100 episodes

RokCast was created to share valuable knowledge about hunting the west. More specifically about the gear used by experienced outdoorsman that allow them to be more comfortable and effective in the backcountry. The podcast is powered by Rokslide.com, a well-known website and web forum all about gear reviews and backcountry hunting with thousands of members and hundreds of articles. From specific optics reviews all the way to logistically planning your trip out west, the RokCast has information-packed episodes to make your next trip better.

Rokcast Rokcast

    • Wilderness

RokCast was created to share valuable knowledge about hunting the west. More specifically about the gear used by experienced outdoorsman that allow them to be more comfortable and effective in the backcountry. The podcast is powered by Rokslide.com, a well-known website and web forum all about gear reviews and backcountry hunting with thousands of members and hundreds of articles. From specific optics reviews all the way to logistically planning your trip out west, the RokCast has information-packed episodes to make your next trip better.

    Tipsy Tuesday – July 29

    Tipsy Tuesday – July 29

    Today on the Rokcast podcast is Tipsy Tuesday. Where we cover hot outdoor news, new Rokslide articles and answer your questions on the Hot Minute Q&A. If you have any questions you'd like answered, please submit them to our social media platforms or jordan@rokslide.com.



    Stone Glacier M5 Jacket and Pant review -> https://www.rokslide.com/stone-glacier-m5-pant-and-jacket-review/



    Soft Sided Cooler shootout -> https://www.rokslide.com/soft-sided-cooler-shootout/



    MTN Ops Protein Bars and Electrolytes -> https://www.rokslide.com/mtn-ops-performance-protein-bars/



    Could Attitude be a Hunters most Valuable Asset? -> https://www.rokslide.com/could-attitude-be-a-hunters-most-valuable-tool/

    • 31 min
    Lessons Learned with Jason Neuswanger

    Lessons Learned with Jason Neuswanger

    Today we are joined by a Rokslide forum member, Jason Neuswanger. Jason is a fish biologist and used to live and hunt in Alaska. Since moving to the lower 48, Jason has been in search of mule deer and had a hunt in 2019 that ended with some valuable lessons learned. In this episode we go through that hunt and the lessons that came from it.



    2019 Mule Deer hunt story -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/photos-lessons-learned-from-my-first-idaho-muley-hunt-2019.175425/#post-1723397

    • 41 min
    Trail Cameras with Clint Casper

    Trail Cameras with Clint Casper

    Today we're joined by Clint Casper to talk about trail cameras. We cover everything from recommendations, to flashes, setups, lock boxes and settings. Clint also touches on cellular cameras and their advantages.



    Stealth Cam Wireless, Trail Camera review -> https://www.rokslide.com/review-stealth-cams-wireless-gxw-trail-cam/



    Want more information on trail cameras? Visit the Rokslide Forums and join in on the discussions about trail cameras and what our members have experienced.

    • 51 min
    Tipsy Tuesday – July 14

    Tipsy Tuesday – July 14

    On today's episode we dive into the latest outdoor news and Rokslide articles. This weeks Hot Minute is about choosing the right size pack for an extended hunt and being aware of who you are taking advice from.



    E-Scouting Masterclass -> https://www.rokslide.com/treeline-academy-e-scouting-masterclass-review/



    Eagle Eye Ammo -> https://www.rokslide.com/eagle-eye-ammo-review/



    Vortex Viper HS Scope -> https://www.rokslide.com/vortex-viper-hs-review/



    What's Buck Pasture? -> https://www.rokslide.com/whats-a-buck-pasture/



    Swarovski NL Pure Binoculars -> https://www.rokslide.com/swarovski-nl-pure-binocular-by-chris-denham/



    2020 Whitetail Packs video -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jfaMCdN9sqM



    Arrowhead Muzzlelaoders Barrel Swap video -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x8IZA_w8W3g



    Rokslide Rally Point -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/forums/rokslide-rally-point.103/

    • 22 min
    New Garmin Solar Watches with Mike Herne

    New Garmin Solar Watches with Mike Herne

    Mike Herne joins us this week to talk about some new Garmin watches launching today! Garmin is launching a new line of watches supplementary powered by solar power. I reviewed the Garmin Instinct a while back from S&S Archery that I will link below.



    Garmin Instinct review -> https://www.rokslide.com/garmin-instinct-gps-watch-review/



    Garmin Inreach and GPS Watches podcast -> https://www.rokslide.com/garmin-inreach-and-gps-watch-options-with-rob-mcconnell/



    You can find Garmin watches at https://www.blackovis.com and https://sandsarchery.com/collections/gps-watches.

    • 51 min
    Wildlife Biologist, Sydney Lamb with Robby Denning

    Wildlife Biologist, Sydney Lamb with Robby Denning

    Sydney Lamb, Wildlife Biologist in north-west Utah, joins us on this episode to talk about mule deer. Robby Denning joins us as well with some questions for Sydney. We cover fawns, predators, increasing habitat, collaring bucks and how to make better deer hunting.



    Unit Statistics with Robby Denning -> https://www.rokslide.com/unit-statistics-and-mule-deer-outlook-with-robby-denning/

    Utah Wildlife Analytics - a collaborative effort between BYU and UDWR to publish real-time wildlife statistics from the state of Utah.

    https://utahwildlife.shinyapps.io/ShinyApp/



    Utah Migration Initiative

    https://wildlifemigration.utah.gov/



    Ungulate Compendium - information published by Kevin Monteith's lab from the University of Wyoming highlighting ungulate research.

    http://ungulatecompendium.org/



    UDWR Wild Podcast

    https://wildlife.utah.gov/wild-podcast.html



    BYU Ecology Lab Instagram

    https://www.instagram.com/byuecologylab/



    Monteith Shop Instagram

    https://www.instagram.com/monteith.shop/

    • 1 hr 9 min

Top Podcasts In Wilderness

Listeners Also Subscribed To