179 episodes

Podcast by WSU Wheat Beat Podcast

WSU Wheat Beat Podcast WSU Wheat Beat Podcast

    • Science
    • 5.0 • 22 Ratings

Podcast by WSU Wheat Beat Podcast

    From Surviving to Thriving: Alternative Crop Trials with Dr. Garett Heineck

    From Surviving to Thriving: Alternative Crop Trials with Dr. Garett Heineck

    USDA-ARS' Dr. Garett Heineck joins the Wheat Beat Podcast to share the results of alternative crop trials in wheat-based agroecosystems.

    Resources:
    USDA-ARS Northwest Sustainable Agroecosystems Research Unit: ars.usda.gov/pacific-west-area/pullman-wa/northwest-sustainable-agroecosystems-research/
    PNW Herbicide Resistance Initiative: pnwhri.org
    The Land Institute: landinstitute.org
    Kernza®: kernza.org

    Contact information:
    Dr. Garett Heineck, garett.heineck@usda.gov, 608-397-9207

    Episode transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp180

    • 20 min
    The Way of the Future: How AI Predicts Crop Performance with Dr. Ryan Benke

    The Way of the Future: How AI Predicts Crop Performance with Dr. Ryan Benke

    USDA-ARS' Dr. Ryan Benke joins the Wheat Beat podcast to explain how artificial intelligence and machine learning are being used to predict crop performance.

    Resources:
    USDA-ARS Wheat Health, Genetics, and Quality Research Unit: ars.usda.gov/pacific-west-area/pullman-wa/whgq/

    Deep Learning with R: manning.com/books/deep-learning-with-r-second-edition
    WSU Variety Testing Data: smallgrains.wsu.edu/variety/2023-variety-data/

    Episode transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp179

    • 16 min
    Managing in Today’s Markets with Aaron Esser

    Managing in Today’s Markets with Aaron Esser

    WSU Extension's Aaron Esser returns to the Wheat Beat Podcast to share tips for efficiently and effectively managing a small grains farm in today's market.

    Resources:
    Wheat Nitrogen Application Calculator: wheattools.wsu.edu/Applications/Fertilizer%20Use%20Calculator/NitrogenRecommendation
    Post-harvest Nitrogen Use Efficiency Calculator: wheattools.wsu.edu/Applications/Fertilizer%20Use%20Calculator/PostHarvestEfficiency
    Variety Selection Tool: varietyselection.cahnrs.wsu.edu
    Wilke Farm: extension.wsu.edu/lincoln-adams/agriculture-2-farm-stress-suicide-prevention/wilke-research-and-extension-farm/

    Contact information:
    Aaron Esser, Regional Extension Agronomist, Lincoln-Adams Extension, aarons@wsu.edu

    Transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp178

    • 14 min
    What's the BUZZ about? with Dr. Karen Sanguinet

    What's the BUZZ about? with Dr. Karen Sanguinet

    Dr. Karen Sanguinet returns to the Wheat Beat podcast to introduce a genetic discovery that could help future wheat varieties make more efficient use of the nitrogen that's applied to soils.

    Resources:
    New Phytologist article: nph.onlinelibrary.wiley.com/doi/10.1111/nph.19079
    Gene required for root hair growth, nitrate foraging found in grasses: news.wsu.edu/press-release/2023/09/19/gene-required-for-root-hair-growth-nitrate-foraging-found-in-grasses/
    Sanguinet lab members: css.wsu.edu/sanguinet-lab-members/
    Pacific Northwest National Laboratories (PNNL): pnnl.gov
    Environmental Molecular Sciences Laboratory (EMSL): emsl.pnnl.gov

    Contact information:
    Karen Sanguinet, WSU Department of Crop and Soil Sciences, 509-335-3662, karen.sanguinet@wsu.edu, mps.wsu.edu/dr-karen-sanguinet/

    Episode transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp177

    • 18 min
    Impacts of Seed Size and Rates on Spring Wheat Performance with Dr. Clark Neely

    Impacts of Seed Size and Rates on Spring Wheat Performance with Dr. Clark Neely

    In this episode, WSU's Dr. Clark Neely shares seed size impacts and ideal seeding rates for maximizing dryland spring wheat production.

    Resources:
    NEW! Agronomic Trial Data: smallgrains.wsu.edu/agronomic-trials/
    WSU Variety Selection & Testing: smallgrains.wsu.edu/variety/

    Contact information:
    Dr. Clark Neely, smallgrains.wsu.edu/meet-the-team/, clark.neely@wsu.edu, 509-335-1205

    Episode transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp176

    • 21 min
    Preferred Wheat Varieties Ensure High Quality Wheat Exports with Dr. Alecia Kiszonas

    Preferred Wheat Varieties Ensure High Quality Wheat Exports with Dr. Alecia Kiszonas

    In this episode, USDA-ARS' Dr. Alecia Kiszonas explains why wheat quality is so important for PNW growers.

    Resources:
    USDA-ARS Wheat Health, Genetics, and Quality Research: ars.usda.gov/pacific-west-area/pullman-wa/whgq/
    Western Wheat Quality Laboratory: wwql.wsu.edu
    WSU Small Grains Variety Selection & Testing: https://smallgrains.wsu.edu/variety/
    Preferred Wheat Varieties Lists: wwql.wsu.edu/pacific-northwest-wheat-quality-council/preferred-wheat-varieties/

    Contact information:
    Dr. Alecia Kiszonas, ars.usda.gov/people-locations/person/?person-id=49578, 509-335-4062, alecia.kiszonas@usda.gov

    Episode transcription: smallgrains.wsu.edu/wbp175

    • 16 min

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5
22 Ratings

22 Ratings

Top Podcasts In Science

Hidden Brain
Hidden Brain, Shankar Vedantam
Radiolab
WNYC Studios
Something You Should Know
Mike Carruthers | OmniCast Media | Cumulus Podcast Network
Ologies with Alie Ward
Alie Ward
StarTalk Radio
Neil deGrasse Tyson
Sean Carroll's Mindscape: Science, Society, Philosophy, Culture, Arts, and Ideas
Sean Carroll | Wondery

You Might Also Like

On-Farm Trials Podcast with the PNW Farmers' Network
PNW Farmers' Network
The Business of Agriculture Podcast
Damian Mason
Ag PhD Radio on SiriusXM 147
Ag PhD
AgriTalk
AgriTalk
Grain Markets and Other Stuff
Joe Vaclavik
Dateline NBC
NBC News