31 episodes

Exposing Kingston's emerging artists, and where to see them perform live in Canada's First Capital of Music.

Kingston Live Podcas‪t‬ Kingston Live

    • Society & Culture

Exposing Kingston's emerging artists, and where to see them perform live in Canada's First Capital of Music.

    Panel predicts what's next for live music in Kingston

    Panel predicts what's next for live music in Kingston

    Guests Jan McDonald of Downtown Kingston BIA, and local promoters Chris Morris and Marc Garniss join Riley and Eilish to reflect on an entire year without live music in Kingston. As optimism begins to bloom this spring, our panel foreshadows what the eventual return of music performances and festivals to our city's venues might look like.

    Hosts:
    Riley Jabour: riley@kingstonlive.ca
    Eilish Sullivan: sully9330@gmail.com

    Links:
    Downtown Kingston Business Improvement Area: https://www.downtownkingston.ca/
    Homegrown Live Music Festival: http://homegrownlive.ca
    KPP Concerts: http://kppconcerts.com
    Kingston Live music news, contests and more: http://kingstonlive.ca

    Feedback:
    Your suggestions, ideas and criticisms are important and encouraged. Please let us know what you think by commenting here, or by email at podcast@kingstonlive.ca

    • 45 min
    Rob Baker recounts new Strippers Union double LP "The Undertaking"

    Rob Baker recounts new Strippers Union double LP "The Undertaking"

    On the heels of his new Strippers Union double album release, "The Undertaking," guitarist and notable lifelong Kingstonian, Rob Baker, shares his thoughts on songwriting, producing, and being an emerging artist today, and also shares his love for film, television, and his favourite Kingston haunts.

    Hosts:
    Riley Jabour: riley@kingstonlive.ca
    John Sanfilippo: john@kingstonlive.ca

    Links:
    Strippers Union http://www.killbeatmusic.com/#/strippersunion/
    Kingston Live music news, contests and more http://kingstonlive.ca

    Feedback:
    Your suggestions, ideas and criticisms are important and encouraged. Please let us know what you think by commenting here, or by email at podcast@kingstonlive.ca

    • 39 min
    Shook Planet, KaKaow streaming steady during COVID

    Shook Planet, KaKaow streaming steady during COVID

    While the COVID-19 pandemic has stifled the output of many musical artists, it's inspired and accelerated the creativity others. Such is the case with Kingston's Ted Evans (Shook Planet) and Ricky Brant (KaKaow). Pete and Riley find out what's kept their creativity flowing so rapidly throughout a challenging year for Kingston's music makers.

    • 52 min
    Moira Demorest discusses her new solo debut, "This Is Me Being Nice"

    Moira Demorest discusses her new solo debut, "This Is Me Being Nice"

    Kingston's music scene owes much of its vibrancy to the efforts of artist and promoter Moira Demorest. Our first episode of 2021 finds Johnny and Eilish catching up with the former PELT keyboardist on keeping creative during COVID, and premiere a song from her new debut solo EP, This Is Me Being Nice.

    Hosts:
    John Sanfilippo john@kingstonlive.ca
    Eilish Sullivan sully9330@gmail.com

    Links:
    Moira Demorest http://moirademorest.com
    Kingston Live music news, contests and more http://kingstonlive.ca

    Feedback:
    Your suggestions, ideas and criticisms are important and encouraged. Please let us know what you think by commenting here, or by email at podcast@kingstonlive.ca

    • 45 min
    2020 retrospective with Johhny & Rob

    2020 retrospective with Johhny & Rob

    In the first of our three-part miniseries, Johnny and Rob look back on a challenging year for Kingston's music economy and share their personal reviews of 2020 local artist releases, including The Mahones, Gord Downie, Voyager and The Gertrudes.

    Hosts:
    Johnny San john@kingstonlive.ca
    Rob Howard rob@kingstonlive.ca

    Links:
    The Mahones https://www.facebook.com/TheMahones
    Voyager https://www.instagram.com/thebandvoyager/
    The Gertrudes http://thegertrudes.com
    Oakridge Ave. https://oakridgeave.com/
    The Backsteps https://linktr.ee/thebacksteps
    Julia Finnegan https://www.juliafinnegan.ca/
    Gord Downie https://gorddownie.com/
    Sarah Harmer https://sarahharmer.com/
    Kingston Live music news, contests and more http://kingstonlive.ca

    Feedback:
    Your suggestions, ideas and criticisms are important and encouraged. Please let us know what you think by commenting here, or by email at podcast@kingstonlive.ca

    • 33 min
    2020 retrospective with Riley & Pete

    2020 retrospective with Riley & Pete

    Our three-part look back on a year's worth of new music by Kingston-based artists concludes as Pete and Riley share their love for 2020 releases from Deux Trois and The Wilderness.

    Hosts:
    Riley Jabour: riley@kingstonlive.ca
    Peter Sanfilippo: petersanfilippo4@gmail.com

    Links:
    The Wilderness: http://thewildernessband.com
    Deux Trois: https://deuxtrois.bandcamp.com
    Kingston Live music news, contests and more: http://www.kingstonlive.ca


    Feedback:
    Your suggestions, ideas and criticisms are important and encouraged. Please let us know what you think by commenting here, or by email at podcast@kingstonlive.ca

    • 38 min

Top Podcasts In Society & Culture