100 episodes

Listen to bi-weekly podcasts (available 1st and 3rd Mondays) of interviews with literacy researchers as they discuss the implications of their research. Teachers, parents, principals, and policymakers are invited to listen and discuss ways to improve literacy instruction.

Voice of Literacy Dr. Betsy Baker, Dr. Candace Kuby, Dr. Sarah Vander Zanden and Dr. Amanda Goodwin

    • Education
    • 4.4 • 9 Ratings

Listen to bi-weekly podcasts (available 1st and 3rd Mondays) of interviews with literacy researchers as they discuss the implications of their research. Teachers, parents, principals, and policymakers are invited to listen and discuss ways to improve literacy instruction.

    Balancing Reading and Writing Instruction: A Meta-Analysis with Dr. Steve Graham

    Balancing Reading and Writing Instruction: A Meta-Analysis with Dr. Steve Graham

    "Dr. Amanda Goodwin":https://peabody.vanderbilt.edu/bio/amanda-goodwin and "Dr. Steve Graham":https://education.asu.edu/steve-graham-0 discuss balancing reading and writing instruction

    • 11 min
    Youth, literacy, and popular culture: Implications for teachers with Dr. Robert Petrone

    Youth, literacy, and popular culture: Implications for teachers with Dr. Robert Petrone

    • 9 min
    Linguistically Diverse Book Clubs: Scaffolds & Participation with Dr. Mark Lewis & Dr. Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger

    Linguistically Diverse Book Clubs: Scaffolds & Participation with Dr. Mark Lewis & Dr. Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger

    "Dr. Amanda Goodwin":https://peabody.vanderbilt.edu/bio/amanda-goodwin, "Dr. Mark Lewis":https://www.loyola.edu/school-education/faculty/mark-lewis and "Dr. Margarita Gomez Zisselsberger":https://www.loyola.edu/school-education/faculty/margarita-gomez dis

    • 12 min
    Adolescents discuss engagement and young adult literature with Dr. Gay Ivey, rebroadcast

    Adolescents discuss engagement and young adult literature with Dr. Gay Ivey, rebroadcast

    "Dr. Baker":https://education.missouri.edu/person/betsy-baker/ and "Dr. Gay Ivey":https://soe.uncg.edu/directory/faculty-and-staff/bio-gayivey/ discuss engagement and young adult literature

    • 15 min
    Early Childhood Writing: The Role of Gesture with Dr. Debbie Rowe

    Early Childhood Writing: The Role of Gesture with Dr. Debbie Rowe

    "Dr. Amanda Goodwin":https://peabody.vanderbilt.edu/bio/amanda-goodwin and "Dr. Debbie Rowe":https://peabody.vanderbilt.edu/bio/deborah-rowe discuss the connection between gesture and writing in early childhood

    • 17 min
    Internet literacies and middle school science: What are the obstacles? with Dr. Jamie Colwell, rebroadcast

    Internet literacies and middle school science: What are the obstacles? with Dr. Jamie Colwell, rebroadcast

    "Dr. Betsy Baker":https://education.missouri.edu/person/betsy-baker/ and "Dr. Jamie Colwell":mailto:jcolwell@odu.edu discuss Internet literacies and middle school science: What are the obstacles?

    • 15 min

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5
9 Ratings

9 Ratings

Ted's Classroom ,

Assistant Professor, Queens College, CUNY

Wow! Thanks for doing this project. I listen to it as I drive, and now assign some of the podcasts to my students.

BetsBaker ,

Voice of literacy

Great way to stay current w research-based practices!

Top Podcasts In Education

Listeners Also Subscribed To