8 episodes

This Audio Drama podcast brings a positive future to life! The stories you will hear read and performed read here revolve around inspirational themes, and we enact empowered characters. "Positive Futurism" is a genre of fiction that envisions a sustainable future. It's also known as Solarpunk, or optimistic speculative fiction.

Our episodes are "Content Positive." We do not depict violence or toxic behaviors of any kind.

We also invite our listeners to submit their own stories to be performed here!

www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co

Patreon.com/storiesfromthefuture

Stories from the Future ~ Audio Drama Positive Futurism

    • Fiction
    • 5.0 • 1 Rating

This Audio Drama podcast brings a positive future to life! The stories you will hear read and performed read here revolve around inspirational themes, and we enact empowered characters. "Positive Futurism" is a genre of fiction that envisions a sustainable future. It's also known as Solarpunk, or optimistic speculative fiction.

Our episodes are "Content Positive." We do not depict violence or toxic behaviors of any kind.

We also invite our listeners to submit their own stories to be performed here!

www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co

Patreon.com/storiesfromthefuture

    Part 3: Code of the Blue Warrior

    Part 3: Code of the Blue Warrior

    In Part 3, the code is finally revealed...

    Visit a remote tropical paradise and see the modern world from an outsider's perspective. No smartphones. No electricity. The Code of the Blue Warrior is about to be revealed....

    Episode Note: Nia Hu (pronounced nee-ah-hu) is a fictional island in the Hawaiian archipelago. It is inspired by Niʻihau, Hawaii (pronounced Nee-ee-how). The intention is to convey the image of a paradise untouched by the modern world, not specifically the cultural nuances of Niʻihau.


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 19 min
    Part 2: Code of the Blue Warrior

    Part 2: Code of the Blue Warrior

    In part 2 of our ongoing miniseries, we learn the backstory of how Quinn and Quinci first meet, before they take a journey together to the fictional island paradise of Nia Hu.

    Code of the Blue Warrior will appeal to fans of Ishmael by Daniel Quinn, The Celestine Prophecy, and those who enjoy Alan Watts chillstep videos on YouTube.

    "Code of the Blue Warrior" is an excerpt from the novel, "The Eden Syndrome" by Tom Tortorich


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 15 min
    Part 1: Code of the Blue Warrior

    Part 1: Code of the Blue Warrior

    In Part One of our miniseries, we meet Alan Ishmael for the first time, bathing in the hot springs at the Esalen Institute. Esalen, a retreat center in Big Sur, California is the birthplace of the "Human Potential Movement," setting the scene for Alan Ishmael to converse with Quinn Delterra, a refugee from the modern world, who left behind a 6-figure career as an A.I. programmer. This begins a series of episodes inspired by Daniel Quinn's classic novel Ishmael as well as Alan Watts, the 20th-century philosopher who brought Eastern Philosophy to the West.

    A Grand Master chess savant and world-class sailboat racing champion, Alan Ishmael has escaped the modern world and lives on the fictional island paradise of Nia Hu (based on Niʻihau).

    Code of the Blue Warrior will also appeal to fans of The Celestine Prophecy and Dan Millman's Way of the Peaceful Warrior.

    Code of the Blue Warrior is an excerpt from the novel, "The Eden Syndrome" by Tom Tortorich


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 16 min
    Miniseries Now Streaming: "Code of the Blue Warrior"

    Miniseries Now Streaming: "Code of the Blue Warrior"

    The Code of the Blue Warrior mini-series could almost be considered fan fiction of the novel "Ishmael" by Daniel Quinn. Ongoing chapters will be released one at a time over the next several weeks.

    In this short promo for the mini-series, hear the backstory about how the novel "Ishmael" won a writing contest for $500,000, the single biggest cash prize for a piece of literature ever awarded.

    Without that contest, the beloved novel Ishmael never would have seen the light of day.

    So .... submit your stories to Stories from the Future!

    We are accepting submissions for short stories to be read on the podcast! Complete info here: StoriesfromtheFuture.co

    -------

    Sources:

    Chicago Tribune: https://www.chicagotribune.com/entertainment/books/ct-xpm-2013-07-13-ct-prj-0714-ishmael-lifes-operating-manual-tom-sha-20130713-story.html

    Turner Tomorrow Fellowship Award:
    https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Turner_Tomorrow_Fellowship_Award


    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 8 min
    Global Change Agent from the Future

    Global Change Agent from the Future

    For me, the Global Change Movement has already happened. But it won't unless Secret Agents like me can encourage the change. It's one of those temporal paradoxes I'm not supposed to tell you about. This Secret Agent from the future has decided to violate the Temporal Directive.

    Tagline: Imagine a future we can look forward to, not one we fear.



    Submit your stories from the future to be performed here!
    www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co

    Support us: Patreon.com/storiesfromthefuture

    Today's Writing prompt: If you could imagine a world that doesn't use money, how would that world work?
    Or would you imagine a world where everyone receives a Universal Basic Income?




    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 20 min
    The Eden Syndrome

    The Eden Syndrome

    This podcast exists to give you a voice and a place to have your "Stories from the Future" be heard & find an audience! 

    We invite you to submit your stories to our "Positive Futurism" writing contest! MORE INFO: www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co


    TODAY'S FEATURED STORY

    The Eden Syndrome by Thomas Tortorich

    The Eden Syndrome imagines the "Global Change Movement" taking root in our lifetimes. Can you imagine seeing the Green Earth from a space elevator 20,000 miles above the Earth? The "Armstrong Orbiter" has opened the final frontier to the public, and the view is breathtaking. Flocks of migrating birds and shoals of marine life are so sweeping in scope they shadow Earth’s oceans like clouds. The Cambrian Effect, as it had come to be known, was the heavy re-population of Earth’s species during the environmental cleanup of the 21st century. 


    The novel is available from Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/Eden-Syndrome-Thomas-Tortorich-ebook/dp/B092CGD6T6



    POSITIVE FUTURISM WRITING CONTEST


    CRITERIA: We are looking for stories that are inspiring and uplifting. Hope for a better world is a recurring theme. Winning entries will inspire listeners to imagine a positive future and make a difference now. 
    LENGTH: 600 - 5,000 words
    SUBMIT: Submit your stories to positivefuturism@gmail.com
    MORE INFO: www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co


    CONTEST WINNERS

    Winning entries will be read on this podcast, and published in upcoming anthologies. Authors retain full copyrights to their work.


    CASH PRIZES: Visit us on Patreon because your support will make cash prizes possible.
    DEADLINES: Deadlines are the 15th of every month to be considered for the next episode.
    INFO & WRITING PROMPTS: www.StoriesfromtheFuture.co



    PATREON

    If you enjoyed this episode and would like to hear many more just like it, please remember that work like this is crowd-funded.  


    If we are really to build a cooperative economy, it starts with us: you, me.
    Many of the highest-paying jobs do considerable harm to the planet.
    Much of the work that needs to be done isn't profitable by today's definition.


    With that in mind, we'd like to ask you to visit us on Patreon because your support will make cash prizes for the writing contest possible.



    Until next time, May the Future be with You!






    ---

    Send in a voice message: https://anchor.fm/storiesfromthefuture/message

    • 24 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
1 Rating

1 Rating

Ttdes ,

Just what the world needs!

This podcast is wonderful! The world needs more positivity! Everyone is invited to submit their own work as well as hear more about encouraging changes in the world. Can’t wait to hear future episodes. “The future is whatever we make it, so let’s make it a good one.” Dr. Emmett Brown from Back to the Future Part III.