59 episodes

Books Are My People is a podcast for book lovers with book news, book recommendations and ruminations on living a literary life in Los Angeles. Each episode will feature at least five book recommendations in various genres as well as bookish news and occasional guests. Jennifer Caloyeras is an author, voracious reader and writing instructor living in Los Angeles. www.jennifercaloyeras.com Find me on Instagram @jennifercaloyeras

Books Are My People Jennifer Caloyeras

    • Arts
    • 5.0 • 43 Ratings

Books Are My People is a podcast for book lovers with book news, book recommendations and ruminations on living a literary life in Los Angeles. Each episode will feature at least five book recommendations in various genres as well as bookish news and occasional guests. Jennifer Caloyeras is an author, voracious reader and writing instructor living in Los Angeles. www.jennifercaloyeras.com Find me on Instagram @jennifercaloyeras

    Books Are My People - Episode 58

    Books Are My People - Episode 58

    This week, I look at Hell of a Book by Jason Mott, Mrs. March by Virginia Feito and other great books!

    Books Recommended:
    Hell of a Book by Jason Mott
    The Kingdoms by Natasha Pulley
    The Photographer by Marie Dixie Carter
    Ghosts by Dolly Alderton
    Mrs. March by Virginia Feito

    Other Books Mentioned:
    The English Patient by Michael Ondaji
     Animal by Lisa Taddeo
    A Calling for Charlier Barnes by Joshua Ferris
     
    Learn more about Misen knives here. 
    The Hit Living Foundation (animal rescue) 
    I have 2 creative writing editing slots available for up to 25 pages. If you are interested, please email Booksaremypeople@gmail.com and put "editing" in the subject line. To learn more, visit https://www.jennifercaloyeras.com/coaching-classes
    His Only Wife Book Giveaway link, closes Wednesday, September 8th. Click here to enter. 
     Click here to see the schedule of the Library of Congress national book event September 17th - 26th.  
    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 14 min
    Books Are My People - Episode #57 - with Michael Levin + a Giveaway!

    Books Are My People - Episode #57 - with Michael Levin + a Giveaway!

    This week, my friend Michael Levin joins the show and talks about reading his way through Nobel Prize winners including Thomas Mann and A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe.

    Click on the links below to be taken to my Bookshop.org shop.

    Books Discussed:
    Buddenbrooks by Thomas Mann
    The Plague by Albert Camus
    A Personal Matter by Kenzaburo Oe 
    One Hundred Years of Solitude Gabriel Garcia Marquez
    For Whom the Bell Tolls by Ernest Hemingway


    Other Books Discussed:
    Wolf Hall – Hilary Mantel
    Bring up the Bodies – Hilary Mantel
    The Mirror and the Light – Hilary Mantel
    Kristin Lavransdatter by Sigrid Undset 
    Justine by Lawrence Durrell


    What we're reading next
    Mrs. March by Virginia Feito
    Klara and the Sun by Kazuo Ishiguro

    HIS ONLY WIFE GIVEAWAY - click to be. taken to my. Instagram Page and enter the giveaway.  All you have to do to enter. is leave a comment under the giveaway post. Feel free to tag a friend for more entries. I will randomly select one winner. Open. to US mailing addresses only. This giveaway will close on Tuesday, September 7th, 2021.

    Click here to read the Verge article on which e-readers are becoming obsolete. 
    Click here to read the Center For Fiction's longest for the First Novel Prize.
    I'm starting a Patreon for fans of Books Are My People and I want your input! Please me at booksaremypeople@gmail.com with your suggestions. I will be open to suggestions for the next two weeks! 
    Get 10% off of your next purchase at Db by using the code POD10 or. clicking this link!  
    Levtex Home
    List of Nobel Prize Winners in Literature
     
    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 33 min
    Books Are My People - Episode 56

    Books Are My People - Episode 56

    This week, I discuss some new releases, including All's Well by Mona Awad and Edge Case by YZ Chin.


    Books Discussed: (Click book title to be taken to my Bookshop.org store. It's a GREAT way to support this show!)

    All's Well by Mona Awod

    Immediate Family by Asjley Nelson
    Edge Case YZ Chin
    The Sinful Lives of Trophy Wives by Kristen Miller. 
    Safe in My Arms by Sara Shepard


    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 11 min
    Books Are My People - Episode 55 with author Rachel Donohue

    Books Are My People - Episode 55 with author Rachel Donohue

    This week, Rachel Donohue, the author of The Temple House Vanishing,  visits and we talk about books, including Embers and Love and Fury.

    This episode is sponsored by OMIO. Click here to learn more.

    Books Discussed:

    Embers by Sandor Marai
    Love and Fury: A Novel of Mary Wollstonecraft by Samantha Silva
    The Virgin Suicides by Jeffrey Eugenides
    Mother for Dinner: Shalom Auslander
    The Age of Innocence by Edith Wharton

    Other Books Discussed:

    Hamnet by Maggie O'Farrell

    The Temple House Vanishing by Rachel Donohue

    Other Things Discussed:

    Link to Lake County Library Tales and Tails program


    Find Rachel Donohue  on Social Media:

    Instagram: @rachellucydonohue


    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 26 min
    Books Are My People - Episode 54

    Books Are My People - Episode 54

    This week, I recommend five great books including Build Your House Around My Body, Everyone In This Room Will Someday Be Dead and other great books!  Click on the link to purchase books at my bookshop.org shop. 

    Books Discussed:

    Everyone In This Room Will Someday Be Dead by Emily Austin
    Build Your House Around My Body by Violet Kupersmith
    Bath Haus by P.J. Vernon
    The Temple House Vanishing by Rebecca Donaohue
    Nobody, Somebody, Anybody by Kelly McClorey


    Other Books Mentioned:

    Look Both Ways by Jason Reynolds
    Catch and Kill by Ronan Farrow
    The Storied Life of A.J. Fickery by Gabrielle Zevin


    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 13 min
    Books Are My People - Episode 53 with Ellen Birkett Morris

    Books Are My People - Episode 53 with Ellen Birkett Morris

    This week, Ellen Birkett Morris, author of Lost Girls , visits and we talk about writing, teaching and books, including Klara and the Sun and Euphoria.

    Books Discussed:

    KLARA AND THE SUN ISHIGURO
    EUPHORIA BY LILY KING
    THE GIRLS I’VE BEEN BY TESS SHARPE
    ABIDE WITH ME BY ELIZABETH STROUT
    THE PLOT BY JEAN HANFF Korelitz


    Find Ellen Birkett Morris  on Social Media:
    Website: Ellenbirkettmorris.ink
    Facebook: EllenBirkettMorrisWriter
    Twitter: @Birkett_morris
    Instagram: @Ellenbirkettmorris

    I'm prepping a summer Q and A episode. Send any and all questions to booksaremypeople@gmail.com. Please let me know if I can use your first name on the podcast. 


    Support the show (https://www.patreon.com/user?u=22705533)

    • 26 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
43 Ratings

43 Ratings

Jdub# ,

Is like having a friend suggest a good book

I very much enjoy this podcast. It is a great resource for anyone who likes to read and wants to know what they should pick up next.

Postcards and Authors ,

Fresh, Entertaining, Concise

Jennifer Caloyeras has a unique style of book convo that keeps my attention. I like her break up of segments, and her music production is an added bonus!

mslanders ,

If you don’t know what to read next, listen to this informative and thoughtful podcast

I am so happy to have found out about this podcast! It is during the time of quarantine where I have been devouring books and I no longer have to do all the research to figure out what to read next. Jennifer does an excellent job of informing the listener about the book without being revealing. She has piqued my interest on several books and her breadth is impressive, typically covering 5 books per podcast. I also love her literary happenings as it is a helpful way to stay informed of what is going on in the world outside of my four walls.

Top Podcasts In Arts

Listeners Also Subscribed To