5 episodes

Join us for a compact, easily digestible chat about contemporary photography in Wales, the UK and beyond. Think of it as a chat with a photo-friend over a coffee! Focussing mainly on documentary photography, we outline calls for entry, new photo books, exhibitions and have a chat with one of our photo-buddies in each carefully-packaged podcast that won't have you committed for the length of a feature film.

The Compact Camera Podcast Robert Law

    • Arts

Join us for a compact, easily digestible chat about contemporary photography in Wales, the UK and beyond. Think of it as a chat with a photo-friend over a coffee! Focussing mainly on documentary photography, we outline calls for entry, new photo books, exhibitions and have a chat with one of our photo-buddies in each carefully-packaged podcast that won't have you committed for the length of a feature film.

    The Compact Edition plus Joanne Coates

    The Compact Edition plus Joanne Coates

    We're keeping this episode in line with the title! But we have a fantastic interview for you with the talented Joanne Coates.Open Calls:Delphian Gallery: https://delphiangallery.com/open-call/Picturing England's High Streets:...

    • 21 min
    The Wellbeing Edition plus John Sevigny

    The Wellbeing Edition plus John Sevigny

    Lockdown's biting, so we look at how Natalie Ball is trying to make things better, particularly for people with mental health struggles. Her project is called My Camera, My Therapy.And we talk to US photojournalist, John Sevigny, about his work in...

    • 29 min
    The Self Publishing Edition plus Tessa Bunney

    The Self Publishing Edition plus Tessa Bunney

    We 'phone a friend', Ryan Trower to get some advice and hear about a different approach to his first self-publishing project.

    And we hear from Tessa Bunney, a documentary photographer with over 25 years experience, specialising in rural affairs. We learn about true resilience, dedication and innovation in her practice.

    Ryan Trower: https://www.ryantrower.com
    Newspaper Club: https://www.newspaperclub.com
    Affinity Publisher: https://affinity.serif.com/en-gb/publisher/
    Tessa Bunney: http://www.tessabunney.co.uk

    • 28 min
    The Collaborative Edition plus Shaun Connell of TheBlkGaze

    The Collaborative Edition plus Shaun Connell of TheBlkGaze

    Following your lovely feedback and encouragement, we've produced a second episode for you! With ideas on staying creative during lockdown, opportunities to get your work seen and more. We also catch up and have a chat with Shaun Connell to talk about important issues of race we need to address as photographers and his website, packed with talent, TheBlkGaze.

    Stayathome: https://www.stayathome.photography
    Collective Effort: https://www.instagram.com/collective.effort/
    Another Place Press: https://anotherplacepress.bigcartel.com/field-notes
    The Humble Arts Foundation: http://hafny.org/submit
    All Cities Are Beautiful: https://allcitiesarebeautiful.com
    Offline with Dan Wood: https://offlinejournal.substack.com/p/19-dan-wood
    TheBlkGaze: https://www.theblkgaze.com

    • 28 min
    Welcome to the Compact Camera Podcast

    Welcome to the Compact Camera Podcast

    In this very first compact and easily digestible podcast, We talk about a print sale from Lucy Purrington, an innovative artist using photography in her avant-garde compositions. Documentary photographer Dan Wood's new photo book 'Black Was The River, You See' comes under the spotlight as it goes to print. And we look at current opportunities for new photographers to spread their wings and have they work published. We finish with a chat with the outstanding documentary photographer, Mik Critchlow.


    Lucy Purrington: https://www.lucypurrington.com
    Kozu Books: https://www.kozubooks.com/books-new/blackwastheriveryousee
    Dan Wood:  http://www.danwoodphoto.com
    United Nations of Photography: https://unitednationsofphotography.com
    Fleur & Arbor: http://www.fleurandarbor.com
    Shutterhub: https://shutterhub.org.uk
    Hinterlands Magazine: https://www.instagram.com/p/CJ8LywIHfPs/?igshid=u11cblesg3ha
    WerkHaus Zine: https://workhorsecollective.co.uk/werkhaus-zine/
    Invisible Britain: https://www.instagram.com/invisiblebritain/
    Mik Critchlow: https://www.mikcritchlow.com

    Your comments and feedback please on Twitter:  https://twitter.com/robs001

    • 25 min

Top Podcasts In Arts