107 episodes

Don’t know what to eat? Don’t know what to watch? Don’t know which toothpaste to choose? Davina McCall and Michael Douglas make the tough decisions easy for you. This podcast is like the TripAdvisor for your life. From iconic movies to the best mascara, let Davina and Michael guide you through what’s hot and what’s not. And when they need help making the cut, they call in on some of their friends to join them.We are not paid or associated with anything that we review, these are only our opinions
See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

Making The Cut with Davina McCall & Michael Douglas Davina McCall, Michael Douglas & Entale Studios

    • Society & Culture
    • 4.6 • 394 Ratings

Don’t know what to eat? Don’t know what to watch? Don’t know which toothpaste to choose? Davina McCall and Michael Douglas make the tough decisions easy for you. This podcast is like the TripAdvisor for your life. From iconic movies to the best mascara, let Davina and Michael guide you through what’s hot and what’s not. And when they need help making the cut, they call in on some of their friends to join them.We are not paid or associated with anything that we review, these are only our opinions
See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    SERIES 7: Episode 11 - CocoWhey, Following Izzy, N Peal, XX Brain, Drowsy Candle, Carolyn Hobdey, Severance

    SERIES 7: Episode 11 - CocoWhey, Following Izzy, N Peal, XX Brain, Drowsy Candle, Carolyn Hobdey, Severance

    This is our last episode for the summer! We’re going to miss you. In the meantime, please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast. 
    Just Watch - https://www.justwatch.com/uk/apps
    Everything Everywhere All at Once - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6710474/
    The Unbearable Weight of Massive Talent - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11291274/
    Cheesies - https://www.cheesies.co.uk/
    CocoWhey - https://www.foodspring.co.uk/cocowhey-12-pack
    Following Izzy - https://www.instagram.com/followingizzy/
    N Peal - https://www.npeal.com/
    Sex, Mind, Menopause - https://www.channel4.com/programmes/davina-mccall-sex-mind-and-the-menopause
    The XX Brain - https://www.lisamosconi.com/xxbrain
    Drowsy Candle - https://www.drowsysleepco.com/products/sleep-candle
    Carolyn Hobdey - https://www.carolynhobdey.com/
    Severance - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11280740/
    Peanut Swirls - https://www.instagram.com/peanutswirls/?hl=en
    Operation Mincemeat - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1879016/
    Hustle - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8009428/
    Life in Pieces - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4384086/
    Audra Reagan - https://open.spotify.com/artist/5FZrQqB6cqBPv5oezR3Znu

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 1 hr
    SERIES 7: Episode 10 - Nourish and Nature, Ember Mug, Oh My Gum, Steve Cradock, Yorkshire Pasta Company, Alcohol-Free Guinness

    SERIES 7: Episode 10 - Nourish and Nature, Ember Mug, Oh My Gum, Steve Cradock, Yorkshire Pasta Company, Alcohol-Free Guinness

    Plenty of things to help you relax this week: a tea-warming mug, a biodegradable candle, pasta and an atmospheric album. Please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast. 
    Nourish and Nature - https://www.nourishandnatureuk.com/
    Ember Cup - https://ember.com/products/ember-mug-2
    Oh My Gum - https://www.ohmygum.com/
    Good Head - https://www.amazon.co.uk/GoodHead-Mouth-Spray-Sweet-Strawberry/dp/B00PBGPGMK
    Jacob Collier - https://www.jacobcollier.com/
    Ocean Colour Scene - https://www.oceancolourscene.com/
    A Soundtrack to an Imaginary Movie - https://www.roughtrade.com/gb/steve-cradock/a-soundtrack-to-an-imaginary-movie
    Justin Hawkins - https://twitter.com/JustinHawkins
    Tiny Habits - https://www.instagram.com/tinyhabitsofficial/?hl=en
    Yorkshire Pasta Company - https://www.yorkshirepasta.co.uk/
    No Alcohol Guinness - https://www.tesco.com/groceries/en-GB/products/307751279
    Quirky Gift Bags - https://www.instagram.com/quirkygiftbags/
    Midnight Meets - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/b08pm9sl/episodes/downloads
    Liz Earle Podcast - https://lizearlewellbeing.com/category/podcast/

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 50 min
    SERIES 7: Episode 9 - Making the Cut Season 7 Ep 9 - Obi Wan Kenobi, Stranger Things, Justin Hawkins, Angela Scanlon, Chivalry and Michael DJs!

