153 episodes

Don’t know what to eat? Don’t know what to watch? Don’t know which toothpaste to choose? Davina McCall and Michael Douglas make the tough decisions easy for you. This podcast is like the TripAdvisor for your life. From iconic movies to the best mascara, let Davina and Michael guide you through what’s hot and what’s not. And when they need help making the cut, they call in on some of their friends to join them.We are not paid or associated with anything that we review, these are only our opinions
Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

Making The Cut with Davina McCall & Michael Douglas Davina McCall, Michael Douglas & Entale Studios

    • Society & Culture
    • 4.6 • 505 Ratings

Don’t know what to eat? Don’t know what to watch? Don’t know which toothpaste to choose? Davina McCall and Michael Douglas make the tough decisions easy for you. This podcast is like the TripAdvisor for your life. From iconic movies to the best mascara, let Davina and Michael guide you through what’s hot and what’s not. And when they need help making the cut, they call in on some of their friends to join them.We are not paid or associated with anything that we review, these are only our opinions
Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    SERIES 12: Episode 1 - Monkey Man, The Dropout, The Gentlemen, Super Sparrow, Paul Weller, Nudi Spray

    SERIES 12: Episode 1 - Monkey Man, The Dropout, The Gentlemen, Super Sparrow, Paul Weller, Nudi Spray

    We are back, baby! We’ve missed you all and can’t wait to inundate you with the recommendations that we’ve discovered over the past few months. As always, send us your recommendations to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Monkey Man - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt9214772/
    The Dropout - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt10166622/
    The Gentlemen - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt13210838/
    Super Sparrow - https://supersparrow.com/en-ca
    Paul Weller - https://www.paulweller.com/
    Striped shirt - https://www.amazon.co.uk/LEDING-T-Shirt-Crewneck-Long-Sleeve-Pullover/dp/B07YV4GM25?th=1
    Nudi Spray - https://www.nudispray.com/
    Disappointing Affirmations - https://www.instagram.com/disappointingaffirmations/
    Air Fryer Instant Pot - https://www.amazon.com/Instant-Pot-Multi-Use-Pressure-Cooker/dp/B08WCLJ7JG
    Air Fryer Girl - https://www.instagram.com/airfryergirluk/

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 43 min
    SERIES 11: Episode 6 - Holly & Co, James O'Brien, Sophie Webster, Thomas Bird, Organically Epic, Dave

    SERIES 11: Episode 6 - Holly & Co, James O'Brien, Sophie Webster, Thomas Bird, Organically Epic, Dave

    We’ve got some news: this is our last episode for a while. We will miss you so much! In the meantime, be sure to send us your tips to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast where we’ll also keep posting our recommendations. 
    Not On the High Street - https://www.notonthehighstreet.com/
    Holly Tucker Books - https://www.waterstones.com/author/holly-tucker/572799
    Holly & Co - https://holly.co/
    James O’Brien - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1YjrcZnPvE&ab_channel=LBC
    Sophia Webster - https://www.sophiawebster.com/
    Sophia Webster Book - https://www.sophiawebster.com/14562/oh-my-gosh-i-wrote-a-book
    Thomas Bird Chelsea Boot - tblon.com
    Carlo Torrecci Loafers -https://www.amazon.co.uk/Carlo-Torrecci-Antique-Leather-Loafers/dp/B09QSL9H82?th=1
    Handbook for Hard Times - https://www.waterstones.com/book/handbook-for-hard-times/gelong-thubten/9781529367652
    The Natural Menopause Method - https://karennewby.com/
    Keira & Me - https://www.waterstones.com/book/keira-and-me/noel-fitzpatrick/laura-mckendry/9781399610308
    The Tao of Pooh - https://www.goodreads.com/en/book/show/48757
    Organically Epic - https://organicallyepic.uk/
    Dave - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8531222/
    Get Gotti - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt29333646/
    Real Survival Stories - https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/brand/p0g5r6m9
    Geri Halliwell-Horner - https://www.waterstones.com/author/geri-halliwell-horner/6050176
    Cooking for Levi - https://www.cookingforlevi.com/
    The Kabs Family - https://www.instagram.com/thekabsfamily/?hl=en
    Headstrong - https://headstrongltd.com/
    Abba Voyage - https://abbavoyage.com/

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 56 min
    SERIES 11: Episode 5 - Dawn French, Mob, Jimmy Doherty, Maggie's, Beckham, Life Changing

    SERIES 11: Episode 5 - Dawn French, Mob, Jimmy Doherty, Maggie's, Beckham, Life Changing

    This episode is in honour of Davina’s upcoming birthday. And there are plenty of things to celebrate this edition. Please send us your recs to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Dawn French The Twat Files - https://www.waterstones.com/author/dawn-french/50524
    Titting About - https://www.audible.co.uk/pd/French-Saunders-Titting-About-Podcast/B08JHCBZXB
    Mob - https://www.mob.co.uk/
    Jimmy Doherty - https://instagram.com/jimmysfarm/?hl=en
    Maggies - https://www.maggies.org/
    Beckham - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt14524712/
    Who killed Jill Dando? - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt26445771/
    Life Changing - https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/life-changing/id1561150286
    Recipes for a Better Menopause - https://www.waterstones.com/book/recipes-for-a-better-menopause/dr-federica-amati/jane-baxter/9781804191439
    Lancashire Tea - http://www.lancashiretea.co.uk/
    Bob Mortimer on Desert Island Discs - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m00029fv
    Sand and Water - Beth Nielsen Chapman - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SdcSNruapQk&ab_channel=Samuel
    Cocaine Bear - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt14209916/
    Sightseers - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt2023690/
    Perfect 10 - https://www.instagram.com/perfect10carol/

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 54 min
    SERIES 11: Episode 4 - Sole Bliss, Mod Shoes, Desert Island Discs, Donna Ashworth, Dr Mighat Arif, Lyma Laser

    SERIES 11: Episode 4 - Sole Bliss, Mod Shoes, Desert Island Discs, Donna Ashworth, Dr Mighat Arif, Lyma Laser

    A new week and new recommendations. As always, please send us your recs to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Md London - https://mdlondon.co.uk/
    Sole Bliss - https://solebliss.com/
    Mod Shoes - https://www.modshoes.co.uk/
    Honest by Milly Evans - https://www.millyevans.com/honestbook
    Adrian Edmondson - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m001qlz2
    Simon Pegg - https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/m001ly7j
    Donna Ashworth - https://donnaashworth.com/
    Dr Nighat Arif - https://www.instagram.com/drnighatarif/?hl=en
    Richard Dawkins Interview - https://www.youtube.com/watch?reload=9&v=XHvzXSIM6cg&ab_channel=AndrewGold
    Lyma Laser - https://lyma.life/laser/
    Stop Making Sense - https://a24films.com/films/stop-making-sense
    Adam Richardson - https://www.instagram.com/aadamrichardson/
    Billy Sloan - https://www.waterstones.com/book/one-love-one-life/billy-sloan/9781785304811

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 51 min
    SERIES 11: Episode 3 - Fearless, Arbour, Jacob Collier, Tortoise, Herboo

    SERIES 11: Episode 3 - Fearless, Arbour, Jacob Collier, Tortoise, Herboo

    Get ready for an x-ellent podcast… Please send us your recs to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Fearless - https://www.waterstones.com/book/fearless/trinny-woodall/9780008605438
    Arbour - https://arborgardensolutions.co.uk/
    Jo Whiley - https://twitter.com/jowhiley
    Jacob Collier - https://open.spotify.com/artist/0QWrMNukfcVOmgEU0FEDyD?autoplay=true
    Tortoise - https://www.tortoisemedia.com/
    Tortoise Investigates - https://podcasts.apple.com/us/podcast/tortoise-investigates/id1590561275
    Herboo - https://www.herboo.com/
    Marks and Spencer Outrageously Chocolatey Bourbon Creams
     - https://www.britishcornershop.co.uk/marks-and-spencer-outrageously-chocolatey-bourbon-creams
    Tallow - https://tallowrestaurant.co.uk/
    Pablo and Veronica - https://www.instagram.com/pabloeveronicaoficial/?hl=en
    Brown Boys Swim - https://sohotheatre.com/events/brown-boys-swim/

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 54 min
    SERIES 11: Episode 2 - Next Door Records, Shake Shack, Gabor Mate, Poetry of Reality, Playdate

    SERIES 11: Episode 2 - Next Door Records, Shake Shack, Gabor Mate, Poetry of Reality, Playdate

    In this episode, we laugh, we cry and, of course, we recommend. Like always, please send us your ideas to our instagram @makingthecutpodcast.
    Emma Guns Show - https://podcasts.apple.com/gb/podcast/the-emma-guns-show/id1102982843
    Next Door Records - https://www.nextdoorrecords.co.uk/
    Vinyl Pimp - https://www.instagram.com/vinylpimp/?hl=en
    Even Flow - https://evenflowuk.com/index.html
    Shake Shack - https://www.shakeshack.co.uk/
    Gabor Mate - https://drgabormate.com/
    The Poetry of Reality - https://thepoetryofreality.com/
    Playdate - https://gotoplaydate.com/
    Dave - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt8531222/
    Rohit Roy - https://www.tiktok.com/@rohitroygre?lang=en
    Who Cares Wins - https://www.england.nhs.uk/nhsbirthday/events-and-news/the-sun-who-cares-wins-awards/
    RHLSTP - https://www.comedy.co.uk/podcasts/richard_herring_lst_podcast/
    Trying - https://www.imdb.com/title/tt10982034/
    The Music Man - https://www.themusicman.uk/
    JCB Song - https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DQDnFTtr2UQ&ab_channel=Mushroom
    Choir of Man - https://www.choirofmanwestend.com/

    Hosted on Acast. See acast.com/privacy for more information.

    • 54 min

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5
505 Ratings

505 Ratings

Usedtobeamidwife ,

Great podcast

Thank god you’re back - have been catching up on back catalogue. Loving the new film/programmes and have just ordered Nudi spray! Have bought so many things over the last year or so that you recommended and they’ve never disappointed x

Disko Kids ,

Fave podcast

Brilliant weekly chat on all manner of stuff x Love love love 🪩🖤🪩🖤🪩

Jo Jo 12345678 ,

So glad you are back!

I have missed your reviews so much that I started from episode 1 once more. I have cried & laughed along with you. Please don’t leave again x x

Top Podcasts In Society & Culture

Miss Me?
BBC Sounds
The Louis Theroux Podcast
Spotify Studios
The Witch Trials of J.K. Rowling
The Free Press
Happy Place
Fearne Cotton
How To Fail With Elizabeth Day
Elizabeth Day and Sony Music Entertainment
Modern Wisdom
Chris Williamson

You Might Also Like

The Mid•Point with Gabby Logan
Spiritland Creative
Happy Place
Fearne Cotton
White Wine Question Time
Stak
Postcards From Midlife
Lorraine Candy & Trish Halpin
That Gaby Roslin Podcast: Reasons To Be Joyful
Spiritland Productions
Been There Done That Got The Podcast
Kat Farmer and Marianne Jones