jane Harper. 'The Lost Man' is an Outback murder mystery… or is it?

Also, to top the episode off, Katrina and Natasha divulge some highly personal information – their fictional crushes!

27 min

Top Podcasts In Arts