8 episodes

The people you will meet here are kids, young adults, college students, athletes, employees, adults, entrepreneurs, siblings, parents – all with a story. These are funny, heartwarming, challenging stories about people with developmental disabilities who are living, working and advocating for their rights – and disability rights in Georgia. All want to be included in social circles, workplaces and communities of their choice. Just like all of us. We explore issues that impact their lives like Medicaid waivers, employment, housing, transportation, advocacy, adaptive technology, and service animals.

Hidden Voices Georgia Council on Developmental Disabilities

    • Society & Culture
    • 5.0 • 13 Ratings

The people you will meet here are kids, young adults, college students, athletes, employees, adults, entrepreneurs, siblings, parents – all with a story. These are funny, heartwarming, challenging stories about people with developmental disabilities who are living, working and advocating for their rights – and disability rights in Georgia. All want to be included in social circles, workplaces and communities of their choice. Just like all of us. We explore issues that impact their lives like Medicaid waivers, employment, housing, transportation, advocacy, adaptive technology, and service animals.

    Where We Are Now

    Where We Are Now

    Hidden Voices wraps up Season 1 with a 360 review of where we're at in the state of Georgia in how we treat people with developmental disabilities.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    Callie Moore: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/callie-moore
    Michael Griggs: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/michael-griggs

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 29 min
    Employment First

    Employment First

    Hidden Voices explores employment options for people with disabilities and the Employment First movement.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    Nanditha Isaac: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/nandi-isaac
    Chad Roberts: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/chad-roberts
    Tira harper: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/tira-harper

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 30 min
    Housing & Transportation

    Housing & Transportation

    Hidden Voices explores the complicated worlds of housing and transportation for people with developmental disabilities in Georgia.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    Evan Dewey: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/evan-dewey
    Parker Glick: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/parker-glick

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 29 min
    The High School Transition

    The High School Transition

    Hidden Voices explores one of the most interesting times in the life cycle of people with a developmental disabilities - trying to decide what happens when they graduate from high school. We learn about an exciting program called IPSE, Inclusive Post-Secondary Education.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    The Fam Squad: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/the-fam-squad
    Katy Ann Killingsworth: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/katy-ann-killingsworth

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 28 min
    Parent Mentors & Advocacy

    Parent Mentors & Advocacy

    Hidden Voices explores the network of Parent Mentors across the state of Georgia and the extraordinary advocacy efforts of people when developmental disabilities are a part of your life.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    Yvette Pegues: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/yvette-pegues
    Joseph Grillo: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/joseph-grillo
    Matthew Ladd: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/matthew-ladd

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 35 min
    Adaptive Technology & Service Animals

    Adaptive Technology & Service Animals

    Hidden Voices explores the tools people with developmental disabilities use to live more independent lives, from speech technology to service animals.
    The storytellers in this episode are part of the larger Storytelling Project. Read their full stories below.
    Kyleigh Kramlich: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/kyleigh-kramlich
    Jake Ricks: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/jake-ricks
    John McCarty: https://story-collection.gcdd.org/john-mccarty

    Learn more about L'Arche Atlanta at https://www.larcheatlanta.org 

    • 30 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
13 Ratings

13 Ratings

Top Podcasts In Society & Culture

Listeners Also Subscribed To