27 episodes

A bi-weekly podcast where we talk about books, frankly. 

Book It‪!‬ B**K It!

    • Books
    • 5.0 • 20 Ratings

A bi-weekly podcast where we talk about books, frankly. 

    In Conversation with Nancy Johnson

    In Conversation with Nancy Johnson

    In this extra episode, Jill and Michael sit down for an interview with Nancy Johnson, author of the B**K It! Book Club selection The Kindest Lie! (https://bookshop.org/lists/b-k-it-book-club)

    This episode is sponsored by the Blue Manatee Literacy Project (https://www.bluemanatee.org/) .

    • 55 min
    Book Club - The Kindest Lie

    Book Club - The Kindest Lie

    In our first official book club selection, we discuss Nancy Johnson's debut book The Kindest Lie (https://bookshop.org/lists/b-k-it-book-club) !

    This episode is sponsored by the Blue Manatee Literacy Project (https://www.bluemanatee.org/) .

    • 46 min
    Gimmicks In Fiction

    Gimmicks In Fiction

    When is something a gimmick and when is it the only way the story could've been told? In episode two, Jill and Michael explore some of their favorite gimmicky books, some of their least favorite, and some that are somewhere in between!

    Featuring:
    Ducks, Newburyport (https://bookshop.org/books/ducks-newburyport/9781771963077) by Lucy Ellmann
    Texts From Jane Eyre (https://bookshop.org/books/texts-from-jane-eyre-and-other-conversations-with-your-favorite-literary-characters/9781627791830) Daniel M. Lavery
    Pride (https://bookshop.org/books/pride-a-pride-prejudice-remix/9780062564054) by Ibi Zoboi
    Such a Pretty Fat (https://bookshop.org/books/such-a-pretty-fat-one-narcissist-s-quest-to-discover-if-her-life-makes-her-ass-look-big-or-why-pi-e-is-not-the-answer/9780451223890) by Jen Lancaster

    This episode is sponsored by Blue Manatee Literacy Project (https://www.bluemanatee.org/) .

    • 46 min
    The Year Ahead: Our Most Anticipated 2021 Reads

    The Year Ahead: Our Most Anticipated 2021 Reads

    We're back! In the season premiere of season two, Jill and Michael talk about their end-of-2020 reading habits, what they hope to read in 2021, and what they are definitely going to leave behind!

    Featuring:
    Caul Baby (https://bookshop.org/books/caul-baby/9780062873088) by Morgan Jerkins, 4/6/21
    Infinite Country (https://bookshop.org/books/infinite-country-9781432885878/9781982159467) by Patricia Engel, 3/2/21
    Concrete Rose (https://bookshop.org/books/concrete-rose-9781432884741/9780062846716) by Angie Thomas, out now
    A Million Reasons Why (https://bookshop.org/books/a-million-reasons-why-9781250789822/9781250241627) by Jessica Strawser, 3/23/21
    Revival Season (https://bookshop.org/books/revival-season/9781982133306) by Monica West, 6/15/21
    The Personal Librarian (https://bookshop.org/books/the-personal-librarian/9780593101537) by Marie Benedict, 6/2021
    The Kindest Lie (https://bookshop.org/books/the-kindest-lie-9780063073159/9780063005631?aid=15876) by Nancy Johnson, 2/2/21

    Shop our Bookshop page for any and all of these titles! Follow us on instagram and Twitter for more B**K It! content!

    This episode is sponsored by the Blue Manatee Literacy Project (https://www.bluemanatee.org/) .

    • 55 min
    SURPRISE Mini-Episode!

    SURPRISE Mini-Episode!

    SURPRISE! We're back...sort of! Jill and Michael do a quick hello and introduction before the season two premiere next week!

    Follow B**K It! on Instagram (https://www.instagram.com/bookitpod/) and twitter (https://twitter.com/bookitpod) , and check out their website (https://www.bookitpod.com/) today!

    • 18 min
    Our Year in Review

    Our Year in Review

    The season one finale of B**K It! is here with a long ass list of books! We discuss all the reading we did this year, our favorite books of 2020, and reflect on what a dumpster fire of a year this has been and how reading has been difficult, but ultimately as helpful as ever.

    Featuring:
    Friends and Strangers (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780525520597)
    Summer (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781101870792)
    Caste (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780593230251)
    Before the Ever After (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780399545436)
    The Daughters of Erietown (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780525479352)
    Conjure Women (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780525511489)
    Dancing with the Octopus (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781635576122)
    A Long Petal of the Sea (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781984820150)
    Kent State (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781338356281)

    Also: Old Lovegood Girls (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781632868220) , The Nickel Boys (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780385537070) , Stand Up, Yumi Chung! (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780525554974) , The Blackbird Girls (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781984837356) , The Jetsetters (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780399181894) , The Queen Bee and Me (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781681197517) , Ways to Make Sunshine (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781547600564) , Dress Coded (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781984816436) , We Are Water Protectors (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781250203557) , Everybody Says Meow (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780062689887) , Baby Monster (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9781936669912) , Seven Clues to Home (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780593119617) , We Dream of Space (https://shop.bluemanatee.org/book/9780062747303)

    • 57 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
20 Ratings

20 Ratings

itsmemargaretanne ,

Fun Podcast Alert!!

Michael and Jill are smart and funny podcasters talking all things books. From author interviews, funny tangents, to excellent book recommendations, Bookit is a must listen!

Natasha Rulason ,

Truly the best

As a self-proclaimed podcast hater, I LOVE this podcast. It’s the only one I listen to on a regular basis because Jill and Michael are hilarious and I love hearing their book insights! Their first season introduced me to some of my favorite books of 2020 and I can’t wait for more.

Sasquatch208 ,

Do what Jill says

I will literally (see what I did there) read anything Jill (and now I guess Michael) tells me to. Love their take on books!!!

Top Podcasts In Books