4 episodes

Rise of the Mole People is an author podcast interviewing self-published, indies, and traditionally published authors to discuss their work, interests and everything in between! An indie author is not represented by an agency, and either self-publishes or publishes with a small/independent press.

Thanks for joining us and enjoy the show!

Rise of the Mole People Loyal Lyre

    • Arts

Rise of the Mole People is an author podcast interviewing self-published, indies, and traditionally published authors to discuss their work, interests and everything in between! An indie author is not represented by an agency, and either self-publishes or publishes with a small/independent press.

Thanks for joining us and enjoy the show!

    Indie Author Interview - Hadder Martinez, author of the Symphony of the Sephira Series

    Indie Author Interview - Hadder Martinez, author of the Symphony of the Sephira Series

    Today's interview is with Hadder Martinez, author of epic dark fantasy series Symphony of the Sephira.



    An extremely rich and complex world was created for The Horn of Dawn, wonderfully written and full of almost endless creativity. Balancing out a large cast with thankless and dangerous tasks, we begin on the deck of the Kajak, under the command of Captain Dorav (of a respected knight brotherhood known as the Ashuri) and on its way to the fortress known as Shipbreaker Sharn. The continuing story is perfect for those who love rich and complex world-building



    We talk about his journey from playing Dungeons and Dragons to writing epic fantasy and complex worlds, the artistry and experience of the writing process, and the perils of characters refusing to do as they're told.

    www.loyal-lyre.uk

    Buy Hadder's books: https://tinyurl.com/ydzpd9h8

    Visit Hadder's website: https://www.darbretora.com

    Find Hadder on Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/2p8sc5m4

    • 42 min
    Indie Author Interview - Leslie Sussan, author of Choosing Life: My Father’s Journey in Film from Hollywood to Hiroshima

    Indie Author Interview - Leslie Sussan, author of Choosing Life: My Father’s Journey in Film from Hollywood to Hiroshima

    Today's interview is with Leslie Sussan, who spent a long career in law as an attorney and a judge, and whose book traces the journey of her father, Herb, who was assigned a once in a lifetime military assignment - to document the post-atomic aftermath of Nagasaki and Hiroshima. Her book is a multi-generational auto/biographical account of her father's experience, her own experience with her young daughter tracing his footsteps, and their connection to survivors of the bombs, and those attempting to ensure their horrific experiences are not forgotten.


    CHOOSING LIFE: MY FATHER'S JOURNEY IN FILM FROM HOLLYWOOD TO HIROSHIMA

    In 1946, with the war over and Japan occupied, 2nd Lt. Herbert Sussan received a plum assignment. He would get to use his training as a cinematographer and join a Strategic Bombing Survey crew to record the results of the atomic bombings in Nagasaki and Hiroshima. From his first arrival in Nagasaki, he knew that something completely novel and appalling had happened and that he had to preserve a record of the results, especially the ongoing suffering of those affected by the bomb (known as hibakusha) even months later.

    When the U.S. government decided that the gruesome footage would not be "of interest" to the American public and therefore classified it top secret, he spent decades arguing for its release. His last wish was that his ashes be scattered at ground zero in Hiroshima.
    The author, his daughter, followed his footsteps in 1987, met survivors he had filmed more than 40 years before. And found that she met there a father she never really knew in life.

    This book recounts Herbert Sussan's experiences (drawn directly from an oral history he left behind), his daughter's quest to understand what he saw in Japan, and the stories of some of the survivors with whose lives both father and daughter intersected. This nuclear legacy captures the ripples of the atomic bombing down through decades and generations.

    The braided tale brings human scale and understanding to the horrors of nuclear war and the ongoing need for healing and peacemaking.

    • 1 hr 22 min
    Indie Author Interview - R. Janet Walraven, author of Connect for Classroom Success

    Indie Author Interview - R. Janet Walraven, author of Connect for Classroom Success

    Today’s interview is with former teacher, R. Janet Walraven, who’s written both a teaching manual called Connect for Classroom Success, and a historical romance called Rainbow of Promise. We discussed her swathes of teaching experience, the fascinating journey of writing her parents’ romance, and the constant pressures for new writers navigating the indie arena.

    www.loyal-lyre.uk

    Buy Janet's books here: https://tinyurl.com/tsxucwzp

    Find Janet on Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/3ww4md2

    Contact Janet:

    Twitter - @walraven_janet

    • 43 min
    Indie Author Interview - George Hilislaw, author of Barely in Time

    Indie Author Interview - George Hilislaw, author of Barely in Time

    For today's episode we interviewed new indie author, George Hilislaw, who released his first book in 2020 called Barely in Time, a satirical science fiction in the vein of P. G. Woodhouse and Pantagruel. We discussed amongst other things his book, his academic life, and the tribulations of living in the Republic of Georgia.

    www.loyal-lyre.uk

    Buy Barely in Time here: https://tinyurl.com/w82dxm9s
    Find Barely in Time on Goodreads: https://tinyurl.com/2cxpwhvn

    Contact George:
    Twitter - @hilislaw
    Email - georgehilislaw@gmail.com

    • 46 min

Top Podcasts In Arts

Fresh Air
NPR
99% Invisible
Roman Mars
The Moth
The Moth
The Jimmy Dore Show
Jimmy Dore
The Magnus Archives
Rusty Quill
Snap Judgment Presents: Spooked
Snap Judgment