89 episodes

RokCast was created to share valuable knowledge about hunting the west. More specifically about the gear used by experienced outdoorsman that allow them to be more comfortable and effective in the backcountry. The podcast is powered by Rokslide.com, a well-known website and web forum all about gear reviews and backcountry hunting with thousands of members and hundreds of articles. From specific optics reviews all the way to logistically planning your trip out west, the RokCast has information-packed episodes to make your next trip better.

Rokcast Rokcast

    • Wilderness
    • 4.9, 87 Ratings

RokCast was created to share valuable knowledge about hunting the west. More specifically about the gear used by experienced outdoorsman that allow them to be more comfortable and effective in the backcountry. The podcast is powered by Rokslide.com, a well-known website and web forum all about gear reviews and backcountry hunting with thousands of members and hundreds of articles. From specific optics reviews all the way to logistically planning your trip out west, the RokCast has information-packed episodes to make your next trip better.

    Tipsy Tuesday – June 2

    Tipsy Tuesday – June 2

    Today we cover more news, articles, videos and forum news for the June 2 Tipsy Tuesday.



    Big Buck Hunters Can't Be Too Nostalgic -> https://www.rokslide.com/big-buck-hunters-cant-be-too-nostalgic/



    Load Development, Unknown Munitions -> https://www.rokslide.com/load-development-unknown-munitions/



    5 Guide Tested Techniques for Grizzly Encounters -> https://www.rokslide.com/5-guide-tested-techniques-for-grizzly-encounters/



    Backpack Shootout forum thread -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/backpack-shootout-7-plus-backpacks-go-head-to-head.172763/

    • 21 min
    Hunting Questions from Newbies with Jordan

    Hunting Questions from Newbies with Jordan

    This episode addresses questions gathered from the Rokslide Forums about "newbie" hunting questions. There's a variety of questions covered and answered including glassing techniques, scouting, hunt logistics, travel and hunting.



    Mule Deer Hunting with Robby Denning -> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=faiy7Jyfc2o

    • 1 hr 13 min
    Filming in the Backcountry

    Filming in the Backcountry

    Jordan Budd is joined by Jordan Adams on this episode to talk about filming and photography in the backcountry. Budd has been filming in the industry for TV shows, film tours and commercials for the last 8 years and is pretty much all self-taught. She addresses some technical things about cameras while looking to purchase, equipment recommendations and also answers some questions from the Rokslide Forums.



    Gear/Shot List -> https://campbellcameras.com/blogs/filming-tips/free-shot-list



    Rokslide Youtube channel -> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9EggmiRWDFPUAm6iYPDe0g



    Jordan's Youtube channel -> https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCqQ-wC9V2e7rUQPGk3KQjCw

    • 1 hr 38 min
    Tipsy Tuesday – May 19

    Tipsy Tuesday – May 19

    Today we cover a few hot news topics in the industry, a couple of forum threads on the Rokslide Forums and a few new gear reviews.



    Sitka Kelvin Lite Jacket and Pant review -> https://www.rokslide.com/sitka-kelvin-lite-jacket-and-pant-review/



    Lathrop and Sons Custom Boot/Insole System -> https://www.rokslide.com/lathrop-and-sons-custom-boots-system-review/



    E-Scouting Master Class review thread -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/e-scouting-master-class-from-treeline-pursuits.170797/



    Which Topo Maps to purchase thread -> https://www.rokslide.com/forums/threads/enlarged-topo-maps-where-to-buy.170057/

    • 17 min
    Backcountry First Aid with Mike Herne

    Backcountry First Aid with Mike Herne

    Mike Herne joins us on the podcast to talk first aid. Mike has gained his first aid training from being an Army infantry guy of 14 years. We talk about a number of things for backcountry first aid including what he takes and why, bleeding, tourniquets, heat exhaustion, dehydration and he covers a couple of scenarios.



    Backcountry First Aid and Survival Kits -> https://www.rokslide.com/backcountry-first-aid-survival-kits/



    Rewarming Drill -> https://www.rokslide.com/rewarming-drill/







     

    • 1 hr 22 min
    Nutrition Simplified with Kyle Kamp

    Nutrition Simplified with Kyle Kamp

    Kyle Kamp of V2P Nutrition joins us to talk nutrition. Kyle aims to help folks tailor their nutrition programs to their goals and the activity they're wanting to do. Our goal for this podcast is to show you have you CAN still eat Cheetos while on a "diet" and to also show that nutrition can be simple.



    V2P Nutrition -> https://www.v2pnutrition.com/

    • 1 hr 4 min

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5
87 Ratings

87 Ratings

AlexKennedyHunting ,

Great podcast for diehard hunters

Great info on hunting, gear, weapons, etc.

daddie63 ,

Gear lost for a newbie

This was a great podcast. Tons of helpful info so thank you. ApprecIate the time you put into it.

Glen M virginia ,

Great Podcast

One of the most informative and entertains podcasts out there. A must listen for gear junkies, and anyone who hunts out west. Their gear reviews are awesome, as is the Rokslide website and forum.

Top Podcasts In Wilderness

Listeners Also Subscribed To