    SERIES 7: Episode 9 - Making the Cut Season 7 Ep 9 - Obi Wan Kenobi, Stranger Things, Justin Hawkins, Angela Scanlon, Chivalry and Michael DJs!

    Frankly, we have too much to talk about this week. It’s a jam-packed episode, so buckle up! AND you get to hear Michael’s DJing debut. Please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Obi-Wan Kenobi - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8466564/
    Stranger Things - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt4574334/
    Justin Hawkins Rides Again - https://www.youtube.com/c/JustinHawkinsRidesAgain
    Angela Scanlon - https://www.instagram.com/angelascanlon/?hl=en
    Chivalry - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt11714570/
    Lizzy McAlpine Erase Me - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YV9NrQvNEv4&ab_channel=LizzyMcAlpine
    Tiny Habits - https://www.instagram.com/tinyhabitsofficial/?hl=en
    DJay Pro AI - https://www.algoriddim.com/djay-pro-mac
    DDJ-200 - https://www.selfridges.com/GB/en/cat/pioneer-dj-ddj-200-smart-dj-controller_933-10044-PIODDJ200/
    Masha - https://mymasha.co.uk/
    Old Fashion Vibes - https://www.instagram.com/oldfashionvibes/?hl=en
    Radio X - https://www.radiox.co.uk/
    Skydive - https://skydivenorthwest.co.uk/

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 54 min
    SERIES 7: Episode 8 - Jacob Collier, UniDays, Our Father, Makita Drills, Rock the Jumpsuit

    SERIES 7: Episode 8 - Jacob Collier, UniDays, Our Father, Makita Drills, Rock the Jumpsuit

    In this episode, get ready for a shoutout that literally makes Davina fall off her chair! As always, please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast. 
    Queen in Montreal - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aA2IRoPFIn0&ab_channel=AgoraVoxFrance
    Sam Ryder Queen - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vnlnEQ-eXjI&ab_channel=Lean
    Jacob Collier Documentary - https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/episode/m001717f/imagine-2022-jacob-collier-in-the-room-where-it-happens
    Wet Leg - https://open.spotify.com/artist/2TwOrUcYnAlIiKmVQkkoSZ
    UniDays - https://www.myunidays.com/GB/en-GB
    Our Father - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt19704638/
    Alpha Papa - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt0469021/
    Loop and Boogie - https://www.instagram.com/loopandboogie/?hl=en-gb
    Makita Drills - https://www.diy.com/departments/tools-equipment/power-tools/drills/DIY637279.cat?Brand=Makita
    Rock the Jumpsuit - https://rockthejumpsuit.com/
    Throwback TV Ads - https://www.instagram.com/throwbacktvads/?hl=en
    Long Lost Family: Switched at Birth - https://www.newsletter.co.uk/arts-and-culture/film-and-tv/long-lost-family-reveal-switched-at-birth-special-3718328
    Honey Birdette - https://uk.honeybirdette.com/
    Scamp and Dude - https://scampanddude.com/
    Hu Kitchen - https://hukitchen.co.uk/

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 58 min
    SERIES 7: Episode 7 - Zack Chug, Bees, Chiropractors, Jim Jams, Top Gun

    SERIES 7: Episode 7 - Zack Chug, Bees, Chiropractors, Jim Jams, Top Gun

    According to Michael, you should only follow Instagram accounts that bring you happiness. So he’s going to recommend some that spark joy for him. Then Davina chats bees. And chocolate spreads. And a couple of movies. And more, more more! Please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Steve the Dad Bod - https://www.instagram.com/dadbod_steve/?hl=en
    Zack Chug - https://www.instagram.com/zack.chug/?hl=en
    Cathy the Bee Lady - https://www.facebook.com/CathyBeeLady/
    Honey Birdette - https://uk.honeybirdette.com/
    Harley Street Chiropractic - https://www.westlondonchiropracticclinics.co.uk/
    Jim Jams Spreads - https://www.jimjams-spreads.co.uk/
    Marcus Bean - https://www.instagram.com/marcusbeanchef/?hl=en
    Everything Everywhere All at Once - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6710474/
    Top Gun - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt1745960/
    Jubilee T-Shirt - https://charliemackesystore.com/products/platinum-jubilee-t-shirt-adults-t-shirt
    Selfie Guide Shaz - https://www.instagram.com/selfieguideshaz/?hl=en
    Sharon’s Prints - https://sharonsprints.com/
    Glenn Kitson - https://www.instagram.com/glenn_kitson/?hl=en
    Kin Coffee - https://kincoffee.co.uk/
    Our Father - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt19704638/
    Ember Mug - https://ember.com/products/ember-mug-2
    Pandora Sykes Podcasts - https://pandorasykes.com/podcasts/

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 52 min
    SERIES 7: Episode 6 - Everything Everywhere All at Once, Money Saving Expert, Space Masks, Death Book, Park Run

    SERIES 7: Episode 6 - Everything Everywhere All at Once, Money Saving Expert, Space Masks, Death Book, Park Run

    This week we’re not only thinking with our heads and our hearts, but our hip pockets! Get ready for a bunch of money-conscious recommendations. Please send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast. 
    Ryan Holiday - https://www.instagram.com/ryanholiday/?hl=en
    Everything Everywhere All at Once - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt6710474/
    The Money Saving Expert - https://twitter.com/MoneySavingExp
    Martin Lewis - https://www.moneysavingexpert.com/
    BA Shopping - https://www.shopping.ba.com/gb
    Amy Winehouse Tears Dry on Their Own - https://open.spotify.com/track/6yLX8QnxlnEqZfs3YKCfjF
    Don't Go To Strangers - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nOEQKCqCjOo&ab_channel=ModeMilk21
    Florence and the Machine - https://open.spotify.com/album/0uGwPmqo2DtXd0VqJOG9DD
    Radiohead Lotus Flower - https://open.spotify.com/track/1amSa5xo79zINsgrpNlNge
    Space Masks - https://spacemasks.com/
    Death Book - https://spacemasks.com/collections/all-products/products/the-death-book
    Park Run - https://www.parkrun.org.uk/
    I Am Nut Okay - https://www.iamnutok.com/
    George Crosby - https://www.totalntertainment.com/music/we-stand-alone-the-new-ep-from-george-crosby/
    Nourish and Nature - https://www.nourishandnatureuk.com/shop
    Kim Coffee - https://kincoffee.co.uk/
    Respect - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2452150/

    See acast.com/privacy for privacy and opt-out information.

    • 53 min

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5
394 Ratings

394 Ratings

AnnieB1969 ,

LOVE IT!!!

Just discovered this last week and binge listening while walking my 3 black labs. Great length and so easy to listen to the banter. I love the recommendations and am on a mission to watch/listen/ try out quite a few. Thank you for being so relatable and gorgeous to each other. It really gives me a lovely hug each time I listen. X

Jesshawk ,

Fabulous

I have been listening to your podcast for over a year and just look forward to every Friday and have a good listen on my dog walk. Davina and Michael work so well together the chat and honesty is very refreshing. Thank you thank you thank you. ❤️❤️

lyn..ss ,

Listen without fail every week great advice! They really should have a weekly tv show doing this!

Really enjoy your chemistry and have bought the insoles for my husband (they are great!) and the crypto coins as didn’t know where to start so Michael’s tips helped. You never know! Michael sounds such a lovely genuine man you make a great couple please keep the tips coming!! Thank you.

Top Podcasts In Society & Culture

Wondery
James English
Heart
BBC Radio 4
C13Originals | Team Downey
Lily Cole

You Might Also Like

Gabby Logan
Yahoo! UK
Lorraine Candy & Trish Halpin
Fearne Cotton
Cameo Productions
Dr Louise Newson