429 episodes

A weekly podcast reviewing one or two new release titles every episode with an occasional free-for-all segment at the end we call Potpourri.

Proudly presented by ObsessiveViewer.com. A full archive of The Obsessive Viewer Podcast (as well as written reviews) can be found at ObsessiveViewer.com.

The Obsessive Viewer - Movie Review Podcast Obsessive Viewer Podcasts

    • TV & Film
    • 4.7 • 58 Ratings

A weekly podcast reviewing one or two new release titles every episode with an occasional free-for-all segment at the end we call Potpourri.

Proudly presented by ObsessiveViewer.com. A full archive of The Obsessive Viewer Podcast (as well as written reviews) can be found at ObsessiveViewer.com.

    OV429 - I Saw the TV Glow (2024) & The Strangers: Chapter 1 (2024) - Guest: Sam Watermeier

    OV429 - I Saw the TV Glow (2024) & The Strangers: Chapter 1 (2024) - Guest: Sam Watermeier

    This week, I welcome Sam Watermeier back to the show to review I Saw the TV Glow in both a non-spoiler and spoiler feature review. Then, in this week’s secondary review, we share our thoughts on Renny Harlin’s The Strangers: Chapter 1. We also talk about recent news regarding the Trump movie The Apprentice and the Scarlett Johansson’s OpenAI/ChatGPT feud.
     
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 News - 10:00 Feature Review
    I Saw the TV Glow (2024) - 34:06 Spoiler - 1:00:05 Secondary Review
    The Strangers: Chapter 1 (2024) - 1:33:15 Potpourri
    Matt: The Greatest Hits (2024) (Hulu) - 1:59:45 Sam: Polaroid (2019) (Hulu) - 2:01:34  
    Closing the Ep - 2:03:35 Patreon Clip - 2:05:26  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Trump Campaign Vows To Sue ‘The Apprentice’ Filmmakers Over Scene Of Ivana Trump Rape By Then-Real Estate Mogul Scarlett Johansson Had To Threaten OpenAI With Legal Action To Get Soundalike Voice Taken Down, Wants “Appropriate Legislation” To Stop Such Deepfakes  
    Sam’s Letterboxd Sam’s Writing on MidwestFilmJournal.com Sam's Review of I Saw the TV Glow Sam’s Review of Unfrosted Sam’s Review of Challengers Sam’s Review of Sasquatch Sunset  
    My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet  
    Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
     
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible
     
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree  
    Mic Info
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Sam: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV429
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV430 - Furiosa: A Mad Max Saga (2024) & In a Violent Nature (2024)

    • 2 hr 8 min
    OV428 - Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024) & The Idea of You (2024)

    OV428 - Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024) & The Idea of You (2024)

    This week, I review Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes in both a non-spoiler and spoiler feature review. Then, in this week’s secondary review, I share my thoughts on Michael Showalter’s The Idea of You, currently on Amazon Prime Video. I also talk about recent news regarding 28 Years Later, Lord of the Rings: The Hunt for Gollum, Spider-Man Noir, Shogun season 2, Dune: Prophecy, and more.
     
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 News - 02:45  
    Feature Review
    Thoughts on the Reboot Trilogy - 25:39 Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024) - 39:04 Spoiler - 54:41  
    Secondary Review
    The Idea of You (2024) - 1:11:39  
    Potpourri
    24: Season 8 - 1:27:50  
    Closing the Ep - 1:34:15 Patreon Clip - 1:35:19  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Amazon MGM Studios Lands Hot Package ‘The Robots Go Crazy’ From Andy Samberg And Radio Silence ‘Road House’ Sequel Moving Forward At Amazon MGM Studios With Jake Gyllenhaal Set To Return ‘Happy Gilmore’ Sequel Greenlighted At Netflix ‘Dune: Prophecy’ Teaser Released As Prequel Series Gets Fall Premiere On Max Marvel Teases Disney+ Release Dates For ‘Agatha All Along,’ ‘Daredevil: Born Again’ & ‘Ironheart’ Spider-Man ‘Noir’ Starring Nicolas Cage Gets Amazon Series Order Sony Sets Summer 2025 Release Date For Danny Boyle’s ‘28 Years Later’ ‘Shōgun’ Star Hiroyuki Sanada Inks Deal To Return For Season 2 As FX Limited Series Mulls Emmy Switch To Drama Amid Renewal Buzz Andy Serkis To Direct, Star In New ‘Lord Of The Rings: The Hunt For Gollum’ Set For 2026 Release My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible 
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4)  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV428
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV429 - The Strangers: Chapter 1 (2024) & I Saw the TV Glow (2024)

    • 1 hr 37 min
    OV427 - Tarot (2024) & Unfrosted (2024) - Guest: Sam Watermeier

    OV427 - Tarot (2024) & Unfrosted (2024) - Guest: Sam Watermeier

    This week, I’m joined by my friend Sam Watermeier from Midwest Film Journal for a feature review of new horror film Tarot in non-spoiler and spoiler sections. Then, in our secondary review, we discuss Jerry Seinfeld’s Unfrosted, currently on Netflix. We also talk about recent news regarding 28 Years Later, The Exorcist: Deceiver, and more.
     
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 Introducing Sam - 01:45 News - 17:43  
    Feature Review
    Tarot (2024) - 30:23 Spoiler - 54:28  
    Secondary Review
    Unfrosted (2024) - 1:11:42  
    Closing the Ep - 1:38:15 Patreon Clip - 1:42:15  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Jack O’Connell Joins ‘28 Years Later’ Trilogy From Sony And Danny Boyle Mike Flanagan In Talks To Direct The Exorcist: Deceiver  
    Sam’s Letterboxd Sam's Writing on MidwestFilmJournal.com Sam's Review of Unfrosted Sam's Review of Challengers Sam's Review of Sasquatch Sunset Sam's Guest Appearance on Medium Cool: A Movie Podcast  
    My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet  
    Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
     
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible
     
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Sam: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV427
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV428 - Kingdom of the Planet of the Apes (2024) & TBD

    • 1 hr 44 min
    OV426 - Shōgun (2024) Miniseries & Samurai Cinema Potpourri - Guest: Andy Carr

    OV426 - Shōgun (2024) Miniseries & Samurai Cinema Potpourri - Guest: Andy Carr

    This week, I’m joined by my friend Andy Carr from Odd Trilogies Podcast for a feature review of FX’s Shōgun in non-spoiler and spoiler sections. We also talk about a selection of samurai films Andy has watched recently alongside Shōgun.
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 Introducing Andy - 01:52 News - 13:50 Feature Review
    Shogun - 16:21 Spoiler - 53:27 Potpourri
    Samurai Cinema Discussion - 1:33:56  
    Closing the Ep - 1:50:19 Patreon Clip - 1:52:53  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Andy’s Odd Trilogies Podcast Andy’s Letterboxd Heartland Film’s Indiana Filmmakers Mixer - May 9, 2024 Shōgun’s Creators on That Ambiguous, Audacious Ending - Slate  My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet  
    Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
     
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible
     
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree  
    Mic Info 
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Andy: Samson Q2U via USB in Google Meet  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV426
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV427 - The Fall Guy (2024) & Unfrosted (2024)

    • 1 hr 56 min
    OV425 - Abigail (2024) & Sasquatch Sunset (2024)

    OV425 - Abigail (2024) & Sasquatch Sunset (2024)

    This week, Mike joins me for a feature review of Abigail in non-spoiler and spoiler sections. We also talk about early 2000s teen sex comedies and more. Then, in this week’s secondary review, I share some brief non-spoiler thoughts about Sasquatch Sunset.
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 News - 02:23 Mike Intro - 09:54 Feature Review
    Abigail - 12:48 Spoiler - 49:08 Mike Outro Potpourri - 1:06:44 Secondary Review
    Sasquatch Sunset - 1:16:27  
    Closing the Ep - 1:30:26 Patreon Clip - 1:31:06  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Horror Overkill Dooms ‘Abigail’ as ‘Civil War’ Ekes Out Narrow Second Weekend #1 Dan Stevens' Abigail Character Inspired by Tim Robinson's I Think You Should Leave Sketch PopCon Indy 2024 Podcaster Stage Schedule Mike’s Band As Good As it Gets released a new single: Stay (Be Honest)  
    My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet  
    Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
     
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible
     
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree  
    Mic Info
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Mike: Blue Snowball via USB in Google Meet  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV425
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV426 - Shōgun (2024) Miniseries & Samurai Cinema Potpourri

    • 1 hr 33 min
    OV424 - Civil War (2024) & Late Night with the Devil (2024) - Guest: Brandon Peters

    OV424 - Civil War (2024) & Late Night with the Devil (2024) - Guest: Brandon Peters

    This week, I’m joined by guest Brandon Peters for a feature review of Civil War in non-spoiler and spoiler sections. We also talk about podcasting, PopCon Indy, movie theater experiences, and more. Then, in this week’s secondary review, Mike joins me for a review of controversial new horror film, Late Night with the Devil.
    Timestamps
    Show Start - 00:28 Introducing Brandon - 02:05 PopCon Indy 2024 - 18:15 Feature Review
    Civil War - 26:30 Spoiler - 56:55 Brandon Outro - 1:37:00 Secondary Review
    Mike Intro - 1:39:24 Late Night with the Devil - 1:41:10 Spoiler - 2:14:00  
    Potpourri
    Mike: Horror Blindspots - 2:42:51 Matt: 24 Season 6 - 2:48:08  
    Closing the Ep - 2:53:02 Patreon Clip - 2:54:50  
    Related Links
    Start Your Podcast with Libsyn Using Promo Code OBSESS Brandon’s Letterboxd Brandon’s Twitter The Brandon Peters Show TBPS - PopCon Indy 2024 Preview with Carl Doninger Brandon's YouTube Channel PopCon Indy 2024 Brandon's Appearance on The KJ Today Show  
    ‘Late Night with the Devil’ AI Usage Sparks Debate: Fair or Foul? Mike’s Band As Good As it Gets released a new single: Stay (Be Honest)  
    My 2024 Podcast and Writing Archive One Year of Criterion Channel - Dec 24, 2023 - Dec 23, 2024 Movies I Own But Haven't Watched/Rated Yet  
    Follow Us on Social Media
    My Letterboxd | YouTube | Facebook | Twitter/X
    Instagram | Threads | Bluesky | TikTok | Tiny’s Letterboxd
     
    Subscribe to the Podcast
    Apple Podcasts | Spotify | Audible
    Support Us on Patreon for Exclusive Content Official OV Merch  Obsessive Viewer Obsessive Viewer Presents: Anthology Obsessive Viewer Presents: Tower Junkies As Good As It Gets - Linktree Mic Info
    Matt: ElectroVoice RE20 into RØDEcaster Pro II (Firmware: 1.3.4) Brandon: Shure SM58 LC via Analog Mixer in Google Meet Mike: Blue Snowball via USB in Google Meet  
    Episode Homepage: ObsessiveViewer.com/OV424
     
    Next Week on the Podcast
    OV425 - Abigail (2024) & Sasquatch Sunset (2024)

    • 2 hr 57 min

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5
58 Ratings

58 Ratings

Tae Bo Bow Tie ,

Great podcast! Can’t wait til they bring back summer of Sandler

Great podcast! Can’t wait til they bring back summer of Sandler!

Robert Garder ,

Favorite Podcast

I found this podcast through Matt's other podcast Anthology and instantly fell in love. I even went back and listened to the previous 200+ episodes. Matt, Tiny, and Mike are great guys who you would want to be friends with and hang out with. Matt is pretty great interacting with his listeners and makes you feel apart of a community. Glad i found this podcast a couple years ago, only wish i found it sooner!

CombatPandaBear ,

Great podcast

Matt does a great job of breaking down movies and tv shows with his co-host Tiny. They’re pretty funny and their guest talkers bring a nice new view to the podcast. Should definitely listen.

Top Podcasts In TV & Film

That Was Us
Mandy Moore, Sterling K. Brown, Chris Sullivan
Watch What Crappens
Ben Mandelker & Ronnie Karam | Wondery
Bridgerton: The Official Podcast
Shondaland Audio and iHeartPodcasts
Two Ts In A Pod with Teddi Mellencamp and Tamra Judge
iHeartPodcasts
When Reality Hits with Jax and Brittany
PodcastOne
The Rewatchables
The Ringer

You Might Also Like

More by Obsessive Viewer Podcasts