24 episodes

David Hickey, Adam Matthews and special guests discuss recent news in the world of responsible investing. New episodes every other Friday

Talking Responsibly David Hickey

    • Business
    • 5.0 • 17 Ratings

David Hickey, Adam Matthews and special guests discuss recent news in the world of responsible investing. New episodes every other Friday

    Episode 24 Patrick Peura and Jake Barnett

    Episode 24 Patrick Peura and Jake Barnett

    This week we are joined by Patrick Peura and Jake Barnett, authors of the Net Zero Asset Owner Alliance paper "The Future of Investor Engagement". The paper discusses a number of limits that asset owners and asset managers need to surpass in the quest for more effective engagement and stewardship. Time to change the rules of the game!

    Rory Sullivan gets to grips with sanctions in this weeks book fo the week: https://www.google.co.uk/books/edition/The_Economic_Weapon/kMhQEAAAQBAJ?hl=en

    Please feel free to connect with any of the hosts on LinkedIn or Twitter

    NZAOA Future of Engagement paper: https://www.unepfi.org/news/asset-owner-alliance/change-rules-of-the-game-asks-10-4trn-net-zero-asset-owner-alliance-in-new-paper-on-investor-action/

    Patrick Peura: https://www.linkedin.com/in/patrick-peura-96915080/

    Jake Barnett: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jake-barnett-28a58727/

    Rory Sullivan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rory-sullivan-73188418/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 1 hr
    Episode 23 - Caspar Rawles

    Episode 23 - Caspar Rawles

    Back to our usual format this week with a lively chat with specialists metals expert & Chief Data Officer at Benchmark Mineral Intelligence, Caspar Rawles. We talk nickel pricing, cobart mining, and shipping spondumene. Adam finally learned how a battery works too. Cracking stuff! If you're invested in decarbonisation, or just hope to buy an EV sometime in the future, then this episode is for you!

    Rory Sullivan talks rock gods in his book review this week: https://www.google.co.uk/books/edition/The_Storyteller/TbjIzgEACAAJ?hl=en

    Please feel free to connect with any of the hosts on LinkedIn or Twitter

    Caspar Rawles LinkedIn: https://www.linkedin.com/in/caspar-rawles-8215142a/

    Caspar Rawles Twitter: https://twitter.com/CDMRawles

    Benchmark Mineral Intelligence Twitter: https://twitter.com/benchmarkmin

    Rory Sullivan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rory-sullivan-73188418/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 54 min
    Episode 22 - Russian invasion of Ukraine ft. Erika Mozuraitiene & Sandra Dailidyte

    Episode 22 - Russian invasion of Ukraine ft. Erika Mozuraitiene & Sandra Dailidyte

    In a change from our usual format, Adam and David discuss the implictions of the Russian invasion of Ukraine, and what some of the implications for the field of responsible investing might be. To provide some connected historical perspective, David's wife Sandra interviews her mother Erika, about her experiences of the break up of the Soviet Union and the day the tanks rolled in to Lithuania. A huge thanks go out to both Erika for sharing her memories,  and Sandra, who not only interviewed her mother but also translated the entire recording for our listeners.

    No book review this week, but next episode will see the return of Rory Sullivan.

    Blue Yellow: https://www.blue-yellow.lt/

    The Other Dream Team: https://youtu.be/ZYgeqoJ4B4Q 

    Erkia Mozuraitiene: https://www.linkedin.com/in/erika-mozuraitiene-b2b95681/

    Sandra Dailidyte: https://www.linkedin.com/in/sandra-dailidyte-aba64179/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 1 hr 4 min
    Episode 21 - Christine Chow and Anna McDonald

    Episode 21 - Christine Chow and Anna McDonald

    Today we're talking tech with Christine Chow and Anna McDonlad. Plenty of chat about tech reach, artificial intelligence, and how it all impacts on responsible investment.

    Rory Sullivan talks about a mistitled book: https://www.google.co.uk/books/edition/Leadership/EXc8EAAAQBAJ?hl=en

    Please feel free to connect with any of the hosts on LinkedIn or Twitter

    Christine Chow: https://www.linkedin.com/in/christine-chow-phd-680268/

    Anna McDonald: https://www.linkedin.com/in/anna-mcdonald-esg/

    Rory Sullivan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rory-sullivan-73188418/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 57 min
    Episode 20 - Special episode, a message to Guy Opperman

    Episode 20 - Special episode, a message to Guy Opperman

    Back in Episode 18, UK Pensions Minister Guy Opperman challenged our listeners to let us know what they would if they were the pensions minister. We were lucky to have some great contributions come in from our listeners, so in this episode Adam and I listen along with you and give our opinions on what we're hearing. This was great fun, particularly as we were able to record it in the room together over a cuppa.

    Rory Sullivan goes back to Irelend with his book of the week, which is very much part book review, part therapy session https://www.google.co.uk/books/edition/We_Don_t_Know_Ourselves/cKWKDwAAQBAJ?hl=en

    Please feel free to connect with any of our contributors or hosts:

    Dan Mikulskis: https://www.linkedin.com/in/danmikulskis/

    Sandra Dailidyte (voice of our mystery contributor): https://www.linkedin.com/in/sandra-dailidyte-aba64179/

    Maria Nazarova-Doyle: https://www.linkedin.com/in/maria-nazarova-doyle-cfa/

    Francesco Curto: https://www.linkedin.com/in/francesco-curto-a9174bab/

    Mike Clark: https://www.linkedin.com/in/mike-clark-696100136/

    Sir Steve Webb: https://www.linkedin.com/in/steve-webb-1714b54/

    Sarah Wilson: https://www.linkedin.com/in/jsarahwilson/

    Guy Opperman: https://members.parliament.uk/member/4142/contact

    Rory Sullivan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rory-sullivan-73188418/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 1 hr 7 min
    Episode 19 - Georgina Hallett

    Episode 19 - Georgina Hallett

    We're back! Series 2 gets off to with a bang as we chat responsible metal (no, not the obscure music genre) with London Metal Exchange's Chief Sustainability Officer Georgina Hallett. We talk responsible sourcing, controversy in recycling markets, and whether we should exclude capital from parts of the market that rely in some part on child labour. We also touch on Adam's extraordinary work in setting up the Mine Tailings Initiative following third year anniversary of the Brumadinho diaster.

    Rory Sullivan talks relationships between financial market actors in his book review this week: https://global.oup.com/academic/product/chains-of-finance-9780198802945?cc=gb&lang=en&

    Please feel free to connect with any of the hosts on LinkedIn or Twitter

    LME Group: https://www.lme.com/

    LME Group Fax Number: +44 (0) 207 680 0505

    Rory Sullivan: https://www.linkedin.com/in/rory-sullivan-73188418/

    Adam Matthews: https://www.linkedin.com/in/adam-matthews-84926b31/

    David Hickey: https://www.linkedin.com/in/david-hickey-cfa-05633526/

    • 53 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
17 Ratings

17 Ratings

ESGenius ,

Not to miss!

This is the best RI/ESG podcast out there. It’s run by practitioners which makes it extremely insightful and valuable. Even if ESG isn’t your thing, tune in for the banter :)

RITalking - too ,

A Must listen

Topical discussion on key issues of the day including climate change, diversity, social inequalities, corporate conduct and culture - and so much more.

Strongly recommended for everyone from students, researchers, company management to investment professionals.

bumppea ,

Excellent

Really great bridge between main street ESG concerns and thoughts and the world of investment. Presented in an engaging and accessible way.

You Might Also Like