63 episodes

Podcast by Jay Arnold

The Veteran Wargamer Jay Arnold

    • Leisure
    • 4.6, 19 Ratings

Podcast by Jay Arnold

    Episode 62: Checking in Periodically in the Time of Plague

    Episode 62: Checking in Periodically in the Time of Plague

    Episode 62: Checking in Periodically in the Time of Plague is live!

    Jasper Oorthuys joins Jay as they discuss the Great Wargaming Survey 2020!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/ep-62-checking-in-periodically-in-the-time-of-plague

    Follow Jasper on Twitter! @clogfather1975

    Check out Karwansary Publishers! https://www.karwansaraypublishers.com/

    Take the 2020 Great Wargaming Survey! https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/T5H2LVP

    Who Commands the Little Soldiers study abstract - https://econtent.hogrefe.com/doi/abs/10.1027/1614-0001/a000326

    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 55 min
    Ep 61: Who Let the Foss Out

    Ep 61: Who Let the Foss Out

    Episode 61: Who let the Foss Out is live!

    Thomas Foss joins Jay as they discuss the latest news from Skull and Crown Strategem!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/ep-61-who-let-the-foss-out

    Follow Thomas on Twitter! @skullncrown

    Skull and Crown Blog! http://skullandcrown.blogspot.com/

    Skull and Crown web store! https://www.skullncrown.com/

    Skull and Crown on Facebook! https://www.facebook.com/skullandcrown/

    Cryptic Studios, Thomas’s day job! https://crypticstudios.com/games

    A Distant Mirror by Barbara Tuchman https://www.amazon.com/Distant-Mirror-Calamitous-14th-Century/dp/0345349571

    Codex Manesse https://digi.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/diglit/cpg848

    Peter Dennis Paper Figures https://peterspaperboys.com/

    Junior General Carthagenians and Republican Romans https://juniorgeneral.org/index.php/figure/figureList/ancient

    Tom Meier’s Darksword Miniatures https://www.darkswordminiatures.com/product-category/miniature-lines/

    Strazza Veiled Virgin https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Veiled_Virgin

    Drew Day Williams’s Satyr Arts Studio https://satyrartstudio.ecwid.com/

    Vox Cast with Jes Goodwin https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Pg7JUtnUT6Y https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RSs6Wx9_haA https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vwS0bQoZT1w

    Perry Minitaures https://www.perry-miniatures.com/

    Foundry Early Imperial Romans https://www.wargamesfoundry.com/pages/imperial-romans

    Cadian Plasma Gunner http://www.collecting-citadel-miniatures.com/wiki/images/4/49/Cadian_plasma_gun.jpg

    Lansknechts on Campaign https://www.amazon.com/Landsknechts-Campaign-Geisbergs-Woodcuts-Selections/dp/0998597740

    Recruits Convention http://recruitsconvention.com/

    Diehard Miniatures https://diehardminiatures.com/

    Conrad Kinch @aquestingvole https://anchor.fm/conrad-kinch

    Thomas Hoff @hoff1thomas CORRECTION: Thomas is the curator at Jefferson Barracks Historic Site. i apologize for the error. https://www.facebook.com/JeffersonBarracksHistoricSite

    Jonathan J. Reinhart @wargamingrecon https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/podcasts-wargaming-recon/id273121833

    Legendary Noize Machine @legendarynoizemachine

    Copplestone Castings 15mm Fantasy https://www.copplestonecastings.co.uk/list.php?cat=18&page=1

    Shogun Miniatures steel bases http://shogunminiatures.com/



    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 1 hr 54 min
    Ep 60 Naval Gazing

    Ep 60 Naval Gazing

    Episode 60: Naval Gazing is live!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417ep-60-naval-gazing

    Jonathan Yuengling joins Jay to discuss naval wargaming set in the 1800s and 1900s!

    Follow Jonathan on Twitter! @Basement__Games (two underscores)

    Little Wars TV - https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCD6gPsr1xdvT9F4dntRAJ5g



    Panzerschiffe Miniatures - http://www.panzerschiffe.com/

    War Journal Times Miniatures - http://wtj.com/

    Fred Jane’s Naval Wargame Rules - https://www.amazon.com/Naval-including-Royal-Navys-Wargaming/dp/1409244091

    GHQ Models - WWI, WWII and Modern naval miniatures - https://www.ghqmodels.com/store/ghq-military-models.html

    General Quarters - WWI and WWII rules - https://www.odgw.com/products/generalquarters3/gq3.html

    Seekrieg - 1880 to 1945 rules - http://www.seekrieg.com/

    Figurehead - 1/6000 miniatures - http://www.lastsquare.com/zen-cart/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=103_109

    Navwar Miniatures - http://www.navwar.co.uk/nav/

    Warlord Games - Cruel Seas - https://store.warlordgames.com/collections/cruel-seas

    GMT Games - Hunters/The Hunted/Silent Victory - https://www.gmtgames.com/p-556-the-hunters-3rd-printing.aspx

    https://www.gmtgames.com/p-590-the-hunted-twilight-of-the-u-boats-1943-45.aspx

    https://www.gmtgames.com/p-650-silent-victory-2nd-printing.aspx

    UBoot Board Game - https://uboottheboardgame.com/

    Harpoon - Modern Rules - http://www.admiraltytrilogy.com/harpoon.php

    Flying Buffalo - Nuclear War - http://www.flyingbuffalo.com/assort.html

    Shipwreck Rules - https://www.wargamevault.com/product/188066/Shipwreck



    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 1 hr 32 min
    Episode 59: Krieging the Spiel Again

    Episode 59: Krieging the Spiel Again

    Episode 59: Krieging the Spiel Again is live!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/episode-59-krieging-the-spiel-again

    Nick Nethery, Dave Churchil and I discuss our recent Kriegsspiel!

    Follow Dave on Twitter! @DMCFFD

    Go buy stuff from the Too Fat Lardies! https://toofatlardies.co.uk/

    Previous Kriegsspiel episode with Rich Clarke and Nick Skinner: https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/ep-49-krieging-the-spiel

    Map link: https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EW5pDXPXYAAUT9v?format=jpg&name=large

    LIttle Wars TV: http://www.littlewarstv.com/

    Discord: https://discordapp.com/

    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 1 hr 21 min
    Episode 58: Brigade Forward

    Episode 58: Brigade Forward

    Episode 58: Brigade Forward is live!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/episode-58-brigade-forward

    Lon Weiss and I discuss his company Brigade Games

    Follow Lon on Twitter! @brigadegames

    Buy stuff from Lon! http://brigadegames.3dcartstores.com/

    During this time of uncertainty and self-isolation, shelter-at-home and other extreme measures, many small game companies need your help. To my knowledge, the following companies are still accepting and shipping miniatures to the community:


    Bad Squiddo Games: https://badsquiddogames.com/
    PicoArmor: https://www.picoarmor.com/
    Baccus6mm: https://baccus6mm.com/
    Brigade Games: http://brigadegames.3dcartstores.com/

    You can always buy PDFs of game rules from the following companies:
    Gladius Publications: https://gladiuspublications.com/
    Too Fat Lardies: https://toofatlardies.co.uk/
    Greg Wagman/Little Wars TV: https://www.6mmacw.com/rules.html
    Sam Mustafa: https://sammustafa.com/
    Brigade Games: http://brigadegames.3dcartstores.com/

    And many, many others.

    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 1 hr 5 min
    Episode 57: Slam Dunc

    Episode 57: Slam Dunc

    Episode 57: Slam Dunc is live!

    https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/episode-57-slam-dunc

    Duncan Rhodes and I talk about his history with GW, inclusion and openness in gaming and what's next for him!

    Follow Duncan on Twitter! @two_thin_coats

    Wargames Foundry Early Imperial Romans https://www.wargamesfoundry.com/pages/imperial-romans

    Bad Squiddo Games https://badsquiddogames.com/

    Jes Goodwin on Voxcast http://voxcastpodcast.com/voxcast-episode-7-jes-goodwin-and-shadowspear

    Gav Thorpe talks about my favorite White Dwarf issue, 127! https://gavthorpe.co.uk/2017/05/10/white-dwarf-127/

    Crooked Dice 7TV http://www.crooked-dice.co.uk/wp/rules/7tv-2nd-edition/

    Perry Miniatures Travel Battle https://www.perry-miniatures.com/product_info.php?products_id=3637

    Commands & Colors: Napoleonics https://www.commandsandcolors.net/napoleonics/

    Skull and Crown Stratagem Triumph of Death http://www.skullncrown.com/store/index.php?main_page=index&cPath=85

    Thomas Foss of Skull and Crown on The Veteran Wargamer https://soundcloud.com/user-989538417/episode-53-danse-party

    Warlord Games https://store.warlordgames.com/


    Edited with Audacity. Music courtesy of freemusicarchive.org. Copyright Jay Arnold 2020. Published under Creative Commons attribution no derivatives license. Make your town beautiful; get a haircut.

    • 1 hr 26 min

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5
19 Ratings

19 Ratings

kairosguy ,

He knows his stuff

Jay knows his subject and his enjoyment and expertise come through.

Orcille Redenbacher ,

I’m sorry...

I listened to the first half hour of your Duncan Rhodes episode...you have to let the guest speak. I didn’t compare minutes to minutes, but he was the guest and I’d say for every minute he spoke you spoke for four. I’ll listen again sometime, but please ask questions of the guest and listen to the answers he/she gives. More questions will come from you listening to the answers they provide. Active listening is a skill and a boon for being a better interviewer.

Cjohnson121 ,

For lack of a better term

Stop saying it so much

Top Podcasts In Leisure

Listeners Also Subscribed